We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fortune House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fortune House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #93 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are awesome. It is more like an apartment/condo than your standard hotel. Lobby bar not much, though. However, you are walking distance to things to do, including the people mover, and it's located in a safe neighborhood. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    89
    47
    40
    59
See reviews for
118
52
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was actually under construction both times I stayed but it no way effected our stay. Valet parking (a bit expensive!) wifi did not work in the room. It was very clean. I liked that there are bars and restaurants within walking distance. I have and would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed her for several times not because I wanted to; my company books me there. They need to put a hold of $100 in your credit cards . If you don't have a credit card then you need to give them $200 cash. One time I arrived so late... Because my flight got delayed. Forgot bring my credit card. At1:00am I was wondering around aowntown Miami looking for an ATM ALL BECAUSE THIS HOTEL DOESN'T ACCEPT DEBIT CARDS. So I went to bed at 2:00am and had to check out early at 7:00am the following day. Next thing I know is that they charging me a night resort fee. Didn't even used their resort!! Asked for my $200 back, they said the manger wasn't there that I had to come back for a check later. If you can please stay away from this hotel. Really trust me when I say stay away.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i wrote e review about the extreme poor covertible sofa which can be coverted into a beth.
you can feel every spring poking into you back
the lady at the desk told me that the maintanance people are not in the buidling till so far so good
then she said if the maintainace people have not fixed the problem I should call them agian, to put in another request which means I have to guard my own service
what kind of world is this are these people profesionals they call them selfes a class hotel
though this is very unprofesional attitude to say such a thing she has to see the complaint is dealt within aserious way

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is a convertible sofa you can turn into a beth

You can feel every single spring poking into your back.
In a civilised world you can not call this a beth

I have traveled the whole world and i have never come across such a phenomena

This is really not on.

Even a dog or a wanderer would prefer to sleep on the ground

It is not worth a penny.
The airco system you can not ise due to the extreme noisy it is making

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I read several negative reviews after booking my stay. I contemplated finding a new location but doing so in such a short time frame was not going to be practical financial. I was terrified of what to expect but was out at ease.
The staff was nice and so was the room. Yes it is a "dated" basic "white box" apartment with contractor grade cabinets, tile, carpet and furniture; it was clean and well maintained. Yes, I had to make 100.00 REFUNDABLE deposit at check in but don't all hotels request to hold funds for incidentals. No it does not have the amenities and fancy decor that some off the 4 star hotels we've stayed at have but (and if you like big butts) lol, for the price, location and view of the bay it is well worth my stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two months while completing an internship in Miami. I had an excellent experience here and plan to return on my next trip to Miami.

The location of the property is great for business travelers, anyone going to an event at the American Airlines arena, or for cruise passengers as it is centrally located. There is also a free trolley right outside that will take you there as well as to Midtown Miami.

If you're looking to go to South Beach, the hotel is quite far. It will set you back about $30 via cab.

The apartments are spacious and well-equipped with a full kitchen and supplies, a washer/dryer in every unit and televisions in every bedroom and the living room. As this is a condo building/apartment hotel, no two units are exactly the same. That means that one unit could have granite countertops whereas another would not. The furniture and layouts will vary from unit to unit. Nonetheless, all units are nice, clean, and stocked with the essentials.

The gym is huge. Granted, some machines are older but it's important to keep in mind that this is not a five star hotel. While you might be paying similar prices for the Four Seasons next door, the units (kitchen, washer dryer, multiple bedrooms, etc.) are really what you're paying for!
Regardless, it still rivals most hotel gyms in terms of size and variety of machines available. Another nice touch are locker rooms with single sex steam rooms and saunas.

The pool and hot tub are nice as well, with padded chairs and an array of tables to eat outside and enjoy the Miami weather.

The restaurant is good. The bar is fabulous. Ask for them to make you a special or house drinks. The bartenders are awesome! Alejandro is a gem. Some menu items are better than others, burgers and sandwiches are very good, but I would steer clear of the pasta.

Service in general was great. While there were a few unfriendly faces, the majority of the staff was incredible, personable, and helpful. The housekeeping staff was hit or miss in terms of how well they cleaned the apartment, but always went above and beyond by doing dishes/taking out trash (that was...unexpected and a nice gesture?)

Try to get a bay view room if you can. The view is spectacular. I will miss having my coffee out there every morning as it was spectacular.

Brickell is a great and very safe neighborhood. Ten minute walk to the grocery store and Mary Brickell village, a nearby 7-Eleven and not too difficult to get a cab.

I would absolutely reccommend this hotel for anyone looking to experience all that Miami has to offer besides South Beach (again, like I said, $30 cab ride!) Besides, there's much more to do in Miami than South Beach anyway!

For the size of the apartments, you are getting a great deal. I look forward to returning to Fortune House. Until next time! Many thanks to Jenny for her assistance.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortune House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune House Hotel

Address: 185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortune House Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fortune House Hotel is located on Brickell Ave in downtown Miami at the center of the financial district and offers fully furnished apartments to our guests available on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. Designed as an executive retreat as well as a family-friendly property, Fortune House Hotel provides its residents all the comforts of a home-away-from-home. Each apartment has a full-size kitchen, living area, bathroom, bedroom, walk-in closet, balcony, and washer and dryer in the unit, thus making it extremely comfortable for short or long term guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Fortune House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Miami
Fortune House Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.