We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican cuisine well done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheen Huaye

Cheen Huaye
15400 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33160
305-956-2808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 3,819 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mexican cuisine well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This pleasant, recently enlarged and informal restaurant can be overlooked because it is in a small strip mall, but don’t pass it by. The menu contains the expected Mexican dishes, plus many specialties from the Yucatan. Don’t expect the trite serape and sombrero décor, but do expect excellent cuisine. All of our dishes were carefully prepared, tasty, served hot and promptly. Cheen-Huaye is distinguished not only by its good food, but also by its very warm and attentive service. We have received similar friendly service by both the proprietor, Magna Vieira, whose husband is the executive chef, as well as her staff. We get to Aventura several times a year and try to eat at Cheen-Huaye each visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frqunt_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our property manager, Juan, who works for AYP Inc. in Miami gave us the name of this little restaurant, the first night of our stay and he did not disappoint our Mexican food loving family. We couldn't pronounce the name but we did give it a big thumbs up! The food authentic southern Mexico food was delicious! The jalepeno margaritas were just ok but the quality food made up to that. We would definitely go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pammcpat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miiami Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This time we were 6 plus a toddler. The restaurant is relaxed and informal and our server, friendly and attentive. Around the table we ordered Carne Asada, Carne Tamarindo and a special, mahi mahi covered by a slightly sweet salsa. The mahi was perfectly cooked and the salsa a nice complement.

Everyone left the restaurant raving about the food and wanting to return soon. Cheen Huaye has never disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank FredF09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We went to las delicias peruvianas a few days ago and thought that both the food and people were amazing. Ral peruvian in a real peruvian place. After reading very goof reviews on Cheen Huaye we decided to try this restaurant expecting to have a similar experience of quality and good service. We were very disappointed. Appart from the ceviche which was quite good the rest of the food was average at best and the service would have to be ranked among the slowest (we are talking a solid hour and a half wait for the food) i've ever experienced. Slow service average food and high prices, unless you like that combination i would not recommend this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank fred10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
153 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Yucatan Cusine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Cheen Huaye has some of the most interesting and unique Mexican food I've had, as they specialize in Yucatan cuisine. The place is quiet and unpretentious in a strip mall, and is great for families with small children.

We started off with the excellent salsa and chips that they bring to the table, the best guacamole I've ever had, along with a great tomato based tortilla soup. The star was the main course, which was Molcajete, grilled steak, sausage and Panela cheese with vegetables and a tomatillo sauce - unbelievable flavors.

Service was very friendly - highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tadak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheen Huaye also viewed

 

Been to Cheen Huaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing