We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't go there!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Suites & Marina

Save Saved
You added Opera Suites & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Opera Suites & Marina
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1750 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 Specialty lodging in Miami
São Paulo - Brazil
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“don't go there!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Opera Suites & Marina is not a real hotel, just an appartment building that rents some of their suites to ill-advised guests.
We had made a reservation for it at 1800Hotels website. We have relied on the informations provided both on their website and the hotel's website, which state that it is a boutique luxury hotel ("As the most luxurious extended stay hotel in Miami, comfort and convenience is what Opera Suites & Marina is all about. Whether you're looking to spend a few nights-or even a few months-we offer fully-furnished accommodations with the privacy and spaciousness you'd expect in your own home. right here in Miami's happening design district.") .
When we arrived, we immediately saw this was not the case, but we decided to stay, since we had already paid for the whole 4-day stay. But after 2 days we realized that it was impossible to stay in that hotel.
These are the problems we found:
- the place seemed clean, but the carpet on the bedroom was badly stained
- the bedcover was worn out and frayed
- the Venetian blinds were broken and the ropes were tangled, making it difficult to open or close them
- the cookware was stained and dirty
- the closet was big, but had only 2 shelves and a few hangers; the clothes had to remain in the luggage
- the balcony was unfinished, and the floor was just raw cement, dirty and stained
- the bathroom was pitiful, with a small sink and a small bathtube, a burned out lightbulb, but surprisingly a good shower in the bathtube
- the general appearance was that they had started to finish the decoration, but midtime they ran out of money and finished everything with very low-quality materials
- the service was non existent: every demand we made (in writing) - one pillow, kitchen cloths, a new bedcover, more hangers - was not fully complied with and needed to be reinforced several hours later, because they had not yet delivered all the items; in addition, they had no personnel whatsoever and the front desk girl herself had to make some of the deliveries
- on the second day, they changed the bed sheets, but it seemed like they were used ones because, according to the girl at the front desk, "they are not used to iron the bed sheets; they take them off the washing-drying machine and place them directly on the bed" - this is hardly what you would expect from a hotel, let alone a boutique hotel!
- the last drop was the fire alarm: after 7-8pm we started to hear an intermitent whistle that we couldn't place. After some time, we talked to the front desk and were informed that it was the fire alarm. We were actually asked to deactivate it, so that it won't start again, but, as you can imagine, this would be highly hazardous.
Nevertheless, we did as told, but the noise continued. The front desk sent up the security guy, who told us he couldn't do anything and that he would ask the front desk to call maintenance and possibly the fire department. We waited until 01am but the front desk didn't answer, even after we made a new call. The point is, they didn't care. It was impossible to stay in the room because we couldn't sleep (the noise was intermitent) and we were afraid that something might get seriously wrong.
As a result of all this trouble, we were forced to look for another hotel at 01:30am, since we were afraid to remain in that unsafe place, that had also proved not to be a normal and decent hotel.
We paid for 4 hotel nights and had instead a big problem that impaired our sleep, our patience, and our vacation.
We wrote to 1800Hotels, and they offered an apology but, to date, they haven't give us any compensation for this regrettable stay.
Fortunately, we ended up at the Grand Beach Hotel, in Miami Beach, which is a new and wonderful hotel, with a very good management.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santos, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

