We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Viceroy Miami to your Saves list
Viceroy Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 Brickell Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Mojitos & More, From $279
Ranked #18 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had heard so much good about the hotel previously, but, must say we were truly disappointed. The front desk staff was not very welcoming and the poor service started there and continued, until we checked out early after one night.

Our suite smelled of smoke and this is supposed to be a non smoking hotel. The carpet was worn, but, the room was large and roomy. We were awaken at 2am by a loud party in the suite next to us. We called the front desk numerous times to break up the party, they did go three times, but, the party continued and kept getting louder. Finally at 4am they did call the police and break up the party.

We asked for the front desk manager in the morning, he was cold, unapologetic, and rude. We told him that we did not sleep at all and that they should do something for us. He offered us a $100 credit for a $350.00 room. Ridiculous for a room we were unable to sleep in.

The one bright point was the spa, it was truly outstanding with great classes and yoga.

There are so many great hotels in Miami, don't waste your time with a property that makes you feel unwelcome, and provides no customer service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Jleibo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our guests as we strive to extend the best hospitality and service. We do not allow for smoking in our rooms and do try to stop anyone from doing so if brought to our attention.

If you ever come back to Viceroy Miami I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly and discuss the above matters. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best in this New Year.

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    275
    114
    50
    40
See reviews for
118
416
69
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel has attractive furnishings/decor/lobby, but that's where the "luxury" stops. The bed was EXTREMELY squeaky with every change of position. There was no hot water in the shower. We called and complained, they said they would send an engineer, but it was never fixed. Not one hot shower in 4 days. Also, unlike the good luxury hotel chains, they charge for wifi for more than one device. Lastly, the hotel has a very small lobby, and there's no other public space to hang out, read, work online, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night. The hotel looks like Lady Gaga furnished it at times. Room was amazing. But the pool was unbelievable. Staff was friendly and helpful. You can't really grasp how big this rooftop pool is until you actually see it. Take the what feels like quarter mile walk to the end of the pool and get your camera out. Great 180 views of brickel key and all surrounding views. Jacuzzi big enough to do laps. If you take one thing from this review it should be go to the pool deck.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear GiftedWhenLifted,

Our creative designers, Phillipe Starck and Kelly Wearstler did an amazing job when they came together to create the unique décor at Viceroy Miami.

With the longest infinity pool in Florida, most of our guests have become quite impressed with the “jaw dropping views” from the 15th floor pool deck. I’m glad that you got to thoroughly enjoy!
A little tip for your next stay – take a walk to our exquisite Spa! You will not be disappointed!

We look forward to providing you with superb service again soon.

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Excellent hotel.
Pros
-Great service/knowledgeable employees
-Clean and updated rooms
-Great value
-Wonderful pool area, very large, great view of the city and the water
Cons
-Bellman insisted on bringing the bags to our room. Bell staff should be available and ask, yet give the guest the choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Josh5411,

Thank you for your quick review on your recent stay with us. We're glad you had quite a few good things to say about the hotel and truly appreciate it!

I do hope that we will be your new home away from home!

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I really wanted to love this hotel because we come to miami offen and haven not found the perfect family hotel. We have stayed at the viceroy in angullia so perhaps my standards we high to start. It's a beautiful hotel with amazing views and a stunning pool ( worlds largest in FL .... Good for kids right?..... Well not exactly bc there it's covered with a slippery stone that almost every guest slips or slides on despite the blue mats)
My main complaint with the hotel is service. You arrive at the pool and check in for a wrist band and no one offer to set up your pool chairs or bring you towels. You'll spend 30min to an hours getting someone to set up your chairs ( you can't do it your self or I wouldn't complain ). The restaurant service is super slow - the food is good but by the time time you wait an hour for breakfast your so annoyed that the quality is not remembered. But my memories of waiting 35 min for coffee and 1 hour for orange juice ( after asking 4 time including the manager and he forgot too). Menu could be larger for lunch and some children options would be appreciated. At one point I was so frustrated by the breakfast service I asked for my room rate reversed and is rather walk to a local diner.
( breakfast the next morning was better but I ordered at the hostess stand and ordered no hot food). Generally stuck to pastry baskets , Greek yogurt and fruit plates for breakfast to help make the service better.

We are generally the family hotels love to have- 200+ for breakfast , 10 dollar smoothies for the kids and expensive lunches and drinks by the pool ( hey it's vacation!) but NOPE- not here bc they can't sever corn flakes and milk quickly so I'd rather shower my kids and walk to capital grill , lippi or trulucks for lunch or dinner.

