We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best City Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Park

Tropical Park
7900 SW 40th Street, Miami, FL 33155
305-226-8315
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 120 Attractions in Miami
Type: Parks, Jogging Paths/ Tracks
Activities: Running
Attraction Details
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The Best City Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I visit Tropical park various times a month. They have so many activities from sports leagues (softball, baseball, football, soccer kickball) to agriculture and cattle shows. They also have tennis, basketball, and raquetball courts. Every December they host Santa's Enchanted Forest a Holiday amusement park. This park is an amazing place to discover, with walking and biking trails to playgrounds for kids. They even have Geocaches hidden throughout the park, which are treasures that are found using GPS. Take a day, pack a picnic and share this place with your family.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI, FLORIDA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Just a bunch of playing fields surrounding a couple of ponds”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I am a local resident and only visit when a league game is played there, or a private party is scheduled there. If you're looking for recreational areas, there are a lot nicer places to visit in Miami. How about Pinecrest Botanical Gardens, Fairchild Botanical Gardens, Deering Estate?( All within 20 minutes of Tropical Park)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This place is for the dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We tried out the Bark Park yesterday at Tropical Park. We've been to the one over on SW 157 Avenu just north of SW 120 Street. The one at Tropical Park is better. The shady areas were nice. It was narrow (maybe about 40 feet wide) but it was very long.

I only have two complaints:
1) The secondary gate was partially off the hinges and had to be lifted to be opened or closed.
2) Signage at the front gate said that the park was closed for Maintenance every Tuesday from 8 to 12. We were there are at 12:45 and it was still locked. After multiple phone calls, someone came to unlock it around 1:15.

If the gate was operational and if the park was opened at the time it was posted to be open, this would have received an Excellent rating from me and my 8 year old.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
674 reviews 674 reviews
487 attraction reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“great park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Clean park, this park is huge. baseball , soccer area. I like the hill which you can run up and down.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

It was so nice to find such a large green space in the busy city! This park has so much to offer - soccer, baseball, tennis, boxing, lakes, exercise trails, paddleboats and so much more. Thier bark parks were awesome - even had agility equipment for doggie exercises!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Park also viewed

 

Been to Tropical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.