We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Park

Tropical Park
7900 SW 40th Street, Miami, FL 33155
305-226-8315
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 292 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Running
Attraction details
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This park is amazing, it truly has something for everyone. I've been here for the Christmas festival, horse shows, the dog park, to play tennis and to ride bikes. They have batting cages and just about any recreational activity you can think of. Looking for a park to get the kids out to, someplace that will keep them busy, look no further, Tropical Park is the ONLY park to take them to!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“our local park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We live near Tropical Park, therefore we frequent often. Overall, it's a good park. Basketball courts, baseball diamonds, tennis courts, picnic pavillions, pond, ducks, open play areas, playgrounds, food service, bicycle-type vehicles for rent. Draw back are the people who come and litter. Broken glass all around, even in the grass where kids play. It's not the parks fault, people just don't care or are just plain-------. A park is for everyone to enjoy, not just for a few inconsiderates. Is it so hard to pick up your own trash and put it in the garbage cans? There are plenty of trash recepticles to use.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The Best City Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I visit Tropical park various times a month. They have so many activities from sports leagues (softball, baseball, football, soccer kickball) to agriculture and cattle shows. They also have tennis, basketball, and raquetball courts. Every December they host Santa's Enchanted Forest a Holiday amusement park. This park is an amazing place to discover, with walking and biking trails to playgrounds for kids. They even have Geocaches hidden throughout the park, which are treasures that are found using GPS. Take a day, pack a picnic and share this place with your family.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI, FLORIDA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Just a bunch of playing fields surrounding a couple of ponds”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I am a local resident and only visit when a league game is played there, or a private party is scheduled there. If you're looking for recreational areas, there are a lot nicer places to visit in Miami. How about Pinecrest Botanical Gardens, Fairchild Botanical Gardens, Deering Estate?( All within 20 minutes of Tropical Park)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 attraction reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This place is for the dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We tried out the Bark Park yesterday at Tropical Park. We've been to the one over on SW 157 Avenu just north of SW 120 Street. The one at Tropical Park is better. The shady areas were nice. It was narrow (maybe about 40 feet wide) but it was very long.

I only have two complaints:
1) The secondary gate was partially off the hinges and had to be lifted to be opened or closed.
2) Signage at the front gate said that the park was closed for Maintenance every Tuesday from 8 to 12. We were there are at 12:45 and it was still locked. After multiple phone calls, someone came to unlock it around 1:15.

If the gate was operational and if the park was opened at the time it was posted to be open, this would have received an Excellent rating from me and my 8 year old.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Park also viewed

 

Been to Tropical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.