We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price, excellent space for a large. group.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fortune House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fortune House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 130 hotels in Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, good price, excellent space for a large. group.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My opinion is based on a one night stay, the area where fortune house is located is in downtown Miami which I must say is beautiful. Fortune house is a condo where vacant units are rented as a hotel. The lobby is pretty clean, including the ladies restroom with has two stall. The drinks at the bar are weak for the $12 price. I stayed in room 1106, a 2 bedroom deluxe with a view of the bay. Well I saw alot of flaws in that paticular unit eg. Broken draw on the televison stand, dirty beds, if you walked around bare foot the bottom of your feet will be black, the laminate wood floor has about a 2 inch open space in two spots between the livingroom and the masterbedroom (that could be a real hazard and lawsuit if someone was injured) the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. It is not a well oil ship eg. I had to call for towels and washcloth although they knew we had a large party but I never got the washcloth I needed. I also had to call for sheets and pillows for our the sofa bed. The front desk was not very flexible to our early arrival and only offer a room after a four hours wait and two hours before check-in for a sum of $50. It could use new beds, acoat of paint, some accent piece and a good cleaning but for one night it served its purpose. Valet parking is $20 a day no matter how many times you come and go, a $10 a day resort fee applies to all unit. It's 10 mintues to south beach and even less to Miami's port. I saw negative reviews on the pool but to me it was okay. I expected worst. It is by no means a fancy pool but it is not a horrible one either, it just feels that way when looking at the four season....LOL!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    109
    53
    40
    59
See reviews for
112
50
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My opinion is based on a one night stay, the area where fortune house is located is in downtown Miami which I must say is beautiful. Fortune house is a condo where vacant units are rented as a hotel. The lobby is pretty clean, including the ladies restroom with has two stall. The drinks at the bar are weak for the $12 price. I stayed in room 1106, a 2 bedroom deluxe with a view of the bay. Well I saw alot of flaws in that paticular unit eg. Broken draw on the televison stand, dirty beds, if you walked around bare foot the bottom of your feet will be black, the laminate wood floor has about a 2 inch open space in two spots between the livingroom and the masterbedroom (that could be a real hazard and lawsuit if someone was injured) the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. It is not a well oil ship eg. I had to call for towels and washcloth although they knew we had a large party but I never got the washcloth I needed. I also had to call for sheets and pillows for our the sofa bed. The front desk was not very flexible to our early arrival and only offer a room after a four hours wait and two hours before check-in for a sum of $50. It could use new beds, acoat of paint, some accent piece and a good cleaning but for one night it served its purpose. Valet parking is $20 a day no matter how many times you come and go, a $10 a day resort fee applies to all unit. It's 10 mintues to south beach and even less to Miami's port. I saw negative reviews on the pool but to me it was okay. I expected worst. It is by no means a fancy pool but it is not a horrible one either, it just feels that way when looking at the four season....LOL!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very impressed. Stayed here one night.it was a 2 bedroom apt. Comes completely furnished. valet parking, Fully supplied gourmet kitchens. My room overlooked the bay. Very good breakfast. Clean. Friendly staff . The service is great, and although it takes a little while to check in, they are constantly improving their service. To be honest, our guests were amazed by our rate considering the location. I would highly recommend this hotel.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel made erroneous credit card charges claiming reservations were not cancelled within the 72 hours prior to scheduled arrival. When in fact I stayed at the hotel on the dates scheduled. They also made erroneous charges for essentials to other group members charge cards. They are unreasonable and hard to deal with. I will never stay at this hotel again. Always

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Some of the coolest places are right here in your own backyard. And by backyard, I’m referring to Florida.

We chose Miami as a ladies getaway spot and stayed at the Fortune House Hotel nestled on a discreet cul-de sac off Brickell Ave with views of the soaring skyline of bustling and expanding down town Miami to one side and the breathtaking vista of Biscayne Bay on the other. This hidden gem is perfectly ideal for your getaway, situated but 3 minutes from the chic and trendy Mary Brickell Area and 15 minutes from the legendary South Beach.

When you pull up to the pale pink and white high-rise, you are graciously welcomed by the valet attendant who dutifully ushers you into the modish lobby of the luxury living condos reorganized to accommodate daily or extended stay guests. The hotel, offers concierge service, business office, and a refined restaurant and bar decorated in hues of rich brown and sultry red. The menu has an extensive selection of hearty meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I especially enjoyed the late night snacks of freshly made chewy, cheesy pizza, juicy plump Buffalo wings, and mouthwatering, thick burgers.

The affordable 1 and 2 bedroom condos come completely furnished and include room service, valet parking, fully supplied gourmet kitchens, WIFI access, fully equipped state of the art gym with sauna and sophisticated club room, perfect for a small gathering or just to hang out and watch the game. The stylishly designed rooftop swimming pool & Jacuzzi alongside discreet cabanas is perfect for relaxing after a long day at the shops or after a whirl at the clubs. On certain weekends the lanai is opened up with a poolside bar, happy hour drinks and Miami vibes. Our particular condo was pristine, reminiscent of a high class Manhattan penthouse with crisp white leather decor and clean lines of clear glass & mirrors. (Select condos) You can see the renowned, exclusive Fisher Island (reportedly owned by Oprah Winfrey) from our balcony. The staff are graciously accommodating and friendly, ensuring that your stay is memorable. This was the epitome of Miami living. It is the customer service, accommodations and location which makes the Fortune House Hotel the ultimate place to launch your getaway adventure, the spirit of the Miami Lifestyle.

Room Tip: Ask for top floors facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I purchased a Groupon for a 2-bedroom suite at a very good rate. The suite was gorgeous as well as the view of the bay. It was very comfortable for our family of 5. I only wish the staff had been a little friendlier. There were, what appeared to be doormen, standing by the entrance and none helped us open the door and haul our luggage inside. We ate breakfast at their restuarant the following morning, and one of the breakfasts wasn't prepared until everyone else had finished eating their meals. I would recommend this hotel to others, but only if they reserve it at a discounted rate like I did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent hotel for families, getaways and couples. The view from the hotel room was beautiful you could see boats in the distance, beautiful view of the buildings and their structure. Had a great time staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fortune House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune House Hotel

Address: 185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortune House Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fortune House Hotel is located on Brickell Ave in downtown Miami at the center of the financial district and offers fully furnished apartments to our guests available on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. Designed as an executive retreat as well as a family-friendly property, Fortune House Hotel provides its residents all the comforts of a home-away-from-home. Each apartment has a full-size kitchen, living area, bathroom, bedroom, walk-in closet, balcony, and washer and dryer in the unit, thus making it extremely comfortable for short or long term guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fortune House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Miami
Fortune House Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.