We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Miami

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Viceroy Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 Brickell Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast Bliss
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Downtown Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is right downtown so if you are looking for easy access to business it s a great spot. It is not on the beach and is a few minute walk to a wide selection of restaurants.

The pool area on the 15th floor is worth a visit. Its not tropical but it is scenic. the suite had a lot of room. I wouldnt even have touched a third living space. The deck didn't actually have any furniture on it, so it also didn't get used much.

Room Tip: The hotel was very quiet overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Adrian M,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

For a downtown Miami hotel, Viceroy does have quite an impressive infinity pool with very scenic views. Our pool deck on the 15th floor has actually become a rendezvous place for many guests and residents who enjoy lounging in good company rather than on our their balcony. I hope that you were able to take advantage of that amenity.

Next time you come to Miami, do visit us again and hopefully you will be able to enjoy some new cuisine at Eos and at Cipriani.

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    229
    96
    43
    36
See reviews for
106
358
62
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had an issue with the toilet and they were unable to repair it. After a couple of days they moved us to a "Junior Suite". Their suites are facing the bay. They have a shade made out of bamboo in the bathroom. The manager told us that although you could see out no one could see in. This is not true. During the day is fine but at night you can easily see the guests in the bathroom. The room design was poorly thought out. The location of the TV set makes it difficult to see it from the bed. Not a big deal except if you like to watch TV in bed.
We had read a very bad review but decided to try it because of the reasonable price. It comes with free access to Club 50. It is an OK place but not impressive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Edgar28,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I am so disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the bay views from our Junior Suites: those rooms are usually very sought after due to their unique layout and panoramic skyline vision of Miami from every angle!

If you do come back, you may want to try to one Bedroom suite instead where you have a little more privacy but still plenty of space: less sexy and more comfy maybe.

I can understand how TV location can be improved and will definitely try the room myself so that I can understand what you are referring to in terms of practicality. I personally do enjoy watching late night TV from the comfort of my bed at home and would like to have the same option when travelling! Allow us to work on that!

Maybe we can convince you to come back and try our Fifty Ultra Lounge next time for a late night cocktail before turning in, that would be the complete Viceroy Miami experience.

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Awesome hotrl. They ha a mercedes benz chaffeur complimentary service within a 5 mile radius!! Loved the shampoo and products. Nice 4 post bed! Cool club on the 50th floor! Only problem is we arrived late on a friday night and it was hectic because of club entrance. Manager had to serve as bellman. Feltl sorry for him.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Fishmeister22,

I am so pleased to read that you loved our Mercedes program! We look forward to have them back next winter !

For your information, the Beverly Hills Brand of products that we use at all Viceroy Hotels and Resorts is called Neil George. I personally love their body lotion and conditioner!
Hopefully you can come back and get to enjoy our Fifty Ultra lounge from the inside next time: it has the best views in the entire city, 50 stories high!

See you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was in Miami for a sporting event in January and stayed at the Viceroy for three nights. The South Beach hotels were pretty much sold out, and what was available was way overpriced. The Viceroy wasn't cheap, but for a downtown hotel, it seemed to have a resort feel to it--at least from what I could tell from the pictures on the hotel's website. The hotel itself is part of a larger structure that is combination hotel/condo complex. That means valets park cars in the large garage, and depending on the time of day and the number of valets available, getting your car can involve a wait. I once waited 20 minutes for mine to appear.

The hotel takes a stab at modern Miami chic, and you either like what they've done or you don't. I didn't. The lobby was small and confined--not a real issue--but there was hardly any seating available and the furniture they did have there was way over the top,--a poorly realized attempt to be really cool. Just awful, IMO, but that's just my personal taste. The rest of the décor in the public places--hallways, elevators, etc, fared slightly better, but you do wonder how much they paid for this stuff--and that designer who got all of it in.

The room was very nice, I have to say, with a great comfortable bed and all the nice amenities. The bath was spacious and well designed, although it would have been nice to have a big tub to go with that huge walk-in shower. When it comes down to it, a well-appointed room, a big comfortable bed, a good looking and serviceable bath and HD TV with all the channels you want can dismiss any negative you find in a hotel. And it did.

