We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feel of the outdoors just half hour away from Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oleta River State Park

Oleta River State Park
Miami, FL
305-919-1846
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Parks, Biking Trails, Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: These trails, built on flat land, are full of technical challenges.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A feel of the outdoors just half hour away from Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

From Kayaking to flattish trails, this place has it all, and they always have Kayaks or paddleboards on hand. If you're in the mood for something more adventurous but don't feel like going all the way to the Everglades, this is a sure bet.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    70
    15
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great bike trails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Love the bike trails here. Refreshing! Glad to get off the streets and back to mountain bike trails. There are nice places to picnic as well as kayak.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Spend Half a Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I visited Oleta River State Park with a friend to try paddle boarding. The price was reasonable ($36 for 90 mins). The water and mangroves are something to see if you're not from Florida and we saw some interesting creatures (tons of schools of fish, a giant stingray, banana spiders). I fell off my paddleboard several times, but it was fine and I was able to easily get back on. FYI, there are sharks in the water. I didn't see them, but the staff said they are there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“#1 Mountain Bike trails in miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Oleta River state park will surprise you. It has many interesting/extreme activites.

I will start with my favorite one, off-road mountain bike trails --
I was amazed, they have great trails for all levels, from novice to expert. There you can rent descent mountain bikes and all the gear you need. it is really cheap - the mapping is quite big which is a big plus all is well indicated and they provide a map too -- but be aware that it can get a little dangerous if you try black trails - make sure to stay on your level.
The Gilligan's island trail is the toughest but its a lot of fun for those advanced ones!!

the other cool activity is to rent kayaks and got through the mangrove canals to reach the bay, paddle to different islands, have a picnic, there is a cool sandbar just in the middle of the day also fun to for a swim but watch you kayak dont let it drift off !!

The park is well organised they have a nice beach, with possibility of BBQ. also fishing is possible.

If you looking for a fun day with the kids or want to challenge your friends on these trails then this is the place to be in miami!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great day out at reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great days kayaking, very reasonable, some horrendously big spiders in the trees above mind!! Conquered my fear today anyway! Lots to see when kayaking and to explore. Lockers available for $4 charge.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleta River State Park also viewed

 

Been to Oleta River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleta River State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.