We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't bother!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fortune House Hotel to your Saves list
Fortune House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Stoke On Trent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Please don't bother!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed last night, crummy rooms, poor service and disinterested staff. Breakfast was purchased but not honoured when got into restaurant. Better off staying in budget chain hotels elsewhere in the area. You
Live and learn I suppose! The hotel is actually a condo block that appears to have been made into a hotel, we booked a secret deal with Hotwire which we won't risk doing again

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    95
    48
    40
    59
See reviews for
125
52
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Arrived to find our room with hair in our bed. Mold, dirt, duvet blankets without covers, so disgusting that we checked out immediately. Understaffed, over rated and would never consider recommending this place to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

First off let me say that I am not a picky person when it comes to hotels. As a former traveling PR person I have stayed in plenty of hotels and my requirements are simply a clean comfortable bed. I was impressed with the size of the room..was more like an apartment. The view was breathtaking. The staff was pleasant. The valet parking was easy. Now for the negative. The mattress was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on in my life. I could literally feel the coils pressing through into my skin. The bed squeaked horribly every time I shifted trying to get comfortable. At one point I considered moving to the floor, it was that bad. The comforter on the bed was very thin and looked like something from the 1970's and was extremely scratchy every time it accidentally came in contact with my skin. The ceiling fan over top of the bed made a tapping sound that was unbearable and I wasn't sure if it was going to fall down on me in the middle of the night. I am a big proponent of baths after a long flight, however, it was not to be had here...the mechanism which controls whether it is a bath or shower was welded in the shower position. The bathtub had putty all over it, but was clean. When I brushed my teeth the sink took forever to drain. The ceiling had a repaired crack with a very bad putty job that had dripped on the floor and the shower tiles and the lazy repairmen did not bother to clean it up so it had hardened where it lay. I called to ask for the name of a local pizza delivery place and was given the number of somewhere that sounded like someone's house with someone being murdered in the background. I was then quoted a price of $45 for a medium pizza and two liter of coke! To the owners of Fortune House I understand that remodeling is expensive. You could have made a world of difference in my night's stay with the purchase of a mattress pad and new comforter...bulk price for both about a hundred dollars...ps..hire better repairmen who clean up their messes and take pride in their work...who paints over door hinges!! the bedroom door squeaked like crazy...no quiet jaunt to the bathroom in the middle of the night here!

Room Tip: If you need pizza there is a Little Caesar's nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I chose this location because of their condo style rooms to celebrate my birthday. Upon arrival, I asked for a bay-view room and to be on their highest floor. To my surprise, not only was my room already pretty high up, I also had a bay-view room. In my 2 bedroom condo, it was VERY spacious. The Master bedroom was HUGE with a long hallway leading to your private bathroom. Standing out on the balcony, you will overlook the Four Seasons, which is right across the street, but it didn't hinder anything. The staff was very nice and friendly. At times valet was understaffed, but I'm sure if you called in prior to arrival, you wouldn't have much of a wait at all. My booking included complimentary breakfast, and I was impressed that it was real food, and not just bagels and muffins that many would be accustomed to. The staff was friendly and polite and willing to help. I'd definitely stay here again if the opportunity presented itself or a need arise.

Room Tip: For a better view, you definitely want to stay higher up in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed with my wife and child and cannot complain about anything, other than the service at the desk, which is just flat out bad. We got the 1 bedroom deluxe with city view. The room came with everything we needed for our stay, or even if we wanted to live there permanently. Lol. Yes, they have everything. Full size stainless steel refrigerator, stove, oven, dish washer, washer machine and dryer, even cooking ware. Nice furnishings, comfortable huge bed, and a lot of storage space, including a walk in closet in the bedroom. The lady at the desk did not want to honor the $191 a night that we had booked for 3 nights online on a budget site, and tried to cancel our reservation as we stood there in line. Even the people behind us gave them a hard time and they eventually went ahead with the reservation at the same price, but held $500 on our credit card, although it said only $100 would be held, but that's another story. Just be sure to call ahead and Make Sure your reservation will be honored if you book through a site other than theirs. The location is perfect, the bay is right behind the hotel, and there are restaurants everywhere. We went to Publix and got groceries and cooked our own food for the most part, but we did dine at a few places in Miami Beach area. Overall our stay was pleasant, and the price and location made it especially worth it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is very late. Sorry. We stayed here this past February. We had a 2bed 2bath condo with views of the bay and I believe the Ritz pool. It was really nice. Clean and updated. Staff was very helpful and courteous. I really wanted to stay in Miami Beach but that time of year is very expensive. We took the tram (which is just a short walk from the hotel) over to Bayside. We had lunch and the took a boat ride over to Miami beach. It was great. We walked lincoln road, went into shops then strolled down to the bars and restaurants. Had great drinks in a few of the restaurants. Love MiamiBeach. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you have family or another couple. Perfect for us right before a cruise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Booked this place online for a colleague and myself on a last minute trip. I honestly thought it was too good to be true, especially since all the hotels around it were at least double its price. To our surprise this place was legit. We had a very nice 2 bedroom that was a true 2 bed 2 bath. It had a balcony with a nice view, small living room and kitchen. Check in was great and the room was clean. I checked out the pool and workout room, which were both small but nice. We had a few drinks in the bar downstairs, which had happy hour between 6-8 I believe. Overall I was very happy and will stay her next time I travel to Miami.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortune House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune House Hotel

Address: 185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fortune House Hotel is located on Brickell Ave in downtown Miami at the center of the financial district and offers fully furnished apartments to our guests available on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. Designed as an executive retreat as well as a family-friendly property, Fortune House Hotel provides its residents all the comforts of a home-away-from-home. Each apartment has a full-size kitchen, living area, bathroom, bedroom, walk-in closet, balcony, and washer and dryer in the unit, thus making it extremely comfortable for short or long term guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fortune House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Miami
Fortune House Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.