We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vizcaya Museum and Gardens - warning closed Tuesdays” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vizcaya Museum and Gardens

Vizcaya Museum and Gardens
3251 S Miami Ave, Miami, FL 33129 (Coconut Grove)
305-250-9133
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Vizcaya Museum and Gardens like an insider
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #4 of 283 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1916 as a winter retreat, this lavish villa is a tribute to the Italian Renaissance. The museum contains much of the original furnishings and artwork, and is surrounded by lush, formal gardens.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Vizcaya Museum and Gardens - warning closed Tuesdays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We spent a few days in Miami pre a Panama canal cruise. Tuesday was planned as a visit to Vizcaya Museum. We used the hop on-hop off bus. We hopped off the bus at Vizcaya and walked to the entrance only to find that the gardens are closed on Tuesdays. Disappointed, maybe we should have checked on opening times before arriving - maybe the bus driver could have warned us before we got off the bus.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,685
    775
    134
    30
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Bring your camera”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

The first time at Vizcaya I came with my wife about 7 years ago... this time we brought our kids 12 and 10 yrs old... and they liked it as much as we did. The place is breathtaking.. the setting, the gardens, the view and the historical value of the place! I would have imagined they would re-invest more of the money into up-keeping the place as it does seem run down... but I guess its so so large its hard to keep up with the depreciation of the place. Bring your cameras as this is definitely a place where its worth taking a few shots!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So beautiful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a place so beautiful and quiet. You can get lucky and see some photo shoots taking place and enjoy the gardens and the view of the bay. Majestic and impressive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Still a great place to vist, but its run down and unkempt!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been visiting Vizcaya since the mid 60's while on vacation in Miami with my parents. Before there were Disney Parks, Universal Studios or Seaworld, this is where vacationers went. Having lived in Miami since the early 70's I had not visited Vizcaya in 20 years, so my wife and I decided to make an afternoon out of it, and revisit this historic home. We were shocked at the condition of this property. Overgrown weeds, dead plants and trees, filthy fountains with thick green mildew pouring over the sides. What a shame, it would bring tears to our eyes. This was a beautiful, perfectly manicured lawns, historic site. Miami-Dade County goverment had mis-managed this property into the ground. I still recommend you vist, admission is reasonable and you will get to see one of the most beautiful old homes in Florida.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A piece of Europe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I live in Miami and for years I did not know about Vizcaya. It is a beautiful home almost hiding behind the lush vegetation and easily missed. The gardens remind me of those in Europe at a smaller scale. I saw a bride having her wedding pictures taken on the grounds and can only imagine how charming they turned out. Well worth a visit, at least in my opinion.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vizcaya Museum and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Vizcaya Museum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.