We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venetian Palace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vizcaya Museum and Gardens

Vizcaya Museum and Gardens
3251 S Miami Ave, Miami, FL 33129 (Coconut Grove)
305-250-9133
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #4 of 88 Attractions in Miami
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums, Gardens, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1916 as a winter retreat, this lavish villa is a tribute to the Italian Renaissance. The museum contains much of the original furnishings and artwork, and is surrounded by lush, formal gardens.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
605 reviews 605 reviews
217 attraction reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Venetian Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Vizcaya was the winter home of James Deering, a wealthy industrialist in the early 1900's. It's a beautifuly restored 34 room mansion with some characteristics of Venetian palaces including a wonderful courtyard and a setting on Biscayne Bay. The upper floor of the mansion is not wheelchair accessible, but there is a video showing the upstairs for those who cannot handle the stairs. The view over the Bay is spectacular and there is a garden with fountains, waterfalls, and statuary. There's a cafe with very good food. The box office is a bit inefficient, so be prepared to wait in line.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,355
    611
    97
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We enjoyed the gardens and the tour. Great paintings, etc. Enjoyed lunch and a great photo shoot. The dining room with the view of the gardens was my favorite.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A castle in Miami!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Vizcaya is the closest thing to seeing a castle in South Florida as you can get! The historical home is a magical place to visit for tourists and locals alike. You actually transform to another time and place on your visit! This is an incredible place for photo opportunities. I suggest visiting when the weather is not too hot...

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“FABULOUS VISIT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Loved this place, we had such a great time strolling the gardens and viewing this historical gem! You could spend an hour or spend a half a day learning about this home. Make sure to get the head phones as part of your solo tour

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Views are unreal, museum is informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Anyone that had been to Miami recommended Vizcaya Museum for us. I was able to find a $3 off coupon for admission, making it $12. There were several other coupons for $1 or $2 off at various hotels and the welcome center. The parking is on site and free.

We all enjoyed the museum and it had information cards explaining each room. The best part about this was outside and the view overlooking Biscayne Bay. While we were visiting, we saw 4 groups taking professional photos and one group filming something. This was a bit distracting as they expected you to move around them, but I can see why they want to use that location!

The grounds are expansive and we spent about 3 hours total here.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vizcaya Museum and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Vizcaya Museum and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vizcaya Museum and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.