We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Historical Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vizcaya Museum and Gardens

Vizcaya Museum and Gardens
3251 S Miami Ave, Miami, FL 33129 (Coconut Grove)
305-250-9133
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #4 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Art Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1916 as a winter retreat, this lavish villa is a tribute to the Italian Renaissance. The museum contains much of the original furnishings and artwork, and is surrounded by lush, formal gardens.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Historical Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

One of the most beautiful places I ever see. Tastefully built and decorated house, but landscaping, sculptures and plants along with the ocean view - there are no comparison.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,109
    513
    84
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grasse, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great day out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The house and gardens recall an older era, the house is full of antiques, the gardens are very romantic, Italian Knot gardens, secret gardens, fountain gardens, a real treat for garden lovers.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great House, Nice Gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This attraction made for a nice afternoon. The house is incredibly furnished with European furniture and artwork and the gardens were incredibly manicured. There are statues everywhere. I highly recommend the audio tour as part of the experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beyond beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

both the house and the gardens are unbelievable. I've been many times to Vizcaya, but can say this most recent visit was the best as the gardens were in the best shape ever seen. Even the statuary and walkways were in tip top shape, suitable for some awesome photographs.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful home and gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My family and I really enjoyed our visit here. Can't imagine the detailed work that went into building the home and the gardens. Unbelievable European furniture in Miami. Who knew?

I wanted to give a tip to families. Kids who are not used to being in gardens or museums may get bored. We brought a sketch pad and colored pencils- and our kids loved it. They were able to draw pictures of the gardens while we got to enjoy the beautiful views. Just realize that for kids that are used to amusement parks, that this is a much more serene setting.

And don't miss the orchid garden. Really beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vizcaya Museum and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Vizcaya Museum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vizcaya Museum and Gardens to your Saves list