We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Erroneous Credit Card Charges” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fortune House Hotel to your Saves list
Fortune House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Erroneous Credit Card Charges”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel made erroneous credit card charges claiming reservations were not cancelled within the 72 hours prior to scheduled arrival. When in fact I stayed at the hotel on the dates scheduled. They also made erroneous charges for essentials to other group members charge cards. They are unreasonable and hard to deal with. I will never stay at this hotel again. Always

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    95
    48
    40
    59
See reviews for
125
52
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Some of the coolest places are right here in your own backyard. And by backyard, I’m referring to Florida.

We chose Miami as a ladies getaway spot and stayed at the Fortune House Hotel nestled on a discreet cul-de sac off Brickell Ave with views of the soaring skyline of bustling and expanding down town Miami to one side and the breathtaking vista of Biscayne Bay on the other. This hidden gem is perfectly ideal for your getaway, situated but 3 minutes from the chic and trendy Mary Brickell Area and 15 minutes from the legendary South Beach.

When you pull up to the pale pink and white high-rise, you are graciously welcomed by the valet attendant who dutifully ushers you into the modish lobby of the luxury living condos reorganized to accommodate daily or extended stay guests. The hotel, offers concierge service, business office, and a refined restaurant and bar decorated in hues of rich brown and sultry red. The menu has an extensive selection of hearty meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I especially enjoyed the late night snacks of freshly made chewy, cheesy pizza, juicy plump Buffalo wings, and mouthwatering, thick burgers.

The affordable 1 and 2 bedroom condos come completely furnished and include room service, valet parking, fully supplied gourmet kitchens, WIFI access, fully equipped state of the art gym with sauna and sophisticated club room, perfect for a small gathering or just to hang out and watch the game. The stylishly designed rooftop swimming pool & Jacuzzi alongside discreet cabanas is perfect for relaxing after a long day at the shops or after a whirl at the clubs. On certain weekends the lanai is opened up with a poolside bar, happy hour drinks and Miami vibes. Our particular condo was pristine, reminiscent of a high class Manhattan penthouse with crisp white leather decor and clean lines of clear glass & mirrors. (Select condos) You can see the renowned, exclusive Fisher Island (reportedly owned by Oprah Winfrey) from our balcony. The staff are graciously accommodating and friendly, ensuring that your stay is memorable. This was the epitome of Miami living. It is the customer service, accommodations and location which makes the Fortune House Hotel the ultimate place to launch your getaway adventure, the spirit of the Miami Lifestyle.

Room Tip: Ask for top floors facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I purchased a Groupon for a 2-bedroom suite at a very good rate. The suite was gorgeous as well as the view of the bay. It was very comfortable for our family of 5. I only wish the staff had been a little friendlier. There were, what appeared to be doormen, standing by the entrance and none helped us open the door and haul our luggage inside. We ate breakfast at their restuarant the following morning, and one of the breakfasts wasn't prepared until everyone else had finished eating their meals. I would recommend this hotel to others, but only if they reserve it at a discounted rate like I did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent hotel for families, getaways and couples. The view from the hotel room was beautiful you could see boats in the distance, beautiful view of the buildings and their structure. Had a great time staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed there twice in 2 different years. The apartments are large with nice view, it is very good located. I would recommend for business specially .the financial district is two blocks away , and the beach 10 minutes drive

Room Tip: Take the vip rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Shared this hotel with my BF and it was a great stay. The rooms are huge, equipped with kitchen, washing machine and everything you need. Staff were very friendly and helpful. provided buffer with the room and enjoyed it. 5 min away from Bayside Market. Would book again

Only downfall where the slightly outdated furniture and bathroom. This was 30min away from South Beach and had to pay for pricy taxis to get there.

Room Tip: Would say book only if you want a very quiet stay in Miami. Not enough going on during the nighttime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

NEVER STAY HERE. The hotel staff is nasty and rude. They have changed the price of the room on us multiple times. We came for a tour before booking a 2 month stay for business traveling. We were showed a beautiful, clean room. WE WERE GIVEN A DUMP WITH AN ANT PROBLEM. The refrigerator leaks, the bathroom is disgusting, the TV picture is green and cannot be fixed, the stove and microwave are filthy, the maintenance man never came back, could not have been worse.

They refuse to let you talk to the manager and charge $500 for cancelling your long-term reservation. ITS A DUMP.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortune House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune House Hotel

Address: 185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fortune House Hotel is located on Brickell Ave in downtown Miami at the center of the financial district and offers fully furnished apartments to our guests available on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. Designed as an executive retreat as well as a family-friendly property, Fortune House Hotel provides its residents all the comforts of a home-away-from-home. Each apartment has a full-size kitchen, living area, bathroom, bedroom, walk-in closet, balcony, and washer and dryer in the unit, thus making it extremely comfortable for short or long term guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fortune House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Miami
Fortune House Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.