We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and serene” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cloisters of the Monastery of Saint Bernard de Clairvaux

Cloisters of the Monastery of Saint Bernard de Clairvaux
16711 W. Dixie Highway, Miami, FL 33160
305 945 1462
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 88 Attractions in Miami
Type: Architectural Buildings, Cultural
Attraction details
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful and serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

There are some nice artifacts to look at and old pictures about how the monastery was broought here. The grounds are beautiful with some nice statues and some resident cats. The littl chapel is very nice. Great place for some nice pictures.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent place with amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Went to visit here during my vacation as I randomly stumbled upon this place.This place is abosoloutly beautiful. Beautiful cloisters and amazing garden. Carolina inside the guest shop was amazing about the history of this place. She really knows her stuff!!!Very polite and friendly.Place is very informative and would recommend this to anyone.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“quiet hidden gem in busy miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The story behind the Spanish Cloisters here is quite interesting. The grounds are peaceful and quiet and the building itself is lovely. We were the only ones here when we visited (besides the many resident cats who we found charming). Having the place to ourselves, we wandered around for 45 minutes or so, using the pamphlet from the gift shop as a bit of a guide. The location is popular for weddings, and it's easy to see why. There are some photos in the gift shop detailing the move of the cloisters to America, and a few dusty relics from the past that provide some historical context. Our impression was that they don't receive many tourists here, but it was a welcome break to visit a place that wasn't full of other out-of-towners. You likely won't stay for more than an hour at most, but you'll be pleasantly surprised (and refreshed) by a visit to this restful and relaxing place.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Tranquilty and mystery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This old spanish manastery is still a peaceful and wonderful spot to wander and meditate. Its still an active church so be respectful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Very Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Contrary to other reviews, we loved it here. We went as a family of seven and spent half the day there. It may not be the primary attraction if you only have a day in Miami, but otherwise it is definitely worth the trip, great way to spend a calm afternoon.

Visited May 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cloisters of the Monastery of Saint Bernard de Clairvaux also viewed

 

Been to Cloisters of the Monastery of Saint Bernard de Clairvaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloisters of the Monastery of Saint Bernard de Clairvaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.