We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place, you could not lose!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oleta River State Park

Oleta River State Park
3400 NE 163rd St, Miami, FL 33160
305-919-1846
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 88 Attractions in Miami
Type: Parks, Biking Trails, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These trails, built on flat land, are full of technical challenges.
North Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great place, you could not lose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A great place to gather with the entire family, with water all around. a lovely beach. Kayaks, Canoes, Paddles, fishing, Biking. Pavilions with barbaque grills, benches to spare, with the sea breeze coming of the ocean.
The rules are of such, to attract well governed, well behaved families. Hundreds of people, yet you feel you have the park all to yourself. Very spacious.
Labor Day, is when we look forward to our annual Church picnic there, these 14 years now. {except for the times when the hurricane weather interferred}.
Very well run, well organized park. STAFFS are great! Very helpful
We always enjoy, and continue to look forward to the next year

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    75
    17
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been there in March for 2 weeks, and really enjoy it. For us from Canada it was like an oasis in the middle of the winter;) We had our kayaks and paddle on the river and intercostal water, we had also the bikes, we visited everything around in Miami, had a trip to Keys and travel few times to Everglades.
The cabins are comfortable if you bring some additional mattress, the only thing I can complain about was the restrooms/shower building which need a renovation…
We had our camping gazebo and propane stove to cook and we enjoyed every night a nice fire wood.
If you are allergic to mosquitos and no-see-ums, bring a high DEET insect repellent and some Benadryl spray

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Idk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place is so convenient however whenever I have gone I've felt like the water was dirty. I know that it is a river so it cannot be as clear as the ocean but why would I want to go there with the ocean right down the street? I guess for the picnic grounds which is why we tend to have events there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Real nice Kayaking & Canoeing spots...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

rent or bring your own...we've used it for some nice kayaking with adults and kids...we live in just south of there and it's very convenient and 'user friendly'...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unsafe, uncomfortable cabin camping”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Several friends and I stayed in the cabins (A/C!) with our kids aged 2 to 10 years for one night. It is right in the middle of summer and we underestimated the capabilities of the bugs....made it past multiple layerings of DEET! So don't stay in the summer. The cabins are fine. My cabin was missing part of a floorboard on the porch - unsafe in the extreme for the little ones. The shower was incredibly hot. Too hot for the kids, they had to shower at the bike wash back near the beach. Added to that the 3 people pounding on several cabin doors at 1 a.m. asking for jumper cables (um, no thank you potential criminals) and then later seen in the bathroom shooting up and our experience can definitely be called terrible. It was interesting to be smack in the middle of a large city and surrounded by quiet woods. The campground was as clean as possible, the beach seemed pretty grubby but its obvious both get a lot of wear. A poor showing for a state park - but maybe the caveat is 'urban' state park.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleta River State Park also viewed

 

Been to Oleta River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleta River State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.