We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for everyone!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oleta River State Park

Oleta River State Park
3400 NE 163rd St, Miami, FL 33160
305-919-1846
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 296 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These trails, built on flat land, are full of technical challenges.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place for everyone!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

It costs just a few dollars to get in, but you get your perosnal tour (weekends only) with a ranger. You can rent a bike, or kayak. There is a small beach there as well. Great for private parties too!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    100
    24
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Is that part of Miami that is always good to visit. It was raining but the city spirit was there. Music,food,grate people.
By the way Biscayne blvd look great with all Miami Heat players portraits display. Even if you are not a Heat Fan. Is showing city pride.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Park in South Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The bike trails are the best in this park , and we the kids love the beach . You do have to get there early because it does get packed after mid morning and then all the good spots for BBQ are going to be gone.Also, parking gets full and you might need to park a little far from where you are going to be , but over all it is a great park for the entire family .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Need more security officers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It is a great place! But last time someone broke my van and my friend's truck and stole a camera a few bucks. I am sure if the management invests more in security around the parking lot, it could be greater. So, please don't leave your values inside cars!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great adventure close to the coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We live in Miami so we pass the park every weekend on our way to the beach, but had no idea what fun awaited us inside.
Going during the week seemed to be a great choice, since the park always seems to be packed on the weekends. We found the place almost empty, which was great because we enjoyed a beautiful back water kayak trip with little or no river traffic. We saw tons of fish under a mangrove canopy and even paddled out to the white sand beach area for a break at one of the many picnic areas.

We found the staff to be courteous, efficient and the equipment, solid.

Our Groupon package included a lunch complete with craft beers at the Blue Marlin restaurant, conveniently owned by the same kayak proprietor in the park.
This place was featured on Diners Drive Ins and Dives, however they no longer smoke their own fish in house, which is why they were on the show in the first place. So, dont expect anything special. The grilled snapper was fresh and came with the obligatory cole slaw and chips, 6 out of 10. My lady enjoyed her crab cakes with side salad. The beer selection was great, some local some not but mostly craft beers.

Each of us received a kayak for 2 hours, lunch and a beer for under $50. This is in Miami.
Great choice for visitors in miami beach on an overcast day or alternative to the beach. They also have bike trails, cabins and paddle board rentals.

Worth it..yes.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleta River State Park also viewed

 

Been to Oleta River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleta River State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.