We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but pretty good!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science

Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science
3280 S. Miami Ave., Miami, FL 33129
+1 305-646-4200
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #47 of 123 attractions in Miami
Type: Science Museums, Observatories/ Planetariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Frost Museum of Science aims to make a difference in people's lives by inspiring them to appreciate the impact that science and technology can have on every facet of our world. For over 60 years, the Museum's award-winning educational programs, family-focused exhibits, historic planetarium, and rehabilitative Wildlife Center and Clinic have enriched locals and tourists alike. In 2015, the legacy continues, when we move to a new world-class, state-of-the-art facility in the heart of downtown Miami. The Museum will remain operational at its current location on South Miami Avenue until completion of the new building. Frost Museum of Science is accredited by the American Association of Museums and is an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution. The museum is located at 3280 South Miami Avenue, Miami, FL 33129. The Museum is open every day from 10:00 am until 6:00 pm. Admission is free for children under 3; 10.95 for students (with valid ID), seniors (62+) and children 3 - 12; 14.95 for adults. Parking is free. The Museum is funded with the support of the Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs and the Cultural Affairs Council, the Miami-Dade County Mayor and Board of County Commissioners.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Small but pretty good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It is obviously an older physical location, and it shows. But it also shows it's relevance as many of the exhibits are great. Nano, the physics area...the games....the energy tracker, and the animal areas. The BEST part was the gentleman who explained the things that can be found on the seashore.....the shells, animals. He was great!

As a sidebar....as a transportation/logistics career guy, I LOVED the Pan Am globe in the entryway. So awesome!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    35
    24
    20
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“More exciting things going in your own backyard. Take a pillow for the planetarium because the seats are mighty uncomfortable lo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I remember going to this place when I was about 10 years old and let me tell you nothing has changed. My family and I didn't have to pay because we went on a day that BOA debit card owners go in free, so at least that wasn't a waste of money, rather a waste of time. The only thing we enjoyed was experience of petting star fish in a small out door area. Nothing has changed with the this place same old planetarium, and boring science shows.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must for kids of all ages!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Miami Museum of science’s staff was so extremely kind and helpful. This Museum is a member of the Bank of America “Museum on us”; which means, with your bank card and an ID you get free admission on the first weekend of every month. Please visit www.miamisci.org for a list of future events.
There was ample parking and a little picnic area with big trees. Sitting in the picnic area is under the path where Miami International Airport aircraft make their approach, which is a trill for the kids.
This is not a large museum, but it has its own observatory, its own small aviary, a small terrarium and a small aquarium complete with its own touch tank. The museum showcases the local flora and fauna.
The main museum exhibits were kids friendly and hands on. There was a lot of hurricane awareness, including photographs detailing the before and aftermath of hurricane Andrew. There was a mini-wind tunnel, which the kids could not get enough of.
As you traverse towards the back of the exhibits, you will find the aviary. However, I was not impressed by the idea of lashing the birds to their perch. All three of the birds that were lashed to the perch were birds of prey; so they were not calm and were aggravated trying to get the other bird that was not within reach. In the middle of the open area where the birds were perched was a glorious American bald eagle.
The terrarium area was small, but is showcases the local reptiles and amphibians of the Florida Everglades.
Now, for the crème de la crème, I highly recommend a visit to the museum’s ABRAMS Planetarium. The show was very educational, as the guide was an up and coming astronomy student with good knowledge of the constellations. One down point is the fact that the public may be a little loud during the planetarium session and may distract you from the interesting show. However, you should know that the famous TV Series “Star Gazers” had its origins at this museum and the TV Series still air today on your local PBS station, where you may download a weekly episode via streaming video or Podcast at www.jackstargazer.com . If you are an amateur stargazer, I highly recommend you call the Planetarium Cosmic Hotline at 305-646-4420. There is a free star show first Friday of month at 19:00 Hrs. (7:00 PM) followed by free telescopic viewing 20:30 to 22:00 Hrs. (8:30 – 10:00 PM), weather permitting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva Island, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“This is the Future”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Miami Science Museum is a cute small museum with many interactive pieces. There isn't that boring walking around reading of placards that seems to commonly be the main idea of most other museums. It is very interactive for children, adults, and you can still read a little along the way. There is a marine exhibit with corals and fish as well as a wildlife area in the back. Definitely worth going to. Also, in 2015 the new museum is going to be outstanding. I can't wait for that. But you should visit this historic gem of Miami before they move!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Glad we didn't pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Ok, the facility isn't new. But more important it isn't exciting either. The films of Hurricane Andrew's devastation are good, but we really don't learn too much about hurricanes in general. Same with the nano particle exhibit. I left really confused. The exhibit with the fish tanks and growing corals are the best part. Hopefully the new museum will be better planned and executed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science to your Saves list