We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but ..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4101 Northwest 11th Street, Miami, FL 33126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #33 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
La Paz, Bolivia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel but ..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I booked a 1 night stay for me my wife and 1 year daughter, through booking.com my flight was next day at 11 pm so i asked for a late check out.

Sadly they couldn't help me with this because they don't have late check out rates or day use rates in their system.

Check out time was at 1 pm next day, so i decided to pay an extra night so we could leave the hotel at 7 Pm in order to use the facilities for 6 more hours. (you know with a baby you just can't stay at the airport for so long)

When i talked to the staff they told me that parking will not be charged as an amenity, just because i booked for an extra night.

Not only i had to pay an extra night for the day use, the hotel even charged me the parking space for 2 days !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia F, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear guest I am very sorry that we fail to catch this one before you saw it on your card. I can assure you this was an error, as we try to work with our guests as much as possible. Please contact me directly and I will make sure to make it right for you.
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    220
    64
    13
    16
See reviews for
182
133
31
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. It started by great shuttle service to the hotel and very friendly staff. The room was very modern and contemporary just the way we like it. Restaurants were in walking distance and some night life. Good breakfast ,fast internet and great coffee. the only thing not to good was the pool. A little on the small side. Would've given it five stars if it had a bigger pool. Definitely would stay there again. Loved it!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia F, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami. Everything we do is aimed to provide our guests an unforgettable experience and exceed your expectations. Thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayman Islands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is one of the most conviently located airport hotels. They offer everything from free airport shuttles to free breakfast, rooms are clean , linens are very fresh and clean always. The staff goes way and beyond to accommodate guest, always cheerful and smiling, with a welcoming Hi Mrs.....happy to see. You.....I rate it better than I rate some of the others marriott brands .because of my membership I enjoy suites, which are nicely located to the front of the property and are very spacious. If you drive it is close enough to everywhere.

Room Tip: I like higher floor, but elevator is sow so keep that in mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia F, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks from the staff at Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami. We do appreciate it very much, that our work didn’t go unnoticed. Most of it because you felt our goal of building relationships, and not just providing service. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
379 helpful votes 379 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I am giving the hotel the benefit of the doubt here, but I will probably not use it again, mostly because of a teenage group tour that raised Hell until about 4 a.m.

The hotel has good proximity to the airport, but is in a less than ideal location. For some reason, it is elevated above the road level and there are sharp angles in the entry drive that may cause entering cars to hit bottom. The parking garage is below and also has steep inclines in the entry ramps.

On departure, I discussed the noise problem with the manager and she apologized, saying that they were not comfortable with taking in three bus loads of high school kids bound for Disney, but had taken a chance.

Breakfast was acceptable with good variety and attendants.

Given the options in the area, it might be worth another try sometime in the future.

Room Tip: If shopping for overnight hotels in MIA area, it pays to do some careful checking on distance from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia F, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Again, I apologize for any inconvenience this group might have caused, as they got a little carried away after hours. This by no means reflects the way we provide customer service and we would definitely will love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our flight got in at 3am and we were really tired. Hopped a taxi to the hotel (the shuttle stops at 1:30am).

The reception guy was very nice, clean rooms, free breakfast, they gave us a late checkout until 2pm, recommended a great Cuban restaurant and stored our luggage.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia F, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

After a long day of traveling with my wife and two boys we arrived at the hotel to overnight and catch a flight again in the morning. When we arrived we were told that our reservation, that I had booked two months earlier through booking.com, was not in there system. They blamed booking.com, and booking blamed the hotel. The hotel offered to send us to the Quality Inn Miami Airport and pay for the room.

After a long wait, a very bad attitude by the man behind the desk, and a long taxi ride, we arrived at the Quality Inn and was given a room and told that it was paid for. The room had a broken entry door handle and stunk so bad that we asked for another room. The only room left wasn't much better, with a strange smell and a spring poking through one of the mattresses, but by this time it is midnight and we have an early flight to catch so we just took it.

When we arrive home two weeks later we find out on our credit card, that we gave the Quality Inn for incidental charges, that they charges us 123 dollars for that horrible room. Neither booking.com, Fairfield inn, or the Quality inn would do anything about the charge, even though we were told that it was taken care of. Needless to say I will never use any three of the companies again.

