We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not like it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oleta River State Park

Oleta River State Park
3400 NE 163rd St, Miami, FL 33160
305-919-1846
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 120 Attractions in Miami
Type: Parks, Biking Trails, Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: These trails, built on flat land, are full of technical challenges.
Hialeah, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Did not like it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The parking is located far away from the beach; the crowd was loud, irresponsible and rowdy. The picnic area is dirty and in unkempt. They do have boat rental and such which my family enjoyed, but there were two confrontations while we were there, people verbally fighting. I will never go back there!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    71
    15
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great place, you could not lose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A great place to gather with the entire family, with water all around. a lovely beach. Kayaks, Canoes, Paddles, fishing, Biking. Pavilions with barbaque grills, benches to spare, with the sea breeze coming of the ocean.
The rules are of such, to attract well governed, well behaved families. Hundreds of people, yet you feel you have the park all to yourself. Very spacious.
Labor Day, is when we look forward to our annual Church picnic there, these 14 years now. {except for the times when the hurricane weather interferred}.
Very well run, well organized park. STAFFS are great! Very helpful
We always enjoy, and continue to look forward to the next year

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been there in March for 2 weeks, and really enjoy it. For us from Canada it was like an oasis in the middle of the winter;) We had our kayaks and paddle on the river and intercostal water, we had also the bikes, we visited everything around in Miami, had a trip to Keys and travel few times to Everglades.
The cabins are comfortable if you bring some additional mattress, the only thing I can complain about was the restrooms/shower building which need a renovation…
We had our camping gazebo and propane stove to cook and we enjoyed every night a nice fire wood.
If you are allergic to mosquitos and no-see-ums, bring a high DEET insect repellent and some Benadryl spray

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Idk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place is so convenient however whenever I have gone I've felt like the water was dirty. I know that it is a river so it cannot be as clear as the ocean but why would I want to go there with the ocean right down the street? I guess for the picnic grounds which is why we tend to have events there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Real nice Kayaking & Canoeing spots...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

rent or bring your own...we've used it for some nice kayaking with adults and kids...we live in just south of there and it's very convenient and 'user friendly'...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleta River State Park also viewed

 

Been to Oleta River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleta River State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.