We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a crappy hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3255 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #86 of 130 hotels in Miami
Bar Harbor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a crappy hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed for one night before leaving Miami on a cruise. When we arrived at the hotel the lobby looked really nice, that was the only part of the hotel we can say that about. Our room was incredibly musty smelling. There were dehumidifiers in the hallways so there was evidently some water damage to the hotel causing the odor. I happened to have a bottle of Febreeze with me and I ended up using half of it on this hotel room just to make it smell bearable. The staff were not very helpful, in fact one front desk attendant was very rude. I asked him for directions to a nearby marina and he laughed at me and basically told me I was crazy, that no marina by that name existed. I then used the internet in the lobby to look up the address for the marina and showed the front desk attendant that it did in fact exist. To top it all off, the next morning as I was brushing my teeth I looked down to the bathroom counter top to see roaches on it. Thank God we were already checking out that day!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    52
    56
    35
    17
See reviews for
45
44
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Lake, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

I needed a post cruise hotel near MIA for one night. I was looking at hotels either near Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood (where I started/ended a cruise) using a "conventional" method and didn't see anything within my budget. I decided to try Priceline and bid for an unnamed hotel.

I started by low-balling 4* hotels and that didn't work. I then became reasonable with the offer and the star rating. I bid $75 for a 3* hotel in the Doral area. I needed two rooms, I ended up with this hotel. I've been to Miami and Doral before so I knew how far the city was to the airport. It is really a 15 minute drive, do you really want to be that close to an airport where you might hear airplanes all night? And it has been my experience that neighborhoods right against airports and typically not the best.

From Fort Lauderdale, it is about a 45 minute drive with a bit of traffic. The location is o.k., near industrial parks, and next two a Doral Ale House and a Tony Roma's down the street. The gal at the front desk recommended Mungongo's (Columbian) as a place that shouldn't be missed. The Miami International Mall and the Dolphin Mall are about 15 minute drives from this hotel which have more places to grab a bite.

The rooms are a bit dated and worn. My biggest peeve is a hotel that doesn't use central air, and when a stand alone HVAC is in the room, if it is really loud, that is a big negative. The bathroom fan was also a bit loud and couldn't be switched on/off independently from the light. So when you turn on the light, bam you get this loud fan. I also found the beds to be extremely bouncy, as if the springs were worn.

The lobby is nice with complimentary coffee. The staff was also very friendly willing to help. The Manager came by when I was waiting in the lobby to make sure our family had a nice stay. There's only so much she can do, she probably inheritted the hotel like it is. There is a small outdoor pool, and the "business center" is a desk in a corner of the lobby.

There isn't a free breakfast, what I did was go across the pool area into the Staybridge Suites where they have a complimentary breakfast and helped myself. Yeah I'm being cheap, but what is going to happen to the extra food! And you know they make extra food! It's going in the trash, what a waste, so I helped myself. The keycard locking mechanism wasn't active at that hour so it was easy to walk in. I did get busted by the Manager who saw me @ the Holiday Inn and shortly after that, the keycard mechanism was active.

I think a better Priceline bid would be in the $50 - $60 range. I would stay here again for that amount when I need to rest my head for only one night.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

There might be better options to stay at for one night before your cruise. My friend and I came after 1:00 am so we had to arrange our own transportation to the hotel. That cost about $25.00 from the airport. I was somewhat dissappointed in our room. Our beds seemed way inferior from a Holiday Inn Express that I had stayed at in Arizona. Plus there was two old soap bars in the shower soap holder and it looked like the garbage cans had not been emptied near the beds. Makes you think what else had not been cleaned. Don't eat in the restaurant. We both had the same vegetable omelet in the restaurant area. The middle tasted cold which makes me think they were made ahead of time and just put in the microwave before serving. That is the only thing we both had the same to eat in the last 24 hours and we both got stomach aches very soon afterwards making several trips to the bathroom. I let the manager know. They said they would call back and never did. However I do want to say that the staff behind the front desk were very nice and helpful during our stay. They arranged transportation to the port which cost $20. a person. We got our room thru price line with a bid of $60.00 plus tax. It does have a computer you can use to get on the Internet which was helpful.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

We stayed here the night before going on a Cruise. It was located a ways away from the Port, but shuttle service was offered for $9.00 per person. Also they have a free shuttle from the airport. They also offered shuttle service within 5 mile radius as long as the shuttle wasn't in use already. They took us to the Dolphin Mall and we just called when we were ready to leave and they came to get us. A good restaurant was close by. Breakfast was included and had lots to choose from. They also had cans of pop and chips, etc.for sale at a reasonable price. Free internet access. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We use Priceline for booking precruise hotels. I got too aggressive with pricing on this one and got the Holiday Inn Miami Airport West (Doral) for $75. The main complaint is the hotel is 15 minutes drive from the airport and in a direction opposite from the Port of Miami. the free shuttle bus took 1 hour and several call to pick us up at the airport or the alternative was a $24 cab ride. At the hotel the only 2 restaurants nearby had 45 minute waits. In the morning the choice was the free shuttle back to tjhe airport & then a $24 cab to the port or bit the bullet & pay $45 for a cab direct to the port from the hotel.

