We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace and beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cloisters of the Monastery of Saint Bernard de Clairvaux

Cloisters of the Monastery of Saint Bernard de Clairvaux
16711 W. Dixie Highway, Miami, FL 33160
305 945 1462
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Architectural Buildings
Attraction Details
Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“peace and beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were here on a Sunday and so we could worship in the service. Yes, a very peaceful, quiet place. Surrounded be a nice park like garden. We love it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orosei
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice place from europe in the new world”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The monastery is a little old gem embedded in a brand new city, the oldest building in USA for sure.
The garden is really nice, the building is beautiful - maybe because was made in europe centuries ago - and walking in the cloisters you can almost feel in medieval Spain. Frankly i could live without christmas decorations in the inner garden close to the well, but the little church (they actually hold services and weddings there) was fine and the walk was relaxing and peaceful. You should take a look at the "signatures" of the stonemasons.
Besides this beauty, we were disappointed when we got there around 11am and we were told to come back at 1pm because the monastery was closed (despite the sign saying that opening time was 10am).
Tickets cost 8$ (4$ for students).

Good place if you want to admire european beauty in the middle of Miami. Anyway i hope no one else decides to bring something so ancient outside of europe.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Interesting History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I found this to be a fascinating building. The history of how it was transported to the US and rebuilt was amazing! For a few blissful hours I felt as if I were back in Spain! It is so quiet here in the middle of North Miami Beach----a real respite. The gardens and chapel are lovely.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Citizen Cain lives again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Willam Randolph Hearst, newspaper magnate, and barely disguised leading role in the movie "Citizen Cain" heard that the
Spanish Army had occupied a Cistercian Monastery, during the Spanish Civil Way. He determined to save it from the ignomeny of being a refuge for many horses, and succeeded in buying these cloisters, and shipped them to Miami, enroute to Heast Castle, his Palace in California.

Unfortunately, US Customs balked at allowing the straw that the stones were wrapped in, into the US, and the whole shipment was quarentined.

Heast Castle's loss is South Florida's gain, and although the Church is not the original, it is still nice to visit. Strange that it should have Anglican services, next to this part of a former Catholic Monastery!

The history is really more impressive than the attraction, but if you are spending a week or more in Miami, consider driving here on the way to Fort Lauderdale!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cloisters of the Monastery of Saint Bernard de Clairvaux”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I drove to Timo's Restaurant in North Beach. Then we took a short drive to the Cloisters. The building was erected in Spain and then brought to the United States by William Randolph Hearst in 1925. After his death in 1952, Messrs. W. Edgemon and R. Moss purchased it for a tourist attraction. It took 19 months and almost 1.5 million dollars to put the Cloisters back together in what Time magazine called the 'world's biggest jigsaw puzzle." In 1964, the Cloisters was bought by Col. Robert Pentland, Jr. It was purchased for an Episcopal parish and is active today.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cloisters of the Monastery of Saint Bernard de Clairvaux also viewed

 

Been to Cloisters of the Monastery of Saint Bernard de Clairvaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloisters of the Monastery of Saint Bernard de Clairvaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cloisters of the Monastery of Saint Bernard de Clairvaux to your Saves list