We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Collection with Excellent Shows.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Contemporary Art

Museum of Contemporary Art
770 NE 125th Street, Miami, FL 33161
305-893-6211
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #51 of 117 attractions in Miami
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) is dedicated to making contemporary art accessible to diverse audiences – especially underserved populations – through the collection, preservation and exhibition of the best of contemporary art and its art historical influences.The Museum of Contemporary Art is known for its provocative and innovative exhibitions, and for seeking a fresh approach in examining the art of our time. The museum maintains an active exhibition schedule, presenting 8 to 10 exhibitions annually.
Miami Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrific Collection with Excellent Shows.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This museum has a terrific contemporary art collection. The curators here put on excellent shows. Although it's in North Miami (I wish it were either in Miami Beach or Downtown), it's worth the trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    4
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bizaar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I went to the museum since it was free first weekend of the month thanks to BofA. The parking lot was next to police station and free. Building exterior a bit dated though it stands out in the area.
Staff was pleasant, museum is small. One exhibit with music and voice was bazaar and loud. Could not get away from the continued music and vocals. Maybe they could turn down the volumn.
Movie Visual piece kept me watching, even when I wanted to move on.
One exhibit gives new meaning to coo coo clocks....
Allow 1/2 hour to view. $5 when not free.
Bookstore sell candy, tees and books.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Museum of Contemporary Art - Depends on the exhibit!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited on a Friday night and took advantage of a free Jazz concert and free museum entry program. The current exhibit, Bill Viola, who uses electronic, sound, and image rotation to express his artistic presentation. We did not find it interesting or worth seeing. We won't try to describe each video as that would be a considerable effort; but will tell you it helps to talk to the staff about the videos to learn what it is about. The building itself is very small and it is entirely given to a single exhibit. The Jazz concert made the evening worth the trip.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I came to this museum on a trip to Miami with friends from England and I have to say this is an amazing place! Brilliant exhibition. I wasn't familiar with the artist, Bill Viola, but I loved the pieces and the museum made it a more intimate experience. Loved it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting, not overwhelming.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I visited on a Sunday and took advantage of BofA's free museum entry program. The current exhibit is interesting and worth seeing. I won't try to describe each video but will tell you it helps to talk to the staff about the video or use a QR reader to get information on each video.
The building itself is very small so when you visit don't expct multiple floors or multiple wings. It is small but can hold many pieces of work.
Bonus to tjhe area....iI the immediate area are sme great mid century furniture stores.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Contemporary Art also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Contemporary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Contemporary Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.