I am use to Caribbean " time" so my standards are not high but this was beyond torture with 3 hungry kids.

Great for a night but not 5 nights with a family.

Front desk was friendly....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello Michelle G,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.

I apologize for the lapses in service you encountered at the pool and restaurant and assure you this is not typical of a stay at Viceroy Miami. As you noted, an hour wait for an orange juice is much too long to wait for service and I will address this with my team and ensure that our team is properly trained to provide the five-star service we pride ourselves on.

We hope that you will allow us another chance and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Viceroy Miami in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel is located right in the middle of the Brickell area of downtown Miami. There is no lobby, aside from a stand that is like a rental car place. No one really greets you, especially if you arrive late in the evening.

The rooms are nice, nothing special, but anyone should be happy with the quality.

The restaurant on the 15th floor is expensive, service is nice but food is pretty bad. After having lunch there, I skipped the floor entirely, considering the insane prices they charge.

This is a good hotel to "get in and out", meaning a couple of nights and if you have things to do in the city. To just go here to get some sun, would be the last place I would choose.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear NaumT,

For a downtown Miami Hotel, Viceroy does have quite an impressive infinity pool with lovely views. So lovely that our pool deck on the 15th floor has actually become a major tourist attraction.

Our Lobby is a bit on the smaller side, which allows our front desk team to be more personal and easily within reach of our guests.

It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us at 15th and Vine. Typically this is not the level of service we intend to portray. I will be sure to relay your comments with our F & B Manager so that he is aware of any ongoing issues.

I hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The Viceroy Hotel is perfectly located for walking around downtown or catching public transportation. Room service was quite good, and better than expected, which was a nice surprise. Breakfast and dinner were ordered - not one disappointment. Staff is friendly and helpful. Check in/out smooth. Pool area view is gorgeous. Great place to relax. I plan on returning upon my next trip to Miami.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a balcony is great for the view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally friendly hotel. Sheets/towels upon request.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear EllElls,

“Not one disappointment”- I’ll be sure to share with my team that they did an excellent job of anticipating all of your needs. We take great pride in being the most professional and caring in our industry.

Next time you visit us, I ask that you try our stunning Spa. Given that Viceroy fits your style, I know that you will enjoy seeing Philippe Starck’s wonderful designs; and this time actually enjoy being pampered.

I look forward to your return!

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Miami

Address: 485 Brickell Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#11 Green Hotel in Miami
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#20 Business Hotel in Miami
#28 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Miami blends timeless East Asian accents, international service standards and Miami's own rich ambience to create an unparalleled resort destination in Brickell, Miami's Wall Street of the Americas.Created for discerning globetrotters,this luxury resort in Miami offers 148 residentially appointed guestrooms, suites and one- and two-bedroom residences (which include fully equipped kitchenettes or full kitchens), custom-designed Sferra linens and more non-negotiable indulgences for a truly exceptional Miami resort experience.From cocktails and small plates served poolside on the 50th floor, to the chef's tasting menu at the signature restaurant and terrace overlooking the pool deck, to round-the-clock guestroom dining, Viceroy Miami satisfies every culinary craving.Located at the northern gateway to Brickell Avenue, Viceroy Miami is ideally situated to cater to the business elite. This Miami boutique hotel is also centrally located near the city's many distinctive neighborhoods, cultural institutions, sporting venues and area attractions.Within Icon Brickell, the hotel stands steps from the 28,000-square-foot spa and fitness center, 300-foot infinity pool on Biscayne Bay, poolside bar and fireplace, and life-size chess set. Perched atop the 50th floor of Viceroy Miami, FIFTY Ultra Lounge offers the city's most exclusive lounge, while the private pool deck with bar offers dramatic skyline views unequalled in Miami.At Viceroy Miami, set the stage bayside and park-side for a business meeting, press event, photo shoot, sales presentation, conference or product launch. Versatile function spaces — ranging from traditional meeting rooms to the signature restaurant, rooftop lounge, and The Viceroy Spa Miami—make Viceroy Miami an ideal location for any gathering or meeting.The hotel also offers comprehensive catering services for every event from weddings to bar mitzvahs - including innovative culinary concepts and event planners that can assist you with all your event needs from décor, design, audio/visual or media. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Amex, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Miami Hotel Miami
Viceroy Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.