We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for tours during the week.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oleta River State Park

Oleta River State Park
3400 NE 163rd St, Miami, FL 33160
305-919-1846
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 283 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These trails, built on flat land, are full of technical challenges.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent for tours during the week.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Me and my family love this park! Quiet, nice for a nap, read a book or simply contemplate nature.

But beware! On weekends, especially in summer, is terrible. Many people, much noise, too much dirt.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    91
    21
    4
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Awesome little getaway...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you like biking, kayaking or just nature, this is the place. There is even a beach for your enjoyment. I would suggest the beach during the weekdays. On weekends, the locals from the area tend to flop here. There is a $2 charge per car, but if you partake in the activities you will be fine.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Camping, Barbecuing and a great HANGOUT for locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This State Park has something for everyone: Bicycle and hiking trails, canoe and kayak rentals, and a great beach. You can also rent cabins very inexpensively and it is a great family hangout.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good time with family and friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I tried the kayaking and the biking in the park and barbecue for Easter. I always loved my time in this park. It is clean and safe. The best time to kayak with friends in Saturday morning around 11 am when all the boats come to the bar sand with blazing music and drinks. It is more a youthful and cool atmosphere.
There are small islands to kayak to as well which are quieter.
The biking is awesome. I had no idea it actually exists in South Florida. Take your bike, wear a helmet and try the different level trails . You feel in another city.
You have to pick the right time and days not to be overpopulated, but everytime I went I had a great time. The water is cold but refreshing. There is plenty of parking, you have to walk a little to the site, but it is worth it as you don t have to struggle for parking!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Did not like it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The parking is located far away from the beach; the crowd was loud, irresponsible and rowdy. The picnic area is dirty and in unkempt. They do have boat rental and such which my family enjoyed, but there were two confrontations while we were there, people verbally fighting. I will never go back there!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleta River State Park also viewed

 

Been to Oleta River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleta River State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.