We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fortune House Hotel to your Saves list
Fortune House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #58 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We acquired two rooms through Hotwire. I was worried after reading some of the reviews. The rooms were beautiful. Our unit had two bedrooms, two full baths and a kitchen/bar with granite countertops. The staff was so nice and very accommodating. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    118
    56
    43
    60
See reviews for
147
58
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Elevators broken, internet service unavailable, very dirty and old carpets, bathtub filthy, old towels and linen, bad phone service -nobody answers at nights-, nobody in front desks at night, and so many other things that this is a MUST AVOID place.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent three nights at Fortune House after a cruise. The food in their coffee shop was generally very bad although the servers were friendly. I ordered toast and couldn't even cut it with a knife. Another person in our party ordered a bagel that was so hard if he had dropped it it would "dent the floor". Others in our party ordered bacon and eggs which were good. The hotel was in a good location but charges $20 a day to park and charges every time you take the car in or out. Luckily we had two strong guys in our group to handle our luggage because the staff was not helpful with that. The pool area was nice. The staff at the front desk was not helpful at all and made errors in billing. You couldn't hang clothes in one closet in one of our bedrooms because it was all shelving. The furniture was worn. The air conditioning was noisy and didn't really cool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

A terrible hotel. The carpets are worn out, you can see the floor underneath, the ceilings have water damage and have been patched, the paint on the bathtub was peeling off, the microwave was filthy, they charge $20 to valet park and there is a $10 resort fee. All of the staff seemed bored.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We got stuck at Miami airport so booked 2 bedroom apartment via bookings.com which we use a lot. The rooms were NOTHING like the photos;there was a wingarmchair from the 50's that was filthy and falling apart,the sofa not much better so we didn't sit on it. Old lamps in bedrooms,no covers on duvets,it seemed that there were only pillow protectors on the pillows & no cases.Flooring had large chunks missing on the veneer all over the apartment,bath coating peeling off inside bath in both bathrooms so was really disgusting,fittings grungy & the pressure when the tap was on was fantastic but when you put it to shower it was a trickle & who would want to have a bath it was so revolting looking. It was shabby,& had a general air of being dirty. Would have checked straight out but it was very late & we were only there for a few hours to sleep. Sleep however was lacking as the air conditioner (even though we swithed it off) screamed all night,the bed clanked everytime you turned over & the pillows were the worst I have ever slept on.

Room Tip: Don't stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in Feb. The location is perfect for someone who doesn't have a car i.e. minutes from the MetroMover and Metrorail stations, shopping center, and grocery store. The facilities were just fine. For what I paid though, I had much higher expectations. The a/c rumbled ominously, the mattress sagged, and the in-room wifi was spotty. The resort fee was a joke. If you want to charge more for the room, then do so instead of tacking on a fee for facilities that I did not need or want.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed last night, crummy rooms, poor service and disinterested staff. Breakfast was purchased but not honoured when got into restaurant. Better off staying in budget chain hotels elsewhere in the area. You
Live and learn I suppose! The hotel is actually a condo block that appears to have been made into a hotel, we booked a secret deal with Hotwire which we won't risk doing again

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fortune House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune House Hotel

Address: 185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fortune House Hotel is located on Brickell Ave in downtown Miami at the center of the financial district and offers fully furnished apartments to our guests available on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. Designed as an executive retreat as well as a family-friendly property, Fortune House Hotel provides its residents all the comforts of a home-away-from-home. Each apartment has a full-size kitchen, living area, bathroom, bedroom, walk-in closet, balcony, and washer and dryer in the unit, thus making it extremely comfortable for short or long term guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Fortune House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Miami
Fortune House Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.