We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a trip when in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vizcaya Museum and Gardens

Vizcaya Museum and Gardens
3251 S Miami Ave, Miami, FL 33129 (Coconut Grove)
305-250-9133
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Vizcaya Museum and Gardens like an insider
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #4 of 283 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1916 as a winter retreat, this lavish villa is a tribute to the Italian Renaissance. The museum contains much of the original furnishings and artwork, and is surrounded by lush, formal gardens.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Well worth a trip when in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Visited viscaya house and gardens when staying down in lauderdale , really enjoyed it, what an amazing place , you wouldn't think it is situated in a busy city of Miami, the tour offers a self guided experience or a tour guide , we opted for the self service experience , it was thoroughly enjoyable , what a house it is / was , the gardens are absolutely amazing, but for me was the intriguing waterfront where the boats of the day would dock or where guest would arrive for their grande evenings , we also decided to enjou lunch out on the deck , food was reasonable and tasty , offering a nice variety for all , the self guide was easy to listen to and operate , over all my experience was excellent , well done to all involved on keeping such a fantastic establishment in such a great order

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,564
    710
    123
    28
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Vizcaya Museum and Gardens - warning closed Tuesdays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent a few days in Miami pre a Panama canal cruise. Tuesday was planned as a visit to Vizcaya Museum. We used the hop on-hop off bus. We hopped off the bus at Vizcaya and walked to the entrance only to find that the gardens are closed on Tuesdays. Disappointed, maybe we should have checked on opening times before arriving - maybe the bus driver could have warned us before we got off the bus.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Bring your camera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

The first time at Vizcaya I came with my wife about 7 years ago... this time we brought our kids 12 and 10 yrs old... and they liked it as much as we did. The place is breathtaking.. the setting, the gardens, the view and the historical value of the place! I would have imagined they would re-invest more of the money into up-keeping the place as it does seem run down... but I guess its so so large its hard to keep up with the depreciation of the place. Bring your cameras as this is definitely a place where its worth taking a few shots!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So beautiful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a place so beautiful and quiet. You can get lucky and see some photo shoots taking place and enjoy the gardens and the view of the bay. Majestic and impressive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Still a great place to vist, but its run down and unkempt!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been visiting Vizcaya since the mid 60's while on vacation in Miami with my parents. Before there were Disney Parks, Universal Studios or Seaworld, this is where vacationers went. Having lived in Miami since the early 70's I had not visited Vizcaya in 20 years, so my wife and I decided to make an afternoon out of it, and revisit this historic home. We were shocked at the condition of this property. Overgrown weeds, dead plants and trees, filthy fountains with thick green mildew pouring over the sides. What a shame, it would bring tears to our eyes. This was a beautiful, perfectly manicured lawns, historic site. Miami-Dade County goverment had mis-managed this property into the ground. I still recommend you vist, admission is reasonable and you will get to see one of the most beautiful old homes in Florida.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vizcaya Museum and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Vizcaya Museum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.