We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best nye experience ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Viceroy Miami to your Saves list
Viceroy Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 Brickell Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast Bliss
Ranked #24 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best nye experience ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing time on New Year's Eve at the club fifty in the viceroy hotel. Amazing views of the city for fireworks while the ball dropped for 2014. Great service from the staff, especially the head of nightlife and entertainment directer Darren Geltch took special care of my party and myself making us feel like the most important people in the club. Thank u for everything and I'll definitely will be returning and sending future business your way. If your ever in the area I suggest u check out this amazing location In the heart of miami.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Alexthegreat954,

Looks like you chose the best venue to ring in the New Year! Fifty is known for its magnificent views. I can just imagine how breathtaking those fireworks were as the clock struck midnight!

I’m pleased to hear of the impeccable service that you received by our entire nightlife staff, and especially the personal touch from Darren. I’m sure his detailed attention helped to make your night even more special.

If you’re ever downtown and need a quick bite to eat, I suggest you try our new restaurant 15th and Vine. You will be sure to leave very satisfied!

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation.

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    233
    99
    43
    38
See reviews for
106
367
62
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A good hotel in many ways just lacking attention to detail. A great refurbished room, modern and trendy. House keeping just lacked attention to detail....no glasses on day 2, robes removed for cleaning and not replaced. The glass issue was resolved when i complained at reception however the robes simply were forgotten and after asking for a second time just lost energy. For a hotel of this standard this just isn't acceptable.

The bar and service was good and in particular on the last night we were served by a lovely lady from Bali, she really was excellent perhaps her personality and can do attitude could be trained into the rest of the team.

Location was pretty good, around 5 minutes walk to the beach, with some great restaurants and bars within 10 min walk.....

All in all a good hotel but i won't be rushing back.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better, avoid low floors over the pool area as music can be loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear DazRoss,

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us. One of my favorite things about being located in Brickell is that you can enjoy all the fun in the sun without the madness of south beach. In a short period of time, Brickell has boomed into one of South Florida’s most popular destinations paired with some of Miami’s most famous restaurants and bars.

I will have to research a little deeper and find out who this lovely colleague of ours and tell her the wonderful words you had to say about her. She’ll just be thrilled!

I’m certainly disappointment with the frustration that you experience while on your stay with us. I have researched your comments and addressed the issue with my team.

I really hope to see you again and in the future and let me take this time to wish you a very happy and prosperous new year!

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had heard so much good about the hotel previously, but, must say we were truly disappointed. The front desk staff was not very welcoming and the poor service started there and continued, until we checked out early after one night.

Our suite smelled of smoke and this is supposed to be a non smoking hotel. The carpet was worn, but, the room was large and roomy. We were awaken at 2am by a loud party in the suite next to us. We called the front desk numerous times to break up the party, they did go three times, but, the party continued and kept getting louder. Finally at 4am they did call the police and break up the party.

We asked for the front desk manager in the morning, he was cold, unapologetic, and rude. We told him that we did not sleep at all and that they should do something for us. He offered us a $100 credit for a $350.00 room. Ridiculous for a room we were unable to sleep in.

The one bright point was the spa, it was truly outstanding with great classes and yoga.

There are so many great hotels in Miami, don't waste your time with a property that makes you feel unwelcome, and provides no customer service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Jleibo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our guests as we strive to extend the best hospitality and service. We do not allow for smoking in our rooms and do try to stop anyone from doing so if brought to our attention.

If you ever come back to Viceroy Miami I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly and discuss the above matters. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best in this New Year.

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel has attractive furnishings/decor/lobby, but that's where the "luxury" stops. The bed was EXTREMELY squeaky with every change of position. There was no hot water in the shower. We called and complained, they said they would send an engineer, but it was never fixed. Not one hot shower in 4 days. Also, unlike the good luxury hotel chains, they charge for wifi for more than one device. Lastly, the hotel has a very small lobby, and there's no other public space to hang out, read, work online, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night. The hotel looks like Lady Gaga furnished it at times. Room was amazing. But the pool was unbelievable. Staff was friendly and helpful. You can't really grasp how big this rooftop pool is until you actually see it. Take the what feels like quarter mile walk to the end of the pool and get your camera out. Great 180 views of brickel key and all surrounding views. Jacuzzi big enough to do laps. If you take one thing from this review it should be go to the pool deck.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear GiftedWhenLifted,

Our creative designers, Phillipe Starck and Kelly Wearstler did an amazing job when they came together to create the unique décor at Viceroy Miami.

