We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Judy! Thank you, Mauricio!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3255 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #86 of 130 hotels in Miami
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thank you, Judy! Thank you, Mauricio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A hotel's employees make all the difference. This hotel has at least two great employees.

We arrived on Tuesday night for a few hours' sleep before flying out of Miami airport on a 7:10 flight Wednesday morning. Since the first hotel shuttle leaves for the airport at 6 AM, we were concerned that we would miss our flight, and considered taking a cab the next morning.

Judy, the night manager, took the initiative to phone Mauricio, the shuttle driver, at home on Tuesday night and ask if he could arrive to work early on Wednesday morning. Mauricio agreed. In fact, we were able to start out at 5:20! Needless to say, we made our flight with time to spare.

While we did tip Mauricio generously, he had no expectation of a tip when he came to work almost an hour early for us. And Judy received no compensation whatsoever for going one step beyond. We hope the hotel recognizes the dedication of these two outstanding employees.

Next time we need to stay in the Miami airport area, we'll be sure to stay at the Holiday Inn Doral!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    52
    56
    35
    17
See reviews for
45
44
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our family of four stayed 1 night before our 6:30am flight from Miami Int'l airport. Advertised as very close to airport with free shuttle. It was about 20 minutes away and shuttle only ran 1x every hour starting at 6am. So we had to pay $30 for a cab. Beds creaked every time someone rolled over. We hardly got any sleep. Have never had such noisy beds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear katherine g,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow me to apologize for the issues you had with your beds and any inconvenience you may have experienced. I understand the discomfort this has caused you. I am also sorry you were not satisfied with the schedule of our airport shuttle. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Pretty standard, as as expected. Travelled for business in for 2 nights. They were really great in allowing a fairly late check-out (3:00 p.m.) and they were pretty busy so that was awesome.

Walking distance to some OK restaurants, and a Walmart.. hahaha...

Rooms clean, AC quite and cold. Great TV and channel selection (HBO, etc.).

Good for business travel, and close to airport. Not close to "nightlife" etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Didn't spend much time at the hotel because we only had 2 days in Miami. The room was big and the bathroom also big. Very very clean and good staff. Good pillows and a comfy bed.

The hotel is well located to walk in the heart of south beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel. It's like most Holiday Inns -- clean enough but nothing to rave about. The staff was nice and accommodating. There is a grocery store nearby for snacks and water. We didn't check out the restaurant or other facilities, so can't comment on those.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For starters, this is the only holiday inn that was not willing to confirm a double room reservation ] because it was done through an online third party site. I would recommend not selling blocks to third parties if they are unwilling to provide the services. Because of this lack of service, they only offered a SMOKING room. Fortunately, it was not over saturated ad others, but not what was expected.

The rest of the hotel was more a 2.5 star and not the 3 star that was indicated on the reservation. The lobby was clean, but the carpeting in the corridors could have been in better shape. In the room, the mirror had a broken frame and the TV was not functioning properly. The maintenance guy stopped by, and made the same determination after pressing button on the remote and stating that the problem was the service. I later found and tightened the loose connections that were the problem.

I am glad that this was a bargain site reservation and not a direct walk price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is a typical Holiday Inn USA product and provided that you accept that then it is OK. Room airconditioner is a bit noisy, but at least it does drown out the noise from the aircraft climbing out of MIA outside. I didn't have a problem with it. The breakfast is a bit basic but OK, and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The bar is very quiet but great for a peaceful drink if you can't stand the noise at the very good pub next door to the hotel. I stay here in preference to the airport hotels, but beware the traffic when heading to the airport...... You really need a car when staying here as there is not much locally within walking distance

Room Tip: It might be a good idea to ask for a room at the back of the hotel since there may be less aircraft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area

Address: 3255 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort at the Holiday Inn Miami Doral Area. Our hotel is conveniently located to the Miami International Airport and only 10 miles from beautiful downtown Miami, South Beach, Port of Miami and Amtrak with convenience to the Florida Turnpike, I-95, I-75, 836-Dolphin Expressway and 826-Palmetto Expressway. Families looking for lodging in Miami Doral are sure to enjoy the comforts of the Holiday Inn Miami Dora-Area, located on 87th Avenue with close proximity to many local attractions such as the Dolphin Mall, International Mall, Homestead Speedway, American Airlines Arena, South Beach, and Doral Golf Resort. Corporate travelers are impressed by the convenience of our accommodations. Our hotel is within walking distance to many large companies, such as; Carnival Cruise Lines, Boston Scientific, with just a short drive to Norwegian Cruise Lines, University of Miami, Jackson Memorial Hospital and Palmetto Hospital. In addition our hotel offers a business center,free wireless Internet and free parking. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant, The Changes Cafe Bar and Grill. We also offer daily complimentary airport shuttle service from 6 AM - 11 PM. While lodging at our hotel you can keep up with your daily routine with our 24 hour fitness center, or you can relax in our lounge,meet with friends and family and watch a game or just relax poolside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Express Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.