We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fortune House Hotel to your Saves list
Fortune House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good value for price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

we booked a family room and got a condo with 2 bed and bathrooms and a view on Miami harbor. the appartment was tidied on daily bases. it was clean and spacy and nice to come back to after a day of explorations in the Miami region. breakfast is basic but you are downtown so enough other possibilities in the area.

Room Tip: ask for a room with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    95
    48
    40
    59
See reviews for
125
52
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This apartment was much more we had reserved! Two persons and we had two bedrooms and two bathrooms and the kitchen with all possible machines. Also we had laundry machine and dryer. Best of all was fantastic bay view towards Brickell Key from 24th floor!! If we had some problems with machines, we got help very, very quickly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. It was mediocre at best. One... The kitchen counter was infested with ants. We couldn't put anything on it without the ants attacking it! We had to put all our stuff in the refrigerator. Two...We had no choice but to use the valet parking. This is the only way you can park on the property. They wouldn't even let you go to where your car was parked if you had forgotten something in it. The valet would have to bring your car back to the front again. This wasted about 10 - 15 minutes every time you needed your car, plus tip.

The worst was after we checked out. I got charged for using their mini bar that we never touched! There was no checklist so we had no idea if everything was there when we checked in. All we saw was a price sheet with ridiculous prices so we bought our own groceries. For 3 days we played phone tag because they never called me back so I had to keep calling them. They basically told me "too bad" and more or less was calling me a liar!

The management is the worst of all the hotels and resorts I have ever stayed at... Terrible Communication and Very Poor Customer Service! Don't waste your money! There are better places to stay along Brickell Avenue in Miami... I know this now!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

I found this room on a discounted hotel site and was pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was. It was a rented condo with a full kitchen which allowed us to cook and decrease costs on our week vacation. The food for purchase at the hotel was a little pricey, but it was good. The hotel also offered a pool and gym for guests. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The only problem was the location. The hotel is located downtown which is easy access to everywhere, but traffic can get pretty bad. Overall Fortune House was very nice and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siikajoki, Finland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Actually forced to go this hotel for one night due original reservation canceled hour before arrival and they reserved this for replacement. Got 2 bedroom apartment as originally reserved. Quite old fashioned and time-worn. Some renovation ongoing so some noise. Only valet parking available with high price. Location ok if want to stay at business area. Staff not very friendly. Even we said we stay only 1 night, they charged for 4 nights and promised to return overcharged immediately. Now after 3 weeks no refund seen. Personally would not recommend to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our party of 4 stayed here for 4 nights during a road trip holiday around Florida.

The 2 bedroom condo we stayed in was spacious, clean with a well equipped kitchen. It also had 2 balconies with gorgeous views of Miami Bay.

The hotel facilities were good and had an extensively kitted out fitness centre. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

The only slight drawback if you are a tourist is that the hotel is located in the business district of the City so you have to travel if you want to get to any of the cities tourist spots like the beach. That said public transport was pretty good if you didn't want to drive, and the price you pay to stay is half what you would pay for a much more basic hotel on the beach.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We acquired two rooms through Hotwire. I was worried after reading some of the reviews. The rooms were beautiful. Our unit had two bedrooms, two full baths and a kitchen/bar with granite countertops. The staff was so nice and very accommodating. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortune House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune House Hotel

Address: 185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fortune House Hotel is located on Brickell Ave in downtown Miami at the center of the financial district and offers fully furnished apartments to our guests available on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. Designed as an executive retreat as well as a family-friendly property, Fortune House Hotel provides its residents all the comforts of a home-away-from-home. Each apartment has a full-size kitchen, living area, bathroom, bedroom, walk-in closet, balcony, and washer and dryer in the unit, thus making it extremely comfortable for short or long term guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fortune House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Miami
Fortune House Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.