We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Super 8 with a Courtyard lobby” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport West/Doral

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport West/Doral to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport West/Doral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3929 Northwest 79th Avenue, Miami, FL 33166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Florida Savings!
Ranked #85 of 130 hotels in Miami
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Super 8 with a Courtyard lobby”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Courtyard's are consistent properties with better than average rooms and services, or so I thought. After having suffered through four nights of accommodations I had to ask "does Marriott know about this place?"

First, the lobby is classic Courtyard with its 2003 decor and large screen monitor which is perfectly acceptable and expected. When we entered the first room to which we were sentenced (we did not arrive until after 2 AM after a long travel day) I first noticed it reminded me of many older Super 8 motels in size and quality. The bed however would have disappointed even at a Super 8. It felt old, spungy and worn. When my wife lifted a corner to inspect the mattress, we discovered that it not only felt old and worn, but it was in fact old and worn. The mattress was torn and threadbare in the visible corner. The other novelty item in the room (which will be familiar to your Courtyard veterans) was the pictures. Each Courtyard room has two of the exact same photos framed on a ledge in the room. The novelty in this room was that one of the frames was broken and the picture was propped back on the ledge, askew. Towels were rough and cheep; furniture was worn and towels were abrasive.

We were provided a new room the next day to discover a bed that was 1.2% more comfortable than the first bed. But the next night we discovered the entertainment provided to guests. Across the street from the property (which is a fairly busy street with lots of traffic white noise) there was booming music which we could feel through seismic tremors through out the parking lot and room. Good thing the music abated sometime after 2 AM.

Lastly, Miami is a waterfront city, as we all know, but this property did not promise to offer a waterfront experience. They missed a marketing opportunity. With each rainfall the pond in the parking lot increased in size and scope. We were scouting for alligators in it by our exit.

In short, if you have options of where to stay in Miami, you should exercise them.

Room Tip: There is a nice looking newer Holiday Inn Express right up the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    50
    24
    15
See reviews for
37
27
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a small hotel. It does not have the perks Marriott's usualy do, it's a simple hotel, but the rooms have great beds, and everything you need.

The best part of this hotel was it's location. About a 10 min drive from the airport, near mayor shopping centers such as Dolphin Mall or International. And if you are in Miami for business and visit Wholesale stores it is located very near a lot of these.

O and parking is FREE!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel has been updated. There is a new check in area. They do have food for sale such as appetizers and drinks. I would not eat there because you can tell the food is not a fast turn around. The walls in the rooms were paper thin. I could hear a couple of people being loud and drunk at 3:00 am. Not a place to stay if you are looking for a quiet hotel. The other thing was the jacuzzi was outof order.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Georges
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend, the staff were rude, and so un willing to assist with any issues, would not recommend this hotel to anyone, I hate bad customer service!!
The staff at the front desk cannot even answer the phone politely, so disappointing.......

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezuela
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

As a long time Marriott Elite Rewards member I have stayed at lots of Courtyard properties across the USA and can say without a doubt this one is well below the standard.

This business oriented hotel near the airport has seen better days. The rooms are worn and outdated, the carpets are stained and housekeeping is mediocre at best.

The restaurant is very small, about 8 tables for the whole hotel and the food is average.

The exercise room is a joke, a very small room with a terrible smell with one old stationary bike and a treadmill.

As a loyal Marriott customer my recommendation is to stay away from this hotel, there are dozens of places better than this one and for a lower fee.

Room Tip: This hotel is in the direct path of planes landing at the Miami Airport and you will feel the roar i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel overall is alright, service is horrible though, so you notice all the small details! After my room wasn't serviced, I asked for towels over the phone, they told me that I have to come down to the front desk for that! At the front desk, lady gave me towels, after I asked for a wash cloth, she asked me to wait, since she was helping a guest, another lady came behind the desk and stood there, when I asked her for the washcloth, she rudely told me that she does not work at the front desk and doesn't know where towels are! Towels are kept right behind the desk!!!! It seems like staff is not here to assist but make your life difficult!! Very rude people!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel is located close to the airport along with other hotels. I found the staff to be helpful and friendly and informative. The room was nicely decorated and it was clean. The bed was comfortable and there were no issues with the bedding, television, furniture, towels or toiletries. The hotel hallways and elevators all worked and were clean. There was security for various reasons, to protect the guest cars and to prevent illegal parking I saw that as a big plus. My only issue was the noise. One of the neighboring businesses was having a Venezuela party (I do not know what they were celebrating but their were flying Venezuela flags all over). This business blasted the music until 0300 and it was not classical music but the loud Spanish music that just keeps you awake. I do not think the management could do anything that evening but for the long term they should really investigate a solution to this establishment. No way there should be hotels so close to such an establishment. That establishment is bad for business and is a nuisance. I stayed on Friday night 4/19/13, perhaps the other days are quiet but I only got three hours of sleep that night. I could have driven away from Miami for an hour and gotten more sleep that night despite the hour worth of driving each night. So if you are thinking about staying in this hotel you will probably not complain about the hotel itself but about the noise that will prevent you from sleeping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport West/Doral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport West/Doral

Address: 3929 Northwest 79th Avenue, Miami, FL 33166
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport West/Doral 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport West/Doral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Miami Airport West/Doral Hotel Miami
Courtyard Miami Airport West
Miami Marriott
Miami Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Miami Airport West/Doral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.