There was only one restaurant operating at the time I was there. It was fairly casual and extended out to a dining terrace fronting a pool. I had two meals there--both serviceable but nothing special. In January, the outdoor experience wasn't the best, but you can imagine how much nicer it might be during warmer periods. And the pool? Again, I wasn't there at a time when I could have used it, but in the sunny days of summer, the place is designed such that you might expect a bunch of Victoria's Secret models to be hanging out poolside. Unfortunately, at the beginning of January, they weren't.

For a downtown hotel far from the beach, the Viceroy can be an expensive option. But the rooms are great, and I imagine if you looked halfway decent in a bathing suit, hanging out at the beautiful terrace pool with grand views of downtown Miami might persuade you to dish out the extra cash for your stay.

Room Tip: It's a city hotel, so most rooms won't afford much of a view. If you do have one, you'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear EvenlyOpionionated,

This review gives other travelers a very realistic image of Viceroy Miami. I am glad that you took the time to put it together.

Kelly Wearstler is the designer who created that “modern Miami chic” look that you are referring to. The guestrooms are like no other as they are both very colorful an spacious: no vanilla at Viceroy Miami!

The advantage of being part of a mixed condominium/hotel complex is that all rooms have kitchenettes which are unique features and we also get to take advantage of some outstanding amenities such as the Spa and the largest infinity pool in Florida.

Now that winter is over, we have a few new offers and packages that might be of interest to you for a return visit at very affordable pricing: since you missed the opportunity to enjoy the pool or dining on our alfresco terrace, you should come visit again soon!

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Me & my husband stayed here for 6nights for our honeymoon. We were upgraded for free from to a Jr suite. The suite was absolutely amazing with a living area, exceptionally large bath room, four poster bed, small kitchenette & balcony.

We didnt have breakfast in our package however the pool & cafe area had greasy snacks & cocktails. The pool area was very big with three pools and loads of loungers. The pool is on the rooftop & had great views of the city & river.

I would defiantly stay here again as the decor & service was more than 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Congratulations Onourtravel on your wedding and honeymoon!

We are so proud to know that you selected Viceroy Miami for this once in a lifetime trip!

We look forward to welcome you back anytime for some R&R! I also recommend some of our other Caribbean and Mexico hotels for a romantic getaway. My unofficial favorite is the Viceroy Jalousie Plantation in St. Lucia... you should consider it for the next big anniversary !

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Fantastic location. Beautiful views of the city and the waterfront. Gorgeous infinity edge pools. A reasonably efficient valet.

What's the downside? The service. While everyone is very nice, getting housekeeping, a reasonably priced breakfast, or even ice is nearly impossible. We even called and specifically requested housekeeping since our room had been neglected (both for regular housekeeping and turn-down service) for two days and they assured us that someone would be right with us - nope!

Guests are also not allowed access to the ice machine, so you have to wait for someone to bring it to you - but they never do!

The restaurant, Eos, is beautiful with gorgeous views but don't order anything unless you're comfortable with an unreasonably high bill. For fruit (1 order), toast (1 order), a side of home-style potatoes (1 order), coffee (2 orders) and juice (2 orders) - $50! Seriously. Yes, they did include gratuity in that bill, but the overall experience was quite shocking.

Not family friendly. As you might have guessed, this is not the place for a family. Particularly because they charge $35 per night for a roll-away bed and there is no bath tub (in the regular rooms) for bathing little ones.

The decor is attractive (Contemporary/East Asian Fusion styling) and the location is absolutely ideal if you need ANYTHING downtown. But the service makes you think twice before booking again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Waterhousegirl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Our operations team is very passionate about service and we all read and discussed your feedback in details during our last meeting to see where we failed to deliver. Incidentally we have been discussing the option for ice machines on certain floors which so far has not been feasible logistically: but we heard you and will continue to find options for the best solution!

You are very right about the need for more family friendly options and we have already upgraded most of our suites with full size sofa beds which works great for families travelling with little ones. We are also working on more children activities on the week end to allow parents some time for personal relaxation by the pool or at the Spa.

We hope to convince you to come back again this summer so that we may introduce you to those enhancements.

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is urban upscale, sexy, classy and very nice. Definitely had an amazing experience staying here for one night before heading off for an 8 day cruise. I didn't venture out TOO much in Miami but the location is right near a drawbridge which creates a lot of traffic. That is really the only drawback to this place.
My standard king bed room was absolutely beautiful. I couldn't stop taking pictures of it, I loved all aspects of it and loved that it had a little balcony. The bathroom is huge too! The first thing I did after arriving was head to the rooftop restaurant and have a drink and some food at the bar. It was an odd time, 4pm so I was the only person there. The bartender was great, very personable, offered up a lot of information on what to do that night outside of the hotel and recommended many restaurants and bars, great experience. Later that night my boyfriend met me at about 1am and we headed up to the club on the 50th floor. Free entry since we were hotel guests and it's a huge place upstairs with a few DJ's indoors and out, we stayed until close to 5am.

Had such a great time here, would absolutely go back! Definitely more for a younger sexy, crowd, not so much a family atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Johnnygirl777,

Thank you for your detailed experience! My marketing director would be proud of your description as you have exactly defined Viceroy Miami in your first 10 words!

We do have families that come before they embark on one of the many cruises leaving the port of Miami (Disney is a popular one!) but you discovered one of our main attraction: Fifty Ultra Lounge. No one in Miami can beat those views, 50 stories high. The skyline from up there at night is one of a kind. We also have some exceptional mixologists that can create your own cocktail if you can come in before the late night crowds.

If you have not been to the Spa, I recommend it when you get back. “sexy” is also the perfect adjective to describe our relaxation lounge and library designed by Philippe Stark. Let us know when you are coming to Miami next and I would love to recommend a Spa experience.

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viceroy Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Miami

Address: 485 Brickell Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#11 Green Hotel in Miami
#16 Business Hotel in Miami
#19 Family Hotel in Miami
#21 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Miami blends timeless East Asian accents, international service standards and Miami's own rich ambience to create an unparalleled resort destination in Brickell, Miami's Wall Street of the Americas.Created for discerning globetrotters,this luxury resort in Miami offers 148 residentially appointed guestrooms, suites and one- and two-bedroom residences (which include fully equipped kitchenettes or full kitchens), custom-designed Sferra linens and more non-negotiable indulgences for a truly exceptional Miami resort experience.From cocktails and small plates served poolside on the 50th floor, to the chef's tasting menu at the signature restaurant and terrace overlooking the pool deck, to round-the-clock guestroom dining, Viceroy Miami satisfies every culinary craving.Located at the northern gateway to Brickell Avenue, Viceroy Miami is ideally situated to cater to the business elite. This Miami boutique hotel is also centrally located near the city's many distinctive neighborhoods, cultural institutions, sporting venues and area attractions.Within Icon Brickell, the hotel stands steps from the 28,000-square-foot spa and fitness center, 300-foot infinity pool on Biscayne Bay, poolside bar and fireplace, and life-size chess set. Perched atop the 50th floor of Viceroy Miami, FIFTY Ultra Lounge offers the city's most exclusive lounge, while the private pool deck with bar offers dramatic skyline views unequalled in Miami.At Viceroy Miami, set the stage bayside and park-side for a business meeting, press event, photo shoot, sales presentation, conference or product launch. Versatile function spaces — ranging from traditional meeting rooms to the signature restaurant, rooftop lounge, and The Viceroy Spa Miami—make Viceroy Miami an ideal location for any gathering or meeting.The hotel also offers comprehensive catering services for every event from weddings to bar mitzvahs - including innovative culinary concepts and event planners that can assist you with all your event needs from décor, design, audio/visual or media. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Viceroy Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Miami Hotel Miami
Viceroy Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.