After reading so many good reviews I decided to go to Opera Suites in Miami. In fact I got an awesome rate of U$ 139 + tx for a 2 bedroom suite at easyclicktravel. Check in was fine, very fast. I was travelling with one pregnant wife, one 2 year old child, my mother in law and my brother in law. As soon as arrive in the hotel I asked from someone's help to get the bags to the room. We had 10 bags and the front desk women said that there was nobody to help but I could borrow the cart from the security office. Well, the security said that there was no cart available and I had to get all the bags by myself to the 39th floor. As soon as I enter the room I was expecting the amazing view as everybody are stating in the reviews but they gave me a city view room, looking to the MIA airport....ugly view....The room was nice, I cannot tell the contrary because I would be lie but, there was no towels, no trash, not enough pillows... I went to the kitchen and there was nothing....no glasses, no plates no forks no nothing....the sink food processor was broken with food like Japanese sushi floating in the dirty water...very disgusting. Why you need a kitchen without appliances and utensils? If you decide to rent this apart hotel you must go somewhere to buy all stuff
I went to the front desk (by that time I was having fever of 39C due a virosis) and ask for someone to help. The women said that they could move to another room, another one at floor 41 but with the same city view. I said no, I wouldn't move all bagas by myself again alone and I could wait the next day for someone to help us with the food processor. I got back to the room to take a shower and guess what? There was no curtain in the main bathroom. Again I went back to the front desk (if you can call it a front desk) and asked again for a curtain. OK, they just put it. We went to sleep at night and tried to close the window shield. Guess what? It was broken....I didn't want to wake up with the sun in my face neither sleep using sunscreen lotion so I got back again to the front desk and the women gave me the key of apartment 4115 (we were on 3715). We went there to check, and gues what? Windows shield also broken. Ok what should I do? I called again asking for an extra blanket so I could cover part of the window.
Second day I was ecpecting someone to fix the food processor and the window shield. Guess what? Nobody fixed anything....
The poing is, this is not a hotel and will never be this way. If you like dogs this is probablu the best place to go. I have never see so many dogs in my life, neither in a pet shop, all kind. I love dogs but when my brother in law went to the swimming pool area to see the hotel infrastructure someone throw feces (brown water) through the window and almost hit him. This has happened exactly in the same side of our balcony. As soon as he got back to the room he told me this and we opened the balcony and the brow water smelling feces had also hit our balcony. We just closed the balcony but the smell was already in the room. It least for the whole day...I prefer to believe that someone throw animal waste, instead of human feces. Again I went to the front desk and told them this and guess what? They told me that they would make something to fix it...
If I would make the reservation through the hotel website I would leave in the next day to any days inn in the area but unfortunately I had already paid for 4 nights.
I'm not used to stay at Ritz Carlton and Four Season but this is one of the most disgusting places I've been in my life. I've been at so many good places in Miami as The National, The Palms Hotel, Metropole (a must), Sisty Sixty Resort and Opera is the worst by far.....Runaway from here if you can.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for the Jazz in the Gardens festival. This place was definitely one of highlights of our trip. The room was beautiful ;nicely furnished and very relaxing. This not a full service hotel and if you are a customer who needs a lot of attention and direction then this not the place for you. Its more like a friend let you use there awesome condo for the weekend.The view is breathtaking. no matter if you have a bay or city view. We had a 2 bedroom that was very spacious. We stayed for 2 days; never got our room cleaned and had to ask for washcloths. Valet service was good $15/day and kinda worth it. The place defintely has the potential to be top notch if properly staffed. I am looking for to going back.....

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

This was one of the very few times the pics on the hotel's website is actually what I seen when I arrived to the site. The view is gorgeous. The service was good. The valet parking is reasonable compared to South Beach valet parking. We stayed in a two-bedroom accommodation. The king master bedroom was clearly the better. It had more room, larger closet, and a better bathroom. The only problems we had with the queen/full master bedroom was the sink was constantly clogging. The doors were sliding doors , so there was a lack of privacy in the queen/full bedroom. Also, out of five elevators three were down. We got to see the one-bedroom and it was nice as well.
Overall, the I would return and recommend this hotel to a friend. I'm actually getting ready to book this hotel again with my girlfriend in May for the Festival '10 (close to Bayfront Park). Last weekend (3/18/10-3/22/10) I went with the guys for Spring Break '10

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardeniaPalm
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

On the one hand, the view was great. On the other, I had to be careful where I stepped while getting to the balcony to see it.

