We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected based on the rating...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3255 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33172   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #87 of 131 hotels in Miami
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not as expected based on the rating...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For starters, this is the only holiday inn that was not willing to confirm a double room reservation ] because it was done through an online third party site. I would recommend not selling blocks to third parties if they are unwilling to provide the services. Because of this lack of service, they only offered a SMOKING room. Fortunately, it was not over saturated ad others, but not what was expected.

The rest of the hotel was more a 2.5 star and not the 3 star that was indicated on the reservation. The lobby was clean, but the carpeting in the corridors could have been in better shape. In the room, the mirror had a broken frame and the TV was not functioning properly. The maintenance guy stopped by, and made the same determination after pressing button on the remote and stating that the problem was the service. I later found and tightened the loose connections that were the problem.

I am glad that this was a bargain site reservation and not a direct walk price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    51
    54
    33
    16
See reviews for
43
44
15
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is a typical Holiday Inn USA product and provided that you accept that then it is OK. Room airconditioner is a bit noisy, but at least it does drown out the noise from the aircraft climbing out of MIA outside. I didn't have a problem with it. The breakfast is a bit basic but OK, and all the staff are very friendly and helpful. The bar is very quiet but great for a peaceful drink if you can't stand the noise at the very good pub next door to the hotel. I stay here in preference to the airport hotels, but beware the traffic when heading to the airport...... You really need a car when staying here as there is not much locally within walking distance

Room Tip: It might be a good idea to ask for a room at the back of the hotel since there may be less aircraft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

On the upside there is a good bar right out front. It's got great pillows. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

On the downside the entry way needed cleaning and hallways are a bit dingy and carpets need vacuuming. Like many other hotels they have bowed to the bulbous and installed extended shower curtain rods. However, they installed them at door height so you can't open the bathroom door all the way. The gym is a disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear ReallyDolly,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and leaving a review. We are delighted you were pleased with our comfortable beds and pillows. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the cleanliness of the property, shower curtain rods and condition of the gym. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review. I hope we have the opportunity in the future to provide you with a better experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend, October 5-8. The room was clean and in good condition. The Internet was fast. The Front Desk and Housekeeping employees were attentive and friendly. Due to our schedule visiting family and friends we didn’t eat at the hotel, but the restaurant seemed busy when we walked by. We would definitely stay here on our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor at the end of the hall -- never heard anything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Nasty rooms. Dusty & moldy carpets. Uncovered holes in walls where outlets were moved. Oh and in case that wasn't enough I discovered I wasn't the only occupant using my bed as a roach crawled over me while I was watching TV. Immediately changed rooms and will probably check out tomorrow if I can brave sleeping here tonight. This is what I get for going away from Marriott hotels I guess. Oh well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear hairydawg78,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We take comments such as these seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herculaneum, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

my husband golfed at the doral resort and we chose to stay here to save a little $$$. It was a good decision! We were only minutes away form the doral, and from many restaurants and stores. The room was very clean and the bed was so comfy! we also liked the restaurant and bar on site. The staff was very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Even to not be new, the facilities and rooms are nice. The staff was very friendly.

The Doral area Holiday Inn is unique in that there is no complimentary breakfast buffet. We picked it over one closer to the airport because this was a little cheaper, but I didn't realize the "no free breakfast" thing when I booked. They do have a restaurant and room service, though. We ordered breakfast in for fun and the food steward was a nice as can be, but she forgot to bring syrup for our pancakes, or any silverware to eat with. To be honest I don't fault her per se—I got the feeling that room service requests (for breakfast, at least) don't occur very often. The staff apologetically resolved it before our food got too cold.

The beds were comfortable and I liked that the general area of town was nice and quiet. It's a nice part of town just far enough out of the way—and funny enough right next door to Carnival Cruise Lines' corporate headquarters. All-in-all not a bad place to stay. I'd just go out for food next time. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area Hotel
Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area Hotel Miami
Holiday Inn Express Miami
Address: 3255 NW 87th Ave, Miami, FL 33172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 131 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfort at the Holiday Inn Miami Doral Area. Our hotel is conveniently located to the Miami International Airport and only 10 miles from beautiful downtown Miami, South Beach, Port of Miami and Amtrak with convenience to the Florida Turnpike, I-95, I-75, 836-Dolphin Expressway and 826-Palmetto Expressway. Families looking for lodging in Miami Doral are sure to enjoy the comforts of the Holiday Inn Miami Dora-Area, located on 87th Avenue with close proximity to many local attractions such as the Dolphin Mall, International Mall, Homestead Speedway, American Airlines Arena, South Beach, and Doral Golf Resort. Corporate travelers are impressed by the convenience of our accommodations. Our hotel is within walking distance to many large companies, such as; Carnival Cruise Lines, Boston Scientific, with just a short drive to Norwegian Cruise Lines, University of Miami, Jackson Memorial Hospital and Palmetto Hospital. In addition our hotel offers a business center,free wireless Internet and free parking. Hotel amenities include a full-service restaurant, The Changes Cafe Bar and Grill. We also offer daily complimentary airport shuttle service from 6 AM - 11 PM. While lodging at our hotel you can keep up with your daily routine with our 24 hour fitness center, or you can relax in our lounge,meet with friends and family and watch a game or just relax poolside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Miami - Doral Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.