Room Tip: Never use Booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia F, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear guest, I am sorry for any inconvenience you experience at the hotel you stayed at while in Miami. I understand that the Guest Service agent suggested another hotel that had rooms available on the night you got in to Miami, and unfortunately your stay was not what we would have liked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had hoped for fast and convenient shuttle pick up for my one night stay considering this is an airport property. I would have booked this last minute stay with the Marriott next door had it been available. Knowing what I know now, I'd have jumped on the Marriott shuttle since I was traveling with only a backpack and I'd have walked across the street to get here. The Marriott (also for Residence Inn and Airport Courtyard) shuttle passed by 3 times during the time I waited for the Fairfield Inn shuttle.

After 15 minutes of waiting I gave the Fairfield Inn a call. They said the shuttle passes by every 30 minutes or on demand when called so they'd send it now. Another 20 minutes went by and I called again. During the remaining 10 minute wait I decided to use my phone to see if the Marriott might be available for a last minute booking since I had until 6pm to cancel the Fairfield Inn. It was not available but there was a sudden price savings available on the Fairfield Inn. I booked it for $10 less and canceled my existing reservation. So thanks FI, my 45 minute shuttle wait saved me $10. :)

I finally arrived to the hotel (I could have gotten there sooner had I walked) and they had my updated reservation on record. I had a simple king sized room on the 5th floor with a view of the airport. It was to my liking. The room was clean although it had that deodorized smell. I liked the pantene shampoo and conditioner. The mini fridge sits right there out in the open which isn't attractive but it's a nice convenience for the leftover excellent food from Latin Cafe 2000 which is barely 2 short blocks away. You might prefer your leftovers for breakfast if the included breakfast isn't to your liking.

There was a decent selection of food for breakfast but most wasn't up to my standards. The "scrambled" eggs are the kind that are cooked to a solid from an egg product and then chopped up into pieces, not exactly scrambled. There was no plain oatmeal out, just sugar sweetened flavored oatmeal in individual packs. I probably could have asked for unflavored, but I didn't. There was also no light yogurt out, just the high sugar yogurt in the mini fridge. I do like full fat milk or half and half with my coffee. Again, this was just skim or low fat milk in the fridge or the individual non-dairy creamers. There were plenty of pastry type items, donuts, muffins, waffles. I eat mainly no sugar, no flour, but have no desire to do low fat eating so I just made do with what was there and ate the cut up fresh oranges, grapefruit and pineapple which I did like along with a sugary yogurt. I used the lowfat milk in my coffee.

This no frills hotel was quiet with a comfortable bed and clean bathroom so it served it's primary purpose for me which was a good night's sleep. The room was attractive and like new. The AC blew very cold as I like but no matter whether the fan was set to high, low, or auto, the fan cut off and on with the compressor. The room carpeting was fine but the hall had some spotty staining. It seemed clean otherwise. The swimming pool is out of service at this time, which I did not know, but had no plans to use it anyway.

The free wifi didn't seem to work after I connected with my phone so I shut off wifi and used the cellular network instead. That's fine for me with my local AT&T plan but for a tourist out of the country it could be a draw back.

If I had need to stay in the area again, I'd likely go back to the Courtyard by Marriott in Coral Gables just south about 2 miles on LeJeune Road or try the Marriott next door if it were available since I know their shuttle is on a 15 minute schedule. If I needed a quick room for the night close by the airport and this was all I could get, I wouldn't hesitate to take a cab over for the clean bed and bathroom. There really is nothing wrong with the place. It's just an average, value oriented Marriott branded property which we all know before we book it. It simply needs shuttle improvement considering the airport location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia F, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest. I appreciate you taking the time to write all your comments and I will definitely have a meeting with our drivers to share your comments, which comes as a surprise to me, because as how you mentioned we are only 8 min away from the airport. Also surprising, that you didn’t find any of the fat free options that we had included in our breakfast menu, from the sugar free maple syrup, plain oatmeal, yogurt and Milk. Also have many options in our market, as we like to please our guests that prefer that option of food. Regarding the WIFI I regret you didn’t ask for help at any guest service agent as our HIFI is one of the fastest and never have issues with it. But is you are ever back it will be a pleasure to help with the set up in your phone. Again, thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South

Address: 4101 Northwest 11th Street, Miami, FL 33126
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miami International Airport is a 5-minute drive from this hotel, which has a free airport shuttle service, a fitness center, and full breakfast. Free Wi-Fi, a 32-inch flat-screen cable TV with HBO movie channels, and a desk are featured in each room at Fairfield Inn and Suites Miami Airport South. Guests will be 7 miles from the cruise ships at Port of Miami. Dolphin Mall is a 15-minute drive from the hotel, and a transportation service is available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South Hotel Miami
Fairfield Inn And Suites Miami Airport South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Miami Airport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.