We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely and interesting place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacle State Historic Site

Barnacle State Historic Site
3485 Main Highway, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)
305-448-9445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 292 things to do in Miami
Attraction details
Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“lovely and interesting place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

good music in the park, tour through the house is so interesting and the place is so special, our kids want to life in a house like this. We learnt so much. And the mystery hole on the property...??? Go there!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    12
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Nice place to relax while listening good bands. Love it! and kids run and play freely with no problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Little Bit of Old Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We also missed the last tour of the day so contented ourselves with looking in the house windows -- but there is actually a lot to see anyway: the proa (outrigger canoe), the boat dry-dock, the hurricane braces on the house walls (that aparently worked ina real hurricane) plus just the natural landscape and plants. A real treat!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peeking in the Windows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great little gem. We missed the last tour of the day (2:30) which we learned meant that we could not go into the house. It would have improved the trip, but we enjoyed the grounds and peeking in the windows. For the $2.00 park access fee, it is a wonderful bargain.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Historic Miami site.. where did it come from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Lovely site in the middle of Coconut Grove with a tour of the home of one of Miami's founders and peaceful setting in the middle of busy Coconut Grove. Entrance is a path through the classic hardwood hammock that once connected all of downtown MIami from the Miami River to Coconut Grove. Nicely signed with natural history information.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barnacle State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacle State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.