With the longest infinity pool in Florida, most of our guests have become quite impressed with the “jaw dropping views” from the 15th floor pool deck. I’m glad that you got to thoroughly enjoy!
A little tip for your next stay – take a walk to our exquisite Spa! You will not be disappointed!

We look forward to providing you with superb service again soon.

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Excellent hotel.
Pros
-Great service/knowledgeable employees
-Clean and updated rooms
-Great value
-Wonderful pool area, very large, great view of the city and the water
Cons
-Bellman insisted on bringing the bags to our room. Bell staff should be available and ask, yet give the guest the choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Josh5411,

Thank you for your quick review on your recent stay with us. We're glad you had quite a few good things to say about the hotel and truly appreciate it!

I do hope that we will be your new home away from home!

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to love this hotel because we come to miami offen and haven not found the perfect family hotel. We have stayed at the viceroy in angullia so perhaps my standards we high to start. It's a beautiful hotel with amazing views and a stunning pool ( worlds largest in FL .... Good for kids right?..... Well not exactly bc there it's covered with a slippery stone that almost every guest slips or slides on despite the blue mats)
My main complaint with the hotel is service. You arrive at the pool and check in for a wrist band and no one offer to set up your pool chairs or bring you towels. You'll spend 30min to an hours getting someone to set up your chairs ( you can't do it your self or I wouldn't complain ). The restaurant service is super slow - the food is good but by the time time you wait an hour for breakfast your so annoyed that the quality is not remembered. But my memories of waiting 35 min for coffee and 1 hour for orange juice ( after asking 4 time including the manager and he forgot too). Menu could be larger for lunch and some children options would be appreciated. At one point I was so frustrated by the breakfast service I asked for my room rate reversed and is rather walk to a local diner.
( breakfast the next morning was better but I ordered at the hostess stand and ordered no hot food). Generally stuck to pastry baskets , Greek yogurt and fruit plates for breakfast to help make the service better.

We are generally the family hotels love to have- 200+ for breakfast , 10 dollar smoothies for the kids and expensive lunches and drinks by the pool ( hey it's vacation!) but NOPE- not here bc they can't sever corn flakes and milk quickly so I'd rather shower my kids and walk to capital grill , lippi or trulucks for lunch or dinner.

I am use to Caribbean " time" so my standards are not high but this was beyond torture with 3 hungry kids.

Great for a night but not 5 nights with a family.

Front desk was friendly....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello Michelle G,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.

I apologize for the lapses in service you encountered at the pool and restaurant and assure you this is not typical of a stay at Viceroy Miami. As you noted, an hour wait for an orange juice is much too long to wait for service and I will address this with my team and ensure that our team is properly trained to provide the five-star service we pride ourselves on.

We hope that you will allow us another chance and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Viceroy Miami in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Miami

Address: 485 Brickell Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#11 Green Hotel in Miami
#19 Family Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Miami blends timeless East Asian accents, international service standards and Miami's own rich ambience to create an unparalleled resort destination in Brickell, Miami's Wall Street of the Americas.Created for discerning globetrotters,this luxury resort in Miami offers 148 residentially appointed guestrooms, suites and one- and two-bedroom residences (which include fully equipped kitchenettes or full kitchens), custom-designed Sferra linens and more non-negotiable indulgences for a truly exceptional Miami resort experience.From cocktails and small plates served poolside on the 50th floor, to the chef's tasting menu at the signature restaurant and terrace overlooking the pool deck, to round-the-clock guestroom dining, Viceroy Miami satisfies every culinary craving.Located at the northern gateway to Brickell Avenue, Viceroy Miami is ideally situated to cater to the business elite. This Miami boutique hotel is also centrally located near the city's many distinctive neighborhoods, cultural institutions, sporting venues and area attractions.Within Icon Brickell, the hotel stands steps from the 28,000-square-foot spa and fitness center, 300-foot infinity pool on Biscayne Bay, poolside bar and fireplace, and life-size chess set. Perched atop the 50th floor of Viceroy Miami, FIFTY Ultra Lounge offers the city's most exclusive lounge, while the private pool deck with bar offers dramatic skyline views unequalled in Miami.At Viceroy Miami, set the stage bayside and park-side for a business meeting, press event, photo shoot, sales presentation, conference or product launch. Versatile function spaces — ranging from traditional meeting rooms to the signature restaurant, rooftop lounge, and The Viceroy Spa Miami—make Viceroy Miami an ideal location for any gathering or meeting.The hotel also offers comprehensive catering services for every event from weddings to bar mitzvahs - including innovative culinary concepts and event planners that can assist you with all your event needs from décor, design, audio/visual or media. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Miami Hotel Miami
Viceroy Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.