We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our stay in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vizcaya Museum and Gardens

Vizcaya Museum and Gardens
3251 S Miami Ave, Miami, FL 33129 (Coconut Grove)
305-250-9133
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #4 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Art Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1916 as a winter retreat, this lavish villa is a tribute to the Italian Renaissance. The museum contains much of the original furnishings and artwork, and is surrounded by lush, formal gardens.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highlight of our stay in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Well worth the trip out, we could of spent all day in the gardens.
We did not do a tour but went through the house on our own & it was amazing.

Lots of wildlife too, we saw a pretty large lizard as long as my forearm as well as some sort of black and white possum sized animal diving into the rubbish bins for food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,128
    525
    86
    21
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, f
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sight to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Being from out of town, we saw the signs for Vizcaya Museum and Gardens and made plans to visit the next day. Wow, were we suprised. This is an extraordinarily beautiful place. The Mansion is filled with art and is itself artistically built. The gardens are spectacular. If you have been to Biltmore or other mansions, you will find this surpasses them as a must place to see.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutler Bay, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Vizcaya; one of America's castles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The visit to Vizcaya is a must see. I have lived in Miami for 11 years and I went for the first time 6 months ago. I have now been a second time and it was better than the first. The Mansion itself it breath taking, but the grounds, the seawall and the barge are sites you don't want to miss. i will go back again and again. You should choose the Audio tour, as the rooms are dark and sometimes crowded, you will get all the information. it is a few more bucks, but it will be worth it. You won't need to buy the guide as they give you a map at the entrance. Enjoy

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Allow plenty of time to thoroughly visit the gardens as well as the interior. Thr audio tour is worth the rental and provides more information at your own pace than the free hour long tour inside. The setting is magnificent, and the gardens are spectacular. The house is beautiful; although the interior decorating scheme may not appeal to modern tastes. It is fascinating to see what those with endless fortunes did a century ago.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent historic site!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Takes 3-4 hours to really enjoy the place. What a great trip back in time, and a view of how some of the rich lived, although he was a bit eccentric. Very nice garden, every turn brings a new feast for your eyes. We went here for a diversion before a flight out Miami, compare this house to Biltmore in NC, although smaller.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Vizcaya Museum and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Vizcaya Museum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vizcaya Museum and Gardens to your Saves list