We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science

Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science
3280 S. Miami Ave., Miami, FL 33129
+1 305-646-4200
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$65*
and up
Ranked #44 of 88 Attractions in Miami
Type: Science Museums, Observatories/ Planetariums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Frost Museum of Science aims to make a difference in people's lives by inspiring them to appreciate the impact that science and technology can have on every facet of our world. For over 60 years, the Museum's award-winning educational programs, family-focused exhibits, historic planetarium, and rehabilitative Wildlife Center and Clinic have enriched locals and tourists alike. In 2015, the legacy continues, when we move to a new world-class, state-of-the-art facility in the heart of downtown Miami. The Museum will remain operational at its current location on South Miami Avenue until completion of the new building. Frost Museum of Science is accredited by the American Association of Museums and is an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution. The museum is located at 3280 South Miami Avenue, Miami, FL 33129. The Museum is open every day from 10:00 am until 6:00 pm. Admission is free for children under 3; 10.95 for students (with valid ID), seniors (62+) and children 3 - 12; 14.95 for adults. Parking is free. The Museum is funded with the support of the Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs and the Cultural Affairs Council, the Miami-Dade County Mayor and Board of County Commissioners.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It is a good place, maybe too much of information for the littler ones, but is a good way to involved our kids with interesting things. The star show is amazing and the laser show is very funny. I definitely recommend Miami Science Museum.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    39
    26
    21
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great way to spend several hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were very impressed with this science centre. It's very unassuming from the outside but there are lots to see and do inside. It's not huge but there are many shows, including the planetarium during the day that you can spend many hours there. We stayed right until closing and rushed through the last couple of exhibits.

We have membership to the Ontario Science Centre in Toronto so we were able to get in here for free so it was a great afternoon for us. Well worth the trip, especially if you have kids.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for kids and kids at heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was a fun experience even though a large portion of the museum is temporary due to their upcoming move to a new location. The Planetarium is the right combination of fun and educational. The wildlife exhibits are fresh and fun and the underwater exhibits were definitelya sight to see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“ok for a two hour visit, ok for kids, very little attractions to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Museum present a good experience for kids from ages 4 to 12, it has very little to show compare to other museums. The museum is transforming into a huge science experience which will be located at Miami Downtown, I will go back when this opens in the future. For now the current museum did not meet my expectations.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Visited Miami Science Museum on a recent trip to Miami with my family. We had a great time wandering around the exhibits and enjoyed a talk on wildlife from one of the staff. The planetarium was brilliant and the talk was given by a very droll, witty and interesting man. I see there are plans to build a new museum and I hope nothing is lost when this happens. A must see for everybody!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science also viewed

 

Been to Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.