We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science
3280 S. Miami Ave., Miami, FL 33129
+1 305-646-4200
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #59 of 215 things to do in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The current location of the Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science is closed and will re-open at its new location in downtown Miami's Museum Park in summer 2016. The museum will continue to activate in and around South Florida via its "Out & About with Frost Science" outreach program, bringing educational science experiences to the community. The new Frost Science will be structured around a lushly landscaped indoor and outdoor Living Core Aquarium of terrestrial and aquatic environments, featuring a Gulf Stream Aquarium experience totaling over 500,000 gallons of salt water. The facility will also feature the state-of-the-art, full-dome Frost Planetarium, the Knight Learning Center, Innovation Center and Cafe, and an Exploration Center featuring permanent interactive exhibits. The Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science is funded with the support of Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs and Cultural Affairs Council, the Miami-Dade County Mayor and Board of County Commissioners.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

It is a good place, maybe too much of information for the littler ones, but is a good way to involved our kids with interesting things. The star show is amazing and the laser show is very funny. I definitely recommend Miami Science Museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank libia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    54
    32
    26
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great way to spend several hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were very impressed with this science centre. It's very unassuming from the outside but there are lots to see and do inside. It's not huge but there are many shows, including the planetarium during the day that you can spend many hours there. We stayed right until closing and rushed through the last couple of exhibits.

We have membership to the Ontario Science Centre in Toronto so we were able to get in here for free so it was a great afternoon for us. Well worth the trip, especially if you have kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TorontoSunvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for kids and kids at heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was a fun experience even though a large portion of the museum is temporary due to their upcoming move to a new location. The Planetarium is the right combination of fun and educational. The wildlife exhibits are fresh and fun and the underwater exhibits were definitelya sight to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheConstantRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ok for a two hour visit, ok for kids, very little attractions to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Museum present a good experience for kids from ages 4 to 12, it has very little to show compare to other museums. The museum is transforming into a huge science experience which will be located at Miami Downtown, I will go back when this opens in the future. For now the current museum did not meet my expectations.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cavan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Visited Miami Science Museum on a recent trip to Miami with my family. We had a great time wandering around the exhibits and enjoyed a talk on wildlife from one of the staff. The planetarium was brilliant and the talk was given by a very droll, witty and interesting man. I see there are plans to build a new museum and I hope nothing is lost when this happens. A must see for everybody!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CavanJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science also viewed

 

Been to Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing