We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Learn StandUp Paddleboarding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oleta River State Park

Oleta River State Park
Miami, FL
305-919-1846
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Parks, Biking Trails, Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: These trails, built on flat land, are full of technical challenges.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Best Place to Learn StandUp Paddleboarding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is my "go-to" spot to take friends who have never done standup paddleboarding before - the water is always calm especially by the launching area that is shared by kayakers who rent from Blue Moon Outdoor Center (the rental concession inside the park). The staff there are so friendly and helpful.

I've only used this park for standup paddleboarding and I've never had a bad session since discovering this place last year. You can stay inside the immediate area first to get the paddlers accustomed to the boards...everyone I've taken there for their first time have been able to stand up (woohoo!) with no issues.

Then we go do a full loop going towards the open water, going through a couple of tunnels, "Huck Finn style" and out towards the islands on Biscayne Bay. There are a few quiet coves to explore towards FIU campus. The entire loop takes about 2-3 hours to do...it doesn't feel like you're in Miami as it is so serene. There are lots to see - birds, occasional manatees, fish...all sorts of critters.

I would recommend bringing water or beverage when you're out there as once you're on the bay, you are completely exposed to the sun. There are a few places with tree canopies but for the most part, you are out in the open. It makes for an amazing day on the water.

Oleta has ample parking spaces and clean, well-maintained bathrooms. The park is a very popular spot for bicyclists and kayakers.

They currently charge $6 up to 4 people in a car or $4 for one person on the weekends.

I consider this place my "home standup paddleboard course"! :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    69
    15
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

When you come in to the park, they make you pay ten dollars to just park. Then, when you want to rent a kayak, they will charge you 35 dollars for one and a half hours. She decided to pay that because we already wasted 10 dollars on parking, so it would be a shame if we would just leave then and there. In the water, it was very dirty, with white gooey bubbles popping and reforming all the time. Also, they have you a map to follow but it was super hard. And, it didn't help that there were paths in the water that brought you to disgusting water and eventually a dead end. I would never ever go here period.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great park for the whole family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

There is a great park for the whole family to enjoy a day outdoor.
You can make a BBQ, ride a bike; Oleta River State Park currently has over 10 miles of challenging, intermediate mountain bike trails. For the beginner, there are over 4 miles of novice trails and 3 miles of paved trail. The paved trail also offers great conditions for roller blading. , or rent a Canoe or kayak. Cabins and camping is also available. It is the perfect park for all the ages!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Excellent piece of wilderness in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Oleta state park is a real gem - tucked away in NMB and nestled up against the intra-coastal waterway in Sunny Isles. It has lots of walks, cycle tracks, camping facilities, canoe / kayaking and a great cafe Blue moon. There is a fishing pier, swimming and a range of rentals available. You wouldn't know it's there but it's well worth a visit for the wildlife and to get away from the bustle of Downtown Miami

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice place to get out in nature and go kayaking, have a picnic, or go "mountain" (after all, this is flat South Florida) biking. Can get crazy busy on weekends and holidays

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleta River State Park also viewed

 

Been to Oleta River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleta River State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oleta River State Park to your Saves list