We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican cuisine well done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheen Huaye

Cheen Huaye
15400 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33160
305-956-2808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 3,615 restaurants in Miami
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Mexican cuisine well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This pleasant, recently enlarged and informal restaurant can be overlooked because it is in a small strip mall, but don’t pass it by. The menu contains the expected Mexican dishes, plus many specialties from the Yucatan. Don’t expect the trite serape and sombrero décor, but do expect excellent cuisine. All of our dishes were carefully prepared, tasty, served hot and promptly. Cheen-Huaye is distinguished not only by its good food, but also by its very warm and attentive service. We have received similar friendly service by both the proprietor, Magna Vieira, whose husband is the executive chef, as well as her staff. We get to Aventura several times a year and try to eat at Cheen-Huaye each visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    68
    24
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our property manager, Juan, who works for AYP Inc. in Miami gave us the name of this little restaurant, the first night of our stay and he did not disappoint our Mexican food loving family. We couldn't pronounce the name but we did give it a big thumbs up! The food authentic southern Mexico food was delicious! The jalepeno margaritas were just ok but the quality food made up to that. We would definitely go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miiami Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistently Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This time we were 6 plus a toddler. The restaurant is relaxed and informal and our server, friendly and attentive. Around the table we ordered Carne Asada, Carne Tamarindo and a special, mahi mahi covered by a slightly sweet salsa. The mahi was perfectly cooked and the salsa a nice complement.

Everyone left the restaurant raving about the food and wanting to return soon. Cheen Huaye has never disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We went to las delicias peruvianas a few days ago and thought that both the food and people were amazing. Ral peruvian in a real peruvian place. After reading very goof reviews on Cheen Huaye we decided to try this restaurant expecting to have a similar experience of quality and good service. We were very disappointed. Appart from the ceviche which was quite good the rest of the food was average at best and the service would have to be ranked among the slowest (we are talking a solid hour and a half wait for the food) i've ever experienced. Slow service average food and high prices, unless you like that combination i would not recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Yucatan Cusine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Cheen Huaye has some of the most interesting and unique Mexican food I've had, as they specialize in Yucatan cuisine. The place is quiet and unpretentious in a strip mall, and is great for families with small children.

We started off with the excellent salsa and chips that they bring to the table, the best guacamole I've ever had, along with a great tomato based tortilla soup. The star was the main course, which was Molcajete, grilled steak, sausage and Panela cheese with vegetables and a tomatillo sauce - unbelievable flavors.

Service was very friendly - highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheen Huaye also viewed

 

Been to Cheen Huaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheen Huaye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.