We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Bit of Old Florida” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacle State Historic Site

Barnacle State Historic Site
3485 Main Highway, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)
305-448-9445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 122 Attractions in Miami
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Little Bit of Old Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We also missed the last tour of the day so contented ourselves with looking in the house windows -- but there is actually a lot to see anyway: the proa (outrigger canoe), the boat dry-dock, the hurricane braces on the house walls (that aparently worked ina real hurricane) plus just the natural landscape and plants. A real treat!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    10
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peeking in the Windows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great little gem. We missed the last tour of the day (2:30) which we learned meant that we could not go into the house. It would have improved the trip, but we enjoyed the grounds and peeking in the windows. For the $2.00 park access fee, it is a wonderful bargain.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Historic Miami site.. where did it come from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Lovely site in the middle of Coconut Grove with a tour of the home of one of Miami's founders and peaceful setting in the middle of busy Coconut Grove. Entrance is a path through the classic hardwood hammock that once connected all of downtown MIami from the Miami River to Coconut Grove. Nicely signed with natural history information.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Small but charming site, with interesting history, worth a brief visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you're in Coconut Grove, drop by this small and charming park, pleasantly situated on the bay with lovely views and interesting history. The owner, Ralph Middleton Munroe, was an inventer and forward thinker, one of Coconut Grove´s pioneers. We did not do the house tour, as we were short on time, but I imagine it would be fun.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec city area
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Probably one of the smallest state parks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

What's left of the Munroe Estate (circa 1877) in Key Biscayne is worth the one hour visit. Park fee is 2$ with another 2$ to visit inside the house. Nicely organized and the information posters are worth reading, if not downright necessary, to get a good understanding of the place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnacle State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Barnacle State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacle State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.