We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good price, but not good hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fortune House Hotel to your Saves list
Fortune House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good price, but not good hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all, I cant say that the hotel is bad, but is not good either, for that reason I rated "2". I spent 3 nights with my family. I booked a room for 4. I called the hotel days before because in my reservation there were only 1 bedroom. They told me that there is a bed-sofa for the kids. The total cost of 3 nights in Brickell area (Miami downtown) including taxes, resort and parking was $790 (very good price for the area). I read some bad reviews from other customers booking 1 bedroom, but I took the risk. The room was clean in general. kitchen, washer&drier. The wifi only works close to the main entrance door. Not in living, not in bedroom. The blind were broken in the living where my kids sleep. The bed-sofa was impossible to use for sleeping. I asked for beds for my kids and they only provided me 1 folding bed (front desk said there was the last one), the other kid went to bed with us. During the weekdays there was an annoying noise coming from a near building under construction. My recommendation is not to book a 1 bedroom for a family of 4. Affordable hotel, but nothing extraordinary. Only select this hotel is you are short of budget.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    103
    53
    43
    60
See reviews for
133
52
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Access Access Access! Right off Bayfront Park within walking distance to the marina and restaurants. Rooftop poolside food service from the restaurant. It was awesome! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The 2 bedroom condo with bay view was incredible and the BEDS rock. Can't wait to stay here again in Miami. You're a short drive or cab ride away from South Beach and so much more!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service at the Fortune House Hotel is top notch. Every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful .

Jenny did a great job to make sure our check-in was nice an smooth . Room service was excellent.
Also Ritzel did a great job at the business center he was very helpful .
For a business trip to Miami or a quite get away The Fortune House Hotel is the place to stay .

My impression was "The General Manager is doing a great job leading the hotel staff.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I honestly have nothing bad to say about this hotel! my family and i live in Orlando and came down to miami for a wedding we were attending. from the moment i called to ask questions till the moment i left everything was exceptional! both Julissa and Ritzel were beyond amazing and made our stay outstanding! they where there when we needed them and they were able to accommodate my wife and i as well as our children. the rooms were very clean, they would change our towel and all of the bed covers everyday. i would honestly recommend this hotel to everyone i know and will defiantly be staying here again if i come back into town!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Fortune House is in a good location and is very nice. However, three couples had rented rooms and all of them were of different quality. One was a very nice suite, one was a nice room with a kitchen and a comfortable bed and the other had the kitchen and a uncomfortable bed. If I were to rent here again I would ask more questions. The front desk wanted to charge for an early check in of an hour. a bit ridiculous. Our friend left his phone by accident, while boarding a cruise ship he gave an address and credit card number to mail the phone to his business. Upon returning a week later he called and the phone was still in the drawer at the front desk.
An okay place to stay....but do your research on which room and don't leave items behind.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After reading some of the other reviews we were a bit concerned what our experience might be. This is not a regular hotel, but private apartments designed for short term rentals. know this before you book and you will likely be very happy. The location is ideal in a beautiful and safe area downtown. Easy to walk around with so many wonderful restaurants around. This is close to the cruise port where we were leaving out of so extra convenient.

The rooms are basic but large with lots of space, a full kitchen and the balcony views are great. I was surprised by the size of the workout room with plenty of equipment. The free wifi worked well and met our needs while traveling. For the price you won't get this much in a safe and convenient area.

Thank you to Delmi and Jenny for taking such good care of us. Next time in Miami we will plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: pick a room on the upper floors for a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this Hotel for one night of Expedia. The pictures looked great. WheN we arrived, the bar and restraunt were closed. The front desk took forever to check us in. The rooms were mediocre at best. The "mini bar" was 3-4 beers in the fridge. There was no place to put your luggage in the bedrooms and only one end table. The bathroom had 2 towels and Luke warm water. The Internet barely worked. The next morning at 6am we were awakened to Banging outside and loud traffic. The windows were paper thin. We went down to go to a "full breakfast" which was included, and it ended up being a "contintental" which basically means we had one option. Not as advertised on Expedia. The entire hotel was a disappointment. Don't stay here. Horrible service.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortune House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune House Hotel

Address: 185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fortune House Hotel is located on Brickell Ave in downtown Miami at the center of the financial district and offers fully furnished apartments to our guests available on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. Designed as an executive retreat as well as a family-friendly property, Fortune House Hotel provides its residents all the comforts of a home-away-from-home. Each apartment has a full-size kitchen, living area, bathroom, bedroom, walk-in closet, balcony, and washer and dryer in the unit, thus making it extremely comfortable for short or long term guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fortune House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Miami
Fortune House Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.