We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Architectural Treasure in South Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vizcaya Museum and Gardens

Vizcaya Museum and Gardens
3251 S Miami Ave, Miami, FL 33129 (Coconut Grove)
305-250-9133
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #4 of 292 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1916 as a winter retreat, this lavish villa is a tribute to the Italian Renaissance. The museum contains much of the original furnishings and artwork, and is surrounded by lush, formal gardens.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Architectural Treasure in South Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We last visited Vizcaya about 20 years ago and wanted to re-visit this hidden gem while in the Miami area in January. Vizcaya was the winter home of John Deering, a wealthy industrialist from the Midwest who set out to create the equivalent of an opulent European palace in South Florida.

The self-guided tour starts in the main house which contains many beautiful rooms for accommodating and entertaining Deering’s winter guests. Each room is decorated in a different style (Venetian, Parisian, Spanish, Chinese, etc.) showing the finest interior design fashions and decors of the early twentieth century. The guests back then and the visitors today can enjoy beautiful views from many of the rooms inside the house including the inside courtyard and magnificent outside gardens, as well as the vista-view overlooking Biscayne Bay. The house tour also includes a look behind the scenes of the servant’s working kitchens and food serving areas giving you the feeling of a real life Downton Abbey!

After the house tour, spend some time walking through the outside gardens and along the portico on Biscayne Bay. The views are simply stunning and are regularly used by photographers for fashion shoots (we saw a fashion shoot with several beautiful models on the day of our visit!).

Allow at least 1½ hours to fully experience this magnificent house and gardens as would a guest of John Deering many decades ago. A visit earlier in the day is recommended because it does get very warm and humid outside from noon to late afternoon. Please note that picture taking is prohibited inside the main house so you may want to purchase the tour brochure ($4) which is filled with beautiful color pictures to remind you of your visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,761
    795
    142
    32
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mansion & Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Opulent house and gorgeous formal gardens. We did this as part of a Big Bus city tour after a cruise, well worth a 2 hour stop (best stop on city tour IMO - wish we had more time). Managed to get an escorted garden tour in the limted time that was very informative.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The grounds are beautiful. Old Museum/Mansion next to the water, beautiful views of Key Biscayne great garden.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful House, Gardens and Fountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This place is a total dream. Amazing house and rooms to explore , stunning gardens, splendid fountains. When you couple this with amazing views of the bay, it just makes for a stunning day out

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LilleHeidi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mind blown!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I looked at every picture posted on TA for this site before we visited and I was still blown away by the beauty of this place!! I loved the historic house/museum and enjoyed learning about the property's history. Then we walked outside and I was utterly overwhelmed. The property is huge and it's easy to spend a couple hours there. The 3 people traveling with me had no idea what they were in store for and everyone was utterly impressed. This place is nothing short of magical!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vizcaya Museum and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Vizcaya Museum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.