We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheen Huaye

Cheen Huaye
15400 Biscayne Boulevard, Miami, FL 33160
305-956-2808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 3,429 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Look past the strip mall and you will enjoy a delicious meal and wonderful service! We had the tamale appetizer. Two people had the skirt steak and said it was delicious. The mahi mahi was excellent! The owners and staff were very gracious. The service was attentive but not intrusive. We will definitely eat there again!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    29
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This restaurant was highly recommended and we wanted to check in out for awhile. First of all, this is yucatan cuisine, not your typical mexican, so you need to prepare yourself. The salsa (my favorite part of mexican meal) was ok. Not an over the top experience. The food was good. My husband and I share a mixto of meat and it came with a small ramican of rice. We asked for extra rice and were told there would be additional charge. That would have been fine if the prices were reasonable. That is not the case. The bill was well over $100.00 for four of us. They are not giving the food away and still charging for extras. We walked away after dinner saying we would not be back. It was OK. Not exciting at all.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Once again, Excellente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Third time here, first for dinner. same menu either way. They recently doubled the size by taking over the space next door. The new section had brighter lights and need some finishing still.

Finally got Mom to come to Florida to visit so I had bring here to the best Mexican in town.

Drinks came fast and chips with salsa were good. They make everything from scratch everyday.

First, ceviche with tuna and shrimp was clean and refreshing. Pork tamales presented beautifully. Corn meal was soft and tasty, could have used a bit more pork but very high quality.

Tamarindo skirt steak was juicy and perfectly balanced with spices. Mom had the grilled Mahi Mahi special and it was very nice as well.

Please rate these guys high and get them back to #1 where they should be!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Good Mexican all around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I love Mexican food and have high standards, but this place meets it. I come here a few times a year and always bring friends from out of town and it leaves a good impression of Miami on them.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A good, but pricey mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

After reading the reviews, we arrived with high expectations. It would be too harsh to say that we were disappointed, but we certainly were not blown away either.

The proprietors are very welcoming, and the food rates a solid 'good'. I have to respectfully disagree with those who think this is the best mexican restaurant -- even in Miami, an area not known for its mexican food, you can find better. I found most of what we ordered uninspiring.

I also do not think that the price point is warranted. This is one of the most expensive mexican restaurants I have eaten at -- in Miami or elsewhere -- and I don't think the experience justifies the price. (The place is usually packed, however, so a lot of people apparently disagree with me).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cheen Huaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheen Huaye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.