We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Miami to your Saves list
Viceroy Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 Brickell Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book in Advance to Save
Ranked #16 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

As one might expect from an high end downtown hotel, this one had it all and more than we could take advantage of in our long weekend. They are supposed to have a terrific spa and health club, which we did not have time to experience. Service was friendly and helpful, rooms were spotless and very well appointed. The bed and bedding was comfortable as well, and it was nice to have the sofa in the junior suite which it turned out was not too much more in price than their standard room. There are three pools on the 15th floor and a great view over Biscayne Bay. One pool is great for lap swimming since it is probably 150 feet long. You really could not go wrong staying here. The Club 50 on the top floor, with inside bar, outside bar, and rooftop pool is very nice as well.

My only negative comments are that the lobby seemed small, and you would not feel comfortable sitting in it for any length of time. I also forget that a downtown hotel will charge you for parking. The daily rate was $30. Factor that into your budget. The hotel information said they have a courtesy car where they will take you anywhere within a 2 mile radius which would include the Bayside shopping and entertainment area and the American Airlines Arena for basketball, etc. We did not use it. However, for the cost of parking, it may be worth taking cabs to/from the airport and South Beach, and the courtesy vehicle to/from Bayside.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGateau, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, November 6, 2009
Thank you for your feedback on the Viceroy MIami and the Spa. We look forward to your return in the very near future.

Best Regards,

Florent Gateau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    258
    109
    48
    40
See reviews for
114
394
67
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

If you're on a trip with your other, then this is the best hotel to stay at. No privacy, if you know what I mean.. the biggest Jacuzzi, I think in the country and the longest pool in the country. There's also a very private, adults only pool on the 50th floor. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGateau, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, November 6, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Viceroy Miami. The Spa awaits your return.

Best Regards,

Florent Gateau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I stayed in a one bedroom suite and loved the room..wish it was my apt...loved the marble and granite but some of the "asian oriental designs" were a little tacky and there were too many lamps everywhere..i felt as if wherever id walk i might make one fall over. It was super clean...felt as if no one had ever stayed in that room.
the bed was sooo comfortable and the bathroom was huge! you can literally fit like 50 people in there lol.

room service staff was very nice but i requested a toothbrush and they took 1/2 hour to bring it ..i had to call twice. i did have alot of questions and the staff did help me and answer all of them very professionally and nicely.

You could hear the cars and outside noises from the vents inside the bathroom but that didnt bother me because you can just close the door and you couldnt hear anything.

The pool was amazing...that view by the end of the pool is just out of control! Cafe Icon had okay prices and the staff was friendly. Bad part of the pool was that the water was tooo cold (and its still 90 degrees in Miami in October) no one was swimming in it!! its like if it was there for decoration..and the tile was slippery (potential law suit)... We did see JLo and Marc Anthony walk by us, that was cool...

Parking sucksss here. There is no where to park unless you park in a meter like 3 blocks away and have to worry about not getting 3 tickets or your car towed. Other than that you have to pay a ridiculous $30 a night to valet.

Overall the stay was good and i re

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGateau, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, November 6, 2009
Thank you for your feedback. We will look into the pool temperature. We look forwad to your return.

Best Regards,

Florent Gateau
General Manager
Viceroy Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

The decoration of this hotel is nothing I would want in my home, but kind of fun for "getting away". The staff was very helpful regarding my strange travel schedule. The spa and pool were just beautiful. My room was not large, but unlike another reviewer, was not open to the bathroom. I wouldn't really call a laptop in the small lobby a "business center", but expect most travelers bring their own - and business doesn't appear to be their market. I will definitely make every effort to visit this hotel again.

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGateau, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, November 6, 2009
Thank you for your feedback. We are working on our business center options here at Viceory Miami. We look forward to your return.

Best Regards,

Florent Gateau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We got the Viceroy on Hotwire (4 1/2 stars) for an incredible $69 / night. It is a wonderful hotel. Someone has spent (and is losing) a LOT of money on this enormous multi-tower hotel and condo development. That said, their loss is our gain.

Rooms are very comfortable, beautifully appointed and very high quality. We ate in the 15th floor rooftop sandwich shop (Cafe Icon) - food was tasty. The 3 - 15th floor roof top infinity pools are amazing (I wish I'd brought my swimsuit). Service was nice. The 50th floor club (Club 50) has unbelievable views of the bay and a pool (expensive drinks, but worth it because of the view).

Trendy, sophisticated, somewhat Asian decor. Good service. All in all, one of the nicer hotels I've every stayed in, and certainly the best every for what we paid on Hotwire... enthusiastically recommended.


In season (and in a good economy), I expect this is a $450-$500/night hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGateau, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, November 6, 2009
Thank you for your comments. We look forward to your return in the near future.

