We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science
3280 S. Miami Ave., Miami, FL 33129
+1 305-646-4200
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #44 of 122 attractions in Miami
Type: Science Museums, Observatories/ Planetariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Frost Museum of Science aims to make a difference in people's lives by inspiring them to appreciate the impact that science and technology can have on every facet of our world. For over 60 years, the Museum's award-winning educational programs, family-focused exhibits, historic planetarium, and rehabilitative Wildlife Center and Clinic have enriched locals and tourists alike. In 2015, the legacy continues, when we move to a new world-class, state-of-the-art facility in the heart of downtown Miami. The Museum will remain operational at its current location on South Miami Avenue until completion of the new building. Frost Museum of Science is accredited by the American Association of Museums and is an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution. The museum is located at 3280 South Miami Avenue, Miami, FL 33129. The Museum is open every day from 10:00 am until 6:00 pm. Admission is free for children under 3; 10.95 for students (with valid ID), seniors (62+) and children 3 - 12; 14.95 for adults. Parking is free. The Museum is funded with the support of the Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs and the Cultural Affairs Council, the Miami-Dade County Mayor and Board of County Commissioners.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We visited this museum and we really like it. It have interactive stations so is more interesting. Plus we like the fact that they rehabilitate animals.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScienceMuseumGuy, Public Relations Manager at Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for coming! We've added a few new exhibits that include Nano: The Exhibit and a relaunching of our Sea Lab with beautiful fish of the Pacific. We also have really fun and educational events almost every weekend, check out our calendar at miamisci.org.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    34
    24
    20
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The problem is you go once and you've seen it all. Very few things change. The best attraction they had was the Titanic display. If you have never been go once but no need to go again. The place is small.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Big City, Small Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I recently took two of our children to the Miami Science Museum. Despite the fact that we live in South Florida, we actually have annual passes to the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia as we travel there at least once a year. I had never taken the kids to the Miami Science Museum, but we have been to children's museums and science centers and museums in many other states. I was hopeful that this local museum would live up to our expectations. Sadly, it did not.

We did enjoy some of the exhibits and the kids did like the out door animal area. Frankly, I have to say that for such a large metropolitan area, this museum was on the small side. In addition to the small size, it seemed a bit tired and outdated. The small size should not limit the potential of the museum, we have been to many fabulous small science centers in much less populated areas and they really surpass this museum.

It is also worth noting that there appeared to be a picnic area but i did not see any snacks or drinks available for sale. They did have a small cart at the entrance to purchase a few small items but nothing to very exciting.

Since my passes to The Franklin Institute have reciprocity and we did not have to pay out of pocket to visit, it was a nice way to spend a couple of hours. I am glad I did not have to pay the entrance fee. The area where the museum is located is beautiful and there is potential for this small place, but there was little in the way of new or different at this museum.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rainy/Any day learning and fun for children. Great way to stimulate kids and keep them entertained.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

I took my nephew there today because he is 7 years old and was bored at home. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the friendly staff. We went through the stars presentation in the Planetarium. My nephew memorized the Scorpion, Sagittarius and North Star in the constellation after just 30 minutes. After, we went to the Sea Life exhibit where he got to hold a starfish and sea urchin. Honestly i think he was fascinated to know that "Nemo" and "Dori" ( from the movie) had so many "relatives." they have a reptile exhibit that featured a stuffed grizzly bear, several snakes (cobras, pythons, etc) enough to stimulate a youngster for a couple of hours. There was a room dedicated to exercise and energy that i was especially interested in. He got to look at an electric globe, play on a solar powered race car and ride a bike that produced enough energy to power a light bulb. It is truly an educational experience. I had never been to the Science Museum but i recommend people of all ages to spend a few hours there. Dont forget to visit the animal rescue clinic where kids can see how veterinarians nurse sick animals back to health. (Side note: from Memorial Day to Labor Day they have a great deal fir military personnel on active duty).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutler Bay, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to take children.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

It is a very interesting place, with some hands on things to do, my grandkids loved it. loved it

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science to your Saves list