We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science

Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science
3280 S. Miami Ave., Miami, FL 33129
+1 305-646-4200
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Miami Card
Ranked #197 of 490 Attractions in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Frost Museum of Science aims to make a difference in people's lives by inspiring them to appreciate the impact that science and technology can have on every facet of our world. For over 60 years, the Museum's award-winning educational programs, family-focused exhibits, historic planetarium, and rehabilitative Wildlife Center and Clinic have enriched locals and tourists alike. In 2015, the legacy continues, when we move to a new world-class, state-of-the-art facility in the heart of downtown Miami. The Museum will remain operational at its current location on South Miami Avenue until completion of the new building. Frost Museum of Science is accredited by the American Association of Museums and is an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution. The museum is located at 3280 South Miami Avenue, Miami, FL 33129. The Museum is open every day from 10:00 am until 6:00 pm. Admission is free for children under 3; 10.95 for students (with valid ID), seniors (62+) and children 3 - 12; 14.95 for adults. Parking is free. The Museum is funded with the support of the Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs and the Cultural Affairs Council, the Miami-Dade County Mayor and Board of County Commissioners.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Daily shows of the planetarium included in a fair price. Interesting and funny for kids and families.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    44
    27
    23
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great For Whole Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our family ranges in age from 13 to 51 and we all really liked this place. Make sure to check out the sea lab. You can touch some of the sea creatures. We spent about 2 hours here. Right across from Vizcaya . Highly recommend both places.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great interactive family fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

There's LOTS for all ages to do! Little ones are always itching to grab and touch and play with things. This place has lots to try, learn, experience and enjoy.

We appreciated the staff from the moment we checked in at the desk. The planetarium laser show is clearly outdated, but our kids enjoyed it, having an opportunity to touch and hold sea stars/starfish was awesome! Even my 1-year-old had things he could safely touch & play with!

Love bringing families here when they visit Miami. Thank you!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Small but pretty good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It is obviously an older physical location, and it shows. But it also shows it's relevance as many of the exhibits are great. Nano, the physics area...the games....the energy tracker, and the animal areas. The BEST part was the gentleman who explained the things that can be found on the seashore.....the shells, animals. He was great!

As a sidebar....as a transportation/logistics career guy, I LOVED the Pan Am globe in the entryway. So awesome!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“More exciting things going in your own backyard. Take a pillow for the planetarium because the seats are mighty uncomfortable lo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I remember going to this place when I was about 10 years old and let me tell you nothing has changed. My family and I didn't have to pay because we went on a day that BOA debit card owners go in free, so at least that wasn't a waste of money, rather a waste of time. The only thing we enjoyed was experience of petting star fish in a small out door area. Nothing has changed with the this place same old planetarium, and boring science shows.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science also viewed

 

Been to Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.