We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Little Haiti

Little Haiti
Miami, FL (Downtown)
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 102 Attractions in Miami
Type: Neighborhoods, Other
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Caribbean style marketplace and a replica of the Iron Market in Port-au-Prince mark this neighborhood as the center of Haitian culture in Miami.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hey if you are Haitian - go there, but if not....STAY AWAY.
There is only one great club there you should not miss: CHURCHILLS - a great clun with lots of different bands weekly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    10
    10
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is my home so I cannot say enough about this place. Every third Friday of the month the Little Haiti Cultural Center has an event featuring Haiti's best talents. It has become a very safe place to be. I go there every weekend to get authentic Haitian food. If you're thinking about visiting Haiti but just can't get away visit Little Haiti.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not that great”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I live in miami for years now and there are two neighborhoods I saw (by accident) and I wish I didn't: little haiti and liberty city. The reason: crime infested, dirty and basically looks similar to bad parts of bronx, detroit, baltimore, etc... why would you go there unless you live there?? These parts are avoided by people who live in MIA, so as a tourist you should DEF not go there!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I work not too far, therefore, i have occasion to drive through often. The neighborhood is essentially a low income area with a lot of soul. I have always felt relatively safe in the area and the you will experience the Haitian Culture. Haitians are hard working loving people. There are some typical restaurants, book stores and lots of Haitian art and lively colors. You will enjoy the experience as it will take you out of the ordinary. Have fun.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
699 reviews 699 reviews
487 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Bad neighborhood!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Good place to go and get good krio and fried platain. Must go during the day time to avoid getting mug or rob. The street and business need remodeling extensively.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Haiti also viewed

 

Been to Little Haiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Haiti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.