I arrived midweek for my four night stay. I was given a 1 bedroom on the 56th floor. When I got off the elevator and opened the door... WOW! What a view! I could see downtown, Brickell, the Venetian Islands, the Port of Miami, just about everything south of the building.

The floors were a white polished stone and I thought everything was fabulous, until closer inspection.

There was an immense amount of long hairs all over the floors of the unit. The carpet going in to the bedroom was torn, the area rug in the living room was filthy and the floor to ceiling windows hadn't been wash since the building was built, it seemed.

Normally I take pictures of the bad, but I was so grossed out I had to immediately begin cleaning. After I removed the hairs and scrubbed down the bathroom, I thought all would be well.

10 PM comes and I take down the covers to crawl in to bed and fitted sheet is turned inside out, there are the same long hairs all over and big black marks all along the pillows.

I went downstairs but the woman at the desk was on the phone and didn't look up and I think was pretending to not see or hear me.

Since the units come with wash and dryers, I went back up and threw the sheets in the wash.

The shower head and jets were very nice, but the tub didn't drain well and I ended up standing in a big puddle every time I got in. Towels were worn.

I'm torn because on the one hand the view and location were good and the furnishings in the condo were also good (I loved the sofa) On the other hand, the unit had obviously not been cleaned and then housekeeper simply made the bed as opposed to changing the sheets.

The bottom line is the rate their asking on some sites ($300-$400 a night) is NOT NOT NOT NOT worth it!!! I cannot stress that enough! I paid $104 a night and for that price, it WAS worth it. I wouldn't pay any more then $140 a night for a one bedroom.

If you're coming for an extended stay, it's a good place to stay, just expect that you'll have to clean when you get there as well as do laundry.

There is a pool, hot tub and sauna as well as a gym in the building on the 11th floor and that was a nice feature to have. Being a residential building, the facilities were never crowded like they are at traditional hotels.

I would recommend this hotel ONLY with the stipulation of price I mentioned above.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST Paul, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the Opera Suites for the Strickly Sail Boat Show and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are clean, large (compared to a hotel) and the people at the front desk very friendly and helpful. The kitchen was fully equiped and the views "fantastic" . Request an ocean view you will not get a better view for the $. Very convenient to downtown, restaurants and easy to get a cab if needed. A very safe area and quiet. Do note that if you are looking for a resort this is not for you as it is more of a condotel set up but a great value for the $ compared to the other hotels in the immediate area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA, USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

It should be understood first of all that the Opera Suites and Marina is really an "Apparthotel"; i.e., it is a set of condominiums made to operate as a hotel. This is important, because of the expectations that some travellers have regarding a "full service hotel".

As an Apparthotel, it is very good. Its suites are spacious and modern, and most have impressive views of the Miami skyline and the bay. The location is also good, not quite in Downtown, but close enough to the Metromover (free public transit) to make that a non-issue. The pool is large and heated, and the fitness center is likely well-equipped. I found the front desk staff to be friendly and knowledgeable.

As a hotel, it is missing some key things, like a restaurant, room service, a large lobby area to relax in, etc., but if you know this going in, it doesn't bother you that much. There are three large hotels in the immediate vicinity (Doubletree, Marriott, and Hilton) featuring restaurants and shops, and the building next door has a very good and affordable caffeteria (Carrals), where you can sample both typical - simple - American as well as Cuban fare.

Some observations:
(1) They can provide you with extra linens, pillows, blankets, utensils, pots and pans, etc., but these are not in the room when you arrive; you need to ask for them.
(2) The room had been swept clean, but not mopped, so the marble floor was a little dusty on our arrival. This was pointed out to the staff at checkout, and they humbly accepted it, promising to correct it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Opera Suites & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Suites & Marina

Address: 1750 North Bayshore Drive, Miami, FL 33132
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Specialty lodging in Miami
Hotel Class:3 star — Opera Suites & Marina 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Opera Suites & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Suites & Marina Hotel Miami
Opera Suites And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Suites & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.