We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rated #1 Attraction in Miami? Really?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vizcaya Museum and Gardens

Vizcaya Museum and Gardens
3251 S Miami Ave, Miami, FL 33129 (Coconut Grove)
305-250-9133
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$85*
and up
South Florida Explorer Pass
Ranked #4 of 296 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1916 as a winter retreat, this lavish villa is a tribute to the Italian Renaissance. The museum contains much of the original furnishings and artwork, and is surrounded by lush, formal gardens.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Rated #1 Attraction in Miami? Really?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This attraction seems to be a bit hyped up. Our expectations were high as this is rated #1 attraction in Miami, but we were a bit disappointed. There are no flowers; I mean, absolutely, no flowers in the garden. The castle was good, but needs better maintenance. Some of the fountains were turned off. The views of Biscayne Bay were beautiful. There are better attractions for families with young children.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,832
    839
    149
    33
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow - much better than I realized!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went with my husband and we were a bit surprised by the $15 each ticket price, but soon realized it was so worth it! This is an amazing home, garden and view. The cafe was also very good - the menu is interesting and we really enjoyed our meal. We spent over two hours and were never bored.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“An Amazing Find in the Middle of Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I had never heard about Vizcaya Park until yesterday when I was desperately trying to find something for my family to do in Miami that wasn't far from our Downtown hotel and wasn't too difficult to find our way to. The hotel receptionist said the Miami zoo was 20 miles away while Vizcaya Museum and Gardens was one train stop. I was sold. It is $5 for an all day ticket on Miami's Metro and it is easy to navigate. The museum is a comfortable, ambling ten minute walk from Vizcaya Metro station.
The gardens at Vizcaya were nothing short of stunning and so too was John Deering's mansion. Deering lived at Vizcaya in the early 1900s but to see the magnificent furnishings and highly decorated rooms of his residence, you would think you were visiting somewhere much, much older; a European estate. The kids loved seeing all the detail of how people lived; the 100 year old bathrooms and kitchens and hidden doors. It was fascinating for us girls in particular. My husband was not as excited as we were, but he would rather be at the football.
There is a pleasant cafe for souvineers and snacks. Tickets are $15 for adults and $6 for children aged six and older. The whole estate is stunning and should not be missed when visiting Miami. Truly lovely.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must see when in miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This is just a gem. The house and gardens are beautiful just a great place to spend a sunny afternoon. A must have is afternoon tea on the terrace a 1

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“House is Worthwhile, Gardens Lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Wife and I enjoyed the guided tour of the residence given by one of the volunteer guides. They were very knowledgeable and knew the answers to all of our questions. The gardens we actually found to be lacking...I'd actually say they were "grounds" more than gardens as the vegetation was very limited. We were able to tour the entirety of the "gardens" in about 15 minutes. If I had it to do over again, we'd probably choose the Fairchild Botanical Gardens in lieu of the Vizcaya given we've toured similar mansions throughout the country.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vizcaya Museum and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Vizcaya Museum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.