  • Disliked — Delay on shuttle bus and location
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, IN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

I was perhaps a little too loose with my Priceline bidding (instead of waiting for a better deal in a better area) and got the 3-star Holiday Inn - Miami Airport West (Doral) for a bid of $55. This hotel was, in my opinion, at the very boundary of what could be considered an "airport" hotel, and their airport shuttle only ran once an hour. We were quite delayed, so once we had collected our bags, we called about the shuttle but, being tired, decided to take a cab instead of waiting the 30 minutes for the shuttle's scheduled arrival. The cab ride ended up being about $23 ... like I said, this hotel is just barely an "airport" hotel.

Once at the hotel, the desk clerk was very nice (though asked for no forms of ID) and gave us a non-smoking room with two beds even though we were of course originally booked in a "Priceline" room that was a king-smoking room. The room was nothing special, but it seemed clean and did offer free, if slow, wi-fi. Being late, we walked next door to the Doral Ale House for dinner which was fairly tasty, had good drink specials, and was packed for the Indy-Jacksonville NFL game.

The next morning we strolled around the neighborhood to find perhaps a cheaper breakfast than what was offered by the Holiday Inn. The neighborhood seemed very walkable and well-kept (unlike some of the war-zone areas I've seen in Miami). We turned right and found absolutely nothing (besides Carnival's headquarters). We then headed back the other way and found a Dunkin' Donuts in a strip mall. After a quick breakfast, it was back to the room to get ready to leave for the ship. We debated on whether or not to take the free shuttle back to the airport to catch a fixed-rate cab to the port or to just have the hotel call us a cab. We went with the latter, and after a 15-minute wait, our cab arrived. A 20-minute and $40 cab ride later, we arrived at the Port of Miami.

This hotel seemed like a fine place to stay, though my final thought is that it is not necessarily convenient as a pre-cruise location.

  • Liked — It felt safe and was fairly clean.
  • Disliked — I didn't seem convenient to anything without a car.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

Please allow me to thank this holiday inn west doral,We have a great stay in this hotel,myself & my husband like to explore & walk ,this hotel is close to the dolphin mall,wallmart,food place & airport ,the hotel offer shutlle to the airport & sometimes they will take you to the mall you just be patience to wait for the shuttle as only one shuttle runs from there hotel,The driver manuel give us lot of information around the area of doral,very helpful,the front desk take an effort to help everyone who check in,room is great.Restaurant inside is expensive & theres a bar but pricey you rather go take a little walk you find mcdonalds & small shopping center,just becareful coz this is highway.

  • Liked — cheaper price & free shuttle to airport & mall
  • Disliked — front desk need to give more info to the guest what's in doral
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area

Address: 3255 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort at the Holiday Inn Miami Doral Area. Our hotel is conveniently located to the Miami International Airport and only 10 miles from beautiful downtown Miami, South Beach, Port of Miami and Amtrak with convenience to the Florida Turnpike, I-95, I-75, 836-Dolphin Expressway and 826-Palmetto Expressway. Families looking for lodging in Miami Doral are sure to enjoy the comforts of the Holiday Inn Miami Dora-Area, located on 87th Avenue with close proximity to many local attractions such as the Dolphin Mall, International Mall, Homestead Speedway, American Airlines Arena, South Beach, and Doral Golf Resort. Corporate travelers are impressed by the convenience of our accommodations. Our hotel is within walking distance to many large companies, such as; Carnival Cruise Lines, Boston Scientific, with just a short drive to Norwegian Cruise Lines, University of Miami, Jackson Memorial Hospital and Palmetto Hospital. In addition our hotel offers a business center,free wireless Internet and free parking. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant, The Changes Cafe Bar and Grill. We also offer daily complimentary airport shuttle service from 6 AM - 11 PM. While lodging at our hotel you can keep up with your daily routine with our 24 hour fitness center, or you can relax in our lounge,meet with friends and family and watch a game or just relax poolside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Express Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.