We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tour but...........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Tour Company

Miami Tour Company
429 Lenox Avenue, Miami, FL 33139
305-260-6855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 183 Activities in Miami
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We earned a Certificate of Excellence from TripAdvisor. Travelers have shared their opinions and are impressed with the quality of our business.
Silver Spring
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good tour but...........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Took a tour of Miami,my first time there,in July 2013. This was on a Sunday and the bus was quite filled. I was told on the phone that you could take pictures right through the windows without glare,well this wasn't the case,not good for taking pictures with a DSLR. Second issue was with a full bus the air conditioning wasn't working well enough and it was more humid outside than hot which made for an unpleasant day. You get a good tour of at least five different locations with time to walk around and take pictures. First time visitors,will see plenty while the bus goes from location to location. Seems like they have connections with the stop in Little Cuba,the tour company may get stipend from the stores there so you only see a little bit Little Cuba. I would have liked to see the orange Bowl,but they didn't go near there. Tour bus driver was quite knowledgeable and polite. Recorded tour was good too. Not a bad tour,but ample air conditioning is needed for a real comfortable tour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleMoore, Owner at Miami Tour Company, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear cookingupastorm,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy the tour is still on your mind all these months later :)

To address some of your concerns, I'm sorry you weren't pleased with your pictures. However, we've had many people take good photos from inside the bus. These can be seen on our website, and Facebook.

In the summer months, we work tirelessly to make sure the a/c is keeping up. However, when the bus is full, and the driver is continuously opening and closing the door, it can be difficult to keep the bus as cool as we would like. Before next summer, we are installing an external a/c unit in each bus to give it an extra burst of a/c. Ina ddition, we purchased 2 new buses that are already equipped with specially modified a/c systems that work great.

In Little Havana, passengers can visit Domino Park, Little Havana Souvenir Shop, the cigar shop, ice cream parlor, or McDonald's. We don't receive kickbacks from any of these places.

Regarding your comment about wanting to see the Orange Bowl, unfortunately, it was torn down in April 2008 to make space for the new Marlins Stadium that is mentioned in the tour. You can read about the Orange Bowl demolition on our sister site - http://forums.miamibeach411.com/general-discussion/2043-orange-bowl-ashes-ashes-demolition-pics.html.

I am happy that overall, you enjoyed your day, and we hope you will come back and visit us again in the future.

Best regards,

Michelle Moore
Owner
Miami Tour Company
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    123
    33
    18
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Way to see lots of Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The main reason I took this tour was that it took me to all the places I wouldn't have otherwise been able to get to without a car - Little Havana, the Biltmore, Coral Gables. I did the half-day tour with Derek as driver / guide followed by a city cruise. I really enjoyed the tour, both Derek's and the main tour commentary were very informative. The coach was clean, cool, we had free water and Derek handed out headphones - commentary was available in a number of languages. Derek took us into the looby and pool area of the Biltmore, that alone was worth the tour! We also had shorts stops in Little Havana and Coral Gables. The city cruise is run by a different company, so the tour essentially ended with the start of the cruise - we were handed the tickets to the cruise and then Derek took some of the passengers off to the Everglades. The cruise was really nice as well, it's always a nice way of seeing a city and the boat went past famous houses (or rather, famous house owners). Overall, I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone who would like to see more than just Miami Beach and who hasn't a car.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good and well organized!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We did the morning in the city and afternoon in Everglades tour. We had enough water and enough information. The driver - Derek - was very nice and fun. Personally i would have liked whole day in Everglades. Having some hike and boat rides on at least two spots. But, well, maybe next time :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamander Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Interesting morning city tour with good driver/guide Jeffrey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

With only one day available in Miami we chose the half day city tour with Miami Tour Company on the recommendation of our hotel concierge and were not disappointed. We were picked up at 9.30am and the tour finished a little later than scheduled at 2.15pm - mainly due to the number of guests, always the same ones, who were always late back to the bus after a stop. Despite this our driver, Jeffrey, remained composed, at least on the outside! There were six stops, all interesting in terms of giving a cross section of Miami, but the highlight was the holocaust memorial which is beautiful from a design viewpoint but also a very moving place. Even as non smokers the visit to the cigar shop was well worthwhile.
There were times when the recorded commentary lagged the actual bus positioning so we were past the place of interest before we heard about it but this may have been because the driver was trying to make up time between stops due to the continual late return to the bus by several guests.
Overall a good way to get an introduction to Miami with a very professional company. Not cheap but worthwhile. Water was provided on the bus and there were sufficient toilet stops.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

the Miami Tour Company, I can recommend to everyone wands to make day tours. About few day tours I don't know I have never experience it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miami Tour Company also viewed

 

Been to Miami Tour Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miami Tour Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.