Best Regards,

Florent Gateau
General Manager
Viceroy Miami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Just spent 4 nights at the Viceroy. Although I'd read good reviews, having stayed at its LA sister I was expecting style over substance. I'm glad to say I was proved wrong. I was here for a business conference, and they hosted us really well. Very attentive staff, and the setting was efficient while not being corporate. The whole place has a wow about it, and I don't know how other visitors can criticize the decor. It is certainly quite eclectic - a fusion of Asian inflences - but it is a refreshing change from the yawn understated minimalism of so many modern 'design' hotels. All put together with a good eye and with quality pieces. The rooms feel luxuriously appointed, very comfy beds, and even the standard ones come with a very clever hidden little kitchenette (though who would stay at this type of hotel, I don't know). Lovely bath with large separate shower. It's partly open to the bedroom - which I really like. (But if you're sharing you'll need to remember to shut the door to the loo!) The suites are - of course - even nicer.
There's a fabulous bar on the 50th floor. Amazing views. It comes with its own pool and has indoor and outdoor space. It is expensive, but I don't think it's out of line with other similar type places. The bar staff were friendly and knowledgeable, and had time to recommend other lesser-known spirits. The bar shut early - at midnight - and there was no effort to warn us it was closing which was a little irritating.
The restaurant on the 15th floor, Eos, was again beautifully appointed. The staff seemed a little all over the place, though very friendly. No maitre d' meant that it took ages to get seated, with the girl at the bar taking over so that we didn't have to stay standing. The food is expensive for what it is - and is guilty of trying too hard to be different. Lots of strange combos that probably shouldn't have made it past the experiment.
The real 'wow' is the pool deck, on the 15th floor. It is very large - it would have to be seriously busy to feel crowded. The view is broken up by lots of low trees, so it feels fairly private despite sitting between 3 towering apartment blocks. The pools (there are 3) are amazing. 1st a large square paddling pool - I guess for kids or for people who just want to cool down on a hot day. 2nd a large square heated pool, not deep but swimmable. And then finally a very big and long infinity pool - it looks like you could swim off the side of the building. In fact when you get down that end you see that there is actually another lower deck where you can sit on day beds and stare out at Brickell Quay. Quite incredible.
And then the Spa - another wow space. It has what it calls a wet lounge - seats and sofas dotted around a white marble room with a shallow water floor, and then places with deeper hot and cold jacuzzis. My description doesn't do it justice. The prices were pretty eye-watering however, so I'm afraid I can't comment on the quality of the treatments. A well equipped gym also.
It's in the business district so it may not be the spot for a weekend in Miami when people tend to want South Beach. But for a business trip combining pleasure I'd say it would be perfect. From the pool deck you can see the Mandarin Oriental sitting on Brickell Quay. I've stayed there many times, and it's very good also, but the Viceroy blows it out of the water.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FGateau, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, November 6, 2009
Thank you for your feedback. Looking forwad to having you once more in the very near future.

Best regards,

Florent Gateau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

This hotel was beautiful. Modern and contemporary. The rooms were well appointed, nice balconies, a kitchenette with mini bar. Everything was dark wood, tile, marble and glass. Beds were comfortable. The disappearing edge pool on the 15th floor was fantastic, extremely long pool. Incredible views from the dozens and dozens of canopy lounge beds and lounge chairs that were all over the outdoor area around the pool. There was also a very large, pool size jacuzzi and a similar size shallow pool.

Another smaller but beautiful disappearing edge pool was on the 50th floor, rooftop. There is a bar there and plenty of room to sit and enjoy the views of Miami beach in the distance (about 10-15 minutes away by car).

Next to the pool on the 15th floor was a Cafe that serves light fare all day, coffee, etc... My only concern there was that the Cafe tried to be so modern and contemporary that it's usefulness as a place to just sit with a book or a laptop were overlooked. There are no outlets, not very many tables and chairs even though there is lots of space for them. The food was excellent, as was the coffee and the service. The manager was exceptionally friendly. We definitely enjoyed it.

We went to the club in the hotel, Club 50, on the 50th floor on Saturday night and it was a great hot spot. Smart dress code, trendy...incredible city lights and ocean views at night.

Within walking distance is a downtown outdoor shopping village area with bars, restaurants and stores.

Most of the bars and restaurants we went to in and around Miami include the gratuity in the total, so watch for it on the check. If they don't give you a check, just a verbal total, ASK if the gratuity is included...otherwise you are doubling your tip. When I asked, it was...I was glad I asked.

From this hotel we drove to Key West for the day and came back that night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Miami

Address: 485 Brickell Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#9 Green Hotel in Miami
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#18 Business Hotel in Miami
#25 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Miami blends timeless East Asian accents, international service standards and Miami's own rich ambience to create an unparalleled resort destination in Brickell, Miami's Wall Street of the Americas.Created for discerning globetrotters,this luxury resort in Miami offers 148 residentially appointed guestrooms, suites and one- and two-bedroom residences (which include fully equipped kitchenettes or full kitchens), custom-designed Sferra linens and more non-negotiable indulgences for a truly exceptional Miami resort experience.From cocktails and small plates served poolside on the 50th floor, to the chef's tasting menu at the signature restaurant and terrace overlooking the pool deck, to round-the-clock guestroom dining, Viceroy Miami satisfies every culinary craving.Located at the northern gateway to Brickell Avenue, Viceroy Miami is ideally situated to cater to the business elite. This Miami boutique hotel is also centrally located near the city's many distinctive neighborhoods, cultural institutions, sporting venues and area attractions.Within Icon Brickell, the hotel stands steps from the 28,000-square-foot spa and fitness center, 300-foot infinity pool on Biscayne Bay, poolside bar and fireplace, and life-size chess set. Perched atop the 50th floor of Viceroy Miami, FIFTY Ultra Lounge offers the city's most exclusive lounge, while the private pool deck with bar offers dramatic skyline views unequalled in Miami.At Viceroy Miami, set the stage bayside and park-side for a business meeting, press event, photo shoot, sales presentation, conference or product launch. Versatile function spaces — ranging from traditional meeting rooms to the signature restaurant, rooftop lounge, and The Viceroy Spa Miami—make Viceroy Miami an ideal location for any gathering or meeting.The hotel also offers comprehensive catering services for every event from weddings to bar mitzvahs - including innovative culinary concepts and event planners that can assist you with all your event needs from décor, design, audio/visual or media. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Miami Hotel Miami
Viceroy Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.