We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tobacco Road

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tobacco Road
626 S. Miami Avenue, Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)
305 374 1198
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 102 nightlife in Miami
Type: Blues Bars, Jazz Bars
Activities: Drinking, Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Miami's Oldest Bar, Restaurant & Cabaret, est. 1912
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place is cool to check out local bands and hangout, but watch out for the rude staff on the outdoor patio. Wow!! I have never been treated so rudely in my life. I've been there twice and was treated horribly both times. The food is okay. If they make a mistake, they outright blame it on you like it's your fault. I think the manager really needs to step in and do something. It's a big turnoff when you're there trying to enjoy yourself and have a good time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dania Beach, FL
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Food in Oldest Bar in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

As many of you may know, Tobacco Road is the oldest bar in Miami. For visitors is a must (not every time you get to go to the oldest anything when visiting a city), and for locals is a laid back place for drinks, music, and food. Last time I was there I decided to try the food. People recommended the quesadilla and the burgers and that was exactly what we ordered. I have to say that both were delicious!! The burger patty was fresh and with great taste. The quesadilla was a ride to the taste buds. And I loved that Tobacco Road has reasonable prices aligned with the quality of their food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varazdin, Croatia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Alterative place with great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We checked this restaurant last evening. Very cheap place in all aspectcs but nice to see. Food was delicious. We had lobster and stake and both were fine. No. automatic gratitude, but staff deserved the tip. We didnt stay long enough to hear the band... But I think you shouldn't miss this authentic place :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Top Contributor
537 reviews 537 reviews
247 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
527 helpful votes 527 helpful votes
“Lots of atmosphere, but no local microbrews.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Went here at lunch time to check the vibe and the offerings. Of course, it wasn't late night with an event going on - but rather a quiet, historic tavern with just the right atmosphere and service for that time of day.

Unfortunately, the beer selection didn't include microbrews, local or from anywhere else. So I had a Guinness draught, which I like as a backup. The disappointment in not featuring at least a couple of local microbrews certainly subtracts from the atmosphere. Maybe this is why Tobacco Road doesn't rate a mention on RateBeer.com? I hope the mgmt picks up on this apparent lost opportunity

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Friday bar for $1 drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

T-Road has been my go-to spot on Fridays since I moved to Miami over a year ago. It's packed inside and outside on Friday for happy hour...good music, good drinks, and even better drink prices for select beer & liquor (usually vodka or rum)! You can't go wrong here but make sure to go between 6-7:39pm for happy hour prices. If you're wondering about the time, it's 99 cents for 99 minutes for 99 years of business!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tobacco Road also viewed

 

Been to Tobacco Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tobacco Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.