We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to paddleboard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oleta River State Park

Oleta River State Park
3400 NE 163rd St, Miami, FL 33160
305-919-1846
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$95*
and up
Taste of Miami Helicopter Tour
Ranked #16 of 214 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These trails, built on flat land, are full of technical challenges.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to paddleboard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

very pretty paddle board tour. You can paddle out in the intracoastal waterway to a sandbar or paddle through some mangroves. Nice part is when you are done, there are various restaurants in a strip centers just across the street from the state park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jalo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

great location, wonderful restaurant there features on triple d show. water sports, hiking, kayaking, in sunny lsles area on 826

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank btomasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nature in The Urban Jungle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I kayaked at the Oleta River State Park. From the mangrove tunnels out to the bay it is simply delightful.

There is a real fitness emphasis at the park compared to other Florida State Parks I have been to. Tons of bicycle riders and kayakers all enjoying the scenery.

Im so glad I chose this location to kayak. Its an oasis in the urban jungle of Sunny Isles/North Miami Beach. When you are out in the bay you will see large yachts and the nearby condo/hotel towers.

This is NOT the park you would choose for quiet isolation but for convenience and location nearby to Miami and Fort Lauderdale.

Didn't see much in the way of wildlife but it was very busy the day we went on a Saturday.

I would highly recommend Oleta as a outdoor alternative to the nearby beaches. I had more fun here than I did there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Floridaroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oleta River State Park, a Wildernes Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I've stayed in the rental cabins twice and enjoyed my stays. The cabins are primitive, but are airconditioned and have one bunk bed and a queen sized bed. The entrance to each cabin has a covered porch with a fixed bench and a swinging bench suspended from the ceiling by two chains. Also, in the yard of each cabin is a fire ring, metal BBQ, and a picnic table. Water spigots between each two cabins makes for easy access to fresh water. There is a walk to bathroom building with separate women's and men's areas with toilets and showers too. This state park is right on Biscayne Bay so there is quick access for the salt water fishermen. Kayak rentals and bicycles are available to anyone. A beach is found at the far,south, end of the park with a roped off swimming area and a fishing pier is located off of the south border of the beach. Also at the beach area are more picnic tables. The beach is across from a huge paved parking lot and on the east side of the parking lot are covered pavilions for large groups to rent on a daily basis. The entrance into Oleta River State Park is right off of a highway which has nearby shopping such as grocery stores, Walmart, and all kinds of fast food restaurants, as well as sit down restaurants, and even a movie theater. It is a very convenient location which is only 2 miles from the beach of North Miami Beach.Try Oleta River State Park it is not a luxury place but it is a great way to enjoy the great outdoors. You can be as active or inactive as you want to be. :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A feel of the outdoors just half hour away from Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

From Kayaking to flattish trails, this place has it all, and they always have Kayaks or paddleboards on hand. If you're in the mood for something more adventurous but don't feel like going all the way to the Everglades, this is a sure bet.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleta River State Park also viewed

 

Been to Oleta River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing