We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viceroy Miami

Save Saved
You added Viceroy Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Viceroy Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   485 Brickell Avenue, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast Bliss
Ranked #25 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersBronze level
NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Romantic and Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you are looking for a unique location that is in the middle of it all yet feels a world a way from it all as well, look no further than the Viceroy in Miami. The decor is unlike any I have seen anywhere. The staff was attentive and very accommodating. It is SO worth the money. I felt that the staff treated you as well as any of the 5 star hotels I've stayed at in NYC or Europe. We enjoyed our week long stay at the Viceroy as much as our week cruise right after. The Brickell and Downtown area has a special vibe. Amazing restaurants! We had many romantic walks along the river and bay, stumbled upon a concert a Bayfront Park, and enjoyed the nightlife in the area. Yet at the end of the day, we enjoyed coming back to our fabulous room, with stunning views and unparallelled comfort. I wish the hotel had bikes for rent because the area is perfect for biking. Also, the hotel should work with other buildings in the area to improve the cross walks. I hear there are going to be some new high end stores opening up in the future. Once that happens, this area will be like Michigan Ave in Chicago. If so, I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear emberito,

Thank you for taking the time to share your high praise and most generous feedback.

It was a delight to hear that our unique décor and very accommodating and attentive staff left an amazing impression with you.

We appreciate your recommendations about bike rentals and will definitely look into that possibility.

In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    447
    219
    93
    43
    36
See reviews for
102
342
59
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Service is completely sub-par

The pool has very limited staff. The pool facilities are cheap, e.g. towels are gross, they limit you to one (really) and there are no umbrellas. The servers avoid eye contact to make sure they do as little work as possible.

The spa facilities are ridiculously cheap. Again limit your towels, limited staff, no spa/whirlpool inside the woman's locker room. None of the typical amenities in nice spas, nuts, quite rooms, lounge chairs, magazines, cold towel...none of that....really....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Janet34439,

Thank you for sharing your comments from your stay with us.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced at the pool and spa. The level of service that was displayed to you is certainly not indicative of the level of standards that we pride ourselves on. We strive to ensure our guest’s experience is the best possible during their travels and appreciate your feedback.

I have shared your comments with our Pool supervisor and Spa Director to ensure that this not occur in the future.

I kindly ask that if your arrangements next bring you to Miami, that you personally contact me to handle your reservations. Until then we remain at your service.

Yours sincerely,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Excellent hotel, great rooms, and very nice view, will be back again! Thanks to the friendly staff to make our vacation better!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Jackie R,

We are happy to learn your experience at Viceroy Miami. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The pool was great and the view was magnificent. We were able to walk around and find good restaurants nearby, but the bed was awful It felt like I was sleeping on wood plates.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear g0ttahavefun,

Thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent experience.

The pool and views are fantastic at Viceroy Miami and our location is perfect for exploring the Brickell/Downtown area. However, I was disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with your guestroom bed. We appreciate your valuable comments in the spirit intended and appreciate your most candid feedback.

I kindly ask that if your arrangements next bring you to Miami, that you personally contact me to handle your reservations. Until then we remain at your service.

Yours sincerely,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Amazing rooms and atmosphere. Great views. Need to spend multiple days to really experience the hotel and surrounding area

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear tircaraway,

Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent stay with us. It was delightful to hear that our great views and amazing rooms left a pleasant atmosphere with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon so that you may truly enjoy all of our spectacular amenities that we have to offer.

In the meantime, we remain at your service.

Warm Regards,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We came to Miami over Memorial Day weekend to celebrate my friend's bachelorette party. The week prior to arriving we called to make sure that we had a room with two double beds and were told we got the last one. Upon arrival on Thursday night we were told that there wasn't a note about our request and all the rooms with two double beds were taken. There was no attempt to give us anything for the inconvenience. They told us that we would be able to move to a room with two double beds on Saturday. On Friday morning I was told again that there were no rooms for that night, but they would send us a roll-away bed free-of-charge. Oh thank you! How nice! 3 girls in one bed + a roll-away during a bachelorette party! On Saturday morning I called the front desk about the room with two double beds. It seems like there wasn't a note about our move in our file, so it's a good thing I called. We were told to pack our things and a bellman would move it for us. We packed our things early in the morning and repeatedly checked back. Finally at 3:30 PM our bags were moved and we settled into our new room. The next day our room wasn't cleaned until after 5:00 PM.

Upon checkout we discovered we had been charged $50 a night for the "upgrade." I also was charged an extra $13 which I'm assuming was for the mini bar, although the only thing we consumed from the mini bar was 1 Five Hour Energy.

We had multiple interactions with the staff, the only pleasant interaction was with the bellman. The front desk staff was repeatedly rude and didn't have any interest in going above and beyond, as I would expect with a "luxury" hotel. I would never stay at the Viceroy again.

Room Tip: The rooms with two double beds are significantly larger, but the bathrooms offer zero privacy due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Travelingtarheel85

I regret to learn of the inconvenience you experienced during your say. Please know that this in not indicative of the level of service we pride ourselves on. I’ve shared your candid feedback with our Front Office and Housekeeping Directors to ensure that this does not occur again.
We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we look forward to earning the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

I kindly ask that you contact me personally so that I may handle your reservations, if your travels next bring you to Miami.

In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,
Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Viceroy Miami last year,and were very pleased with our experience there.As we were going to miami again this year,I looked at other hotels in the downtown area,I.E Mandarin Oriental,Four Seasons etc.,but came back to Viceroy in the end,and were glad we did.Service is still excellent,and we had booked an e-upgrade,if available,for only an extra $20 per night.When we arrived,we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite,with living/dining room,large bathroom,and a second smaller bathroom,large bedroom and balcony,hallway and mini kitchen with an Illy espresso maker.We had brunch in Eos restaurant,and it was excellent.We were very pleased with our second visit,and will look forward to a third.My only quibble with the hotel is taht although you have a balcony,there is no seating or table there ??.Perhaps the hotel could look at this,as it would be nice to relax after a long day on the balcony with a drink or a meal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViceroyMiamiHotel, General Manager at Viceroy Miami, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Windsor P,

Thank you for sharing some feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to hear that our excellent service has made you our loyal customer. We pride ourselves on ensuring all of our guests experience a phenomenal visit with us and it is a great to hear that our amenities have exceeded your expectations.

I have reviewed your comments in regards to furniture on the balcony and will share them with our Housekeeping Director for further investigation.

We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Laurence Dubey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viceroy Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viceroy Miami

Address: 485 Brickell Avenue, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#19 Family Hotel in Miami
#22 Business Hotel in Miami
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Viceroy Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viceroy Miami blends timeless East Asian accents, international service standards and Miami's own rich ambience to create an unparalleled resort destination in Brickell, Miami's Wall Street of the Americas.Created for discerning globetrotters,this luxury resort in Miami offers 148 residentially appointed guestrooms, suites and one- and two-bedroom residences (which include fully equipped kitchenettes or full kitchens), custom-designed Sferra linens and more non-negotiable indulgences for a truly exceptional Miami resort experience.From cocktails and small plates served poolside on the 50th floor, to the chef's tasting menu at the signature restaurant and terrace overlooking the pool deck, to round-the-clock guestroom dining, Viceroy Miami satisfies every culinary craving.Located at the northern gateway to Brickell Avenue, Viceroy Miami is ideally situated to cater to the business elite. This Miami boutique hotel is also centrally located near the city's many distinctive neighborhoods, cultural institutions, sporting venues and area attractions.Within Icon Brickell, the hotel stands steps from the 28,000-square-foot spa and fitness center, 300-foot infinity pool on Biscayne Bay, poolside bar and fireplace, and life-size chess set. Perched atop the 50th floor of Viceroy Miami, FIFTY Ultra Lounge offers the city's most exclusive lounge, while the private pool deck with bar offers dramatic skyline views unequalled in Miami.At Viceroy Miami, set the stage bayside and park-side for a business meeting, press event, photo shoot, sales presentation, conference or product launch. Versatile function spaces — ranging from traditional meeting rooms to the signature restaurant, rooftop lounge, and The Viceroy Spa Miami—make Viceroy Miami an ideal location for any gathering or meeting.The hotel also offers comprehensive catering services for every event from weddings to bar mitzvahs - including innovative culinary concepts and event planners that can assist you with all your event needs from décor, design, audio/visual or media. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Viceroy Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Miami Hotel Miami
Viceroy Hotel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viceroy Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.