We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - so much better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fortune House Hotel to your Saves list
Fortune House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 129 Hotels in Miami
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent - so much better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Read reviews after booking so concerned about problems with charges , staff and breakfast. Also that room might be tatty. I asked for a high level room but was advised i would be upgraded to a deluxe room with a bay view. The room was spacious and newly decorated. two balconies, 3 tvs. A luxury apartment. All staff were polite and friendly. Breakfast was uninspiring but still very good. I agree the dining area is small but we beat the rush so had no problem.. Parking arrangements were unusual in that they stated valet parking only. I parked around the corner for free 6pm to 7am then $1.75 per hour with 3 hour max

Room Tip: park nearby on street which can be paid for online easily
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    95
    48
    40
    59
See reviews for
125
52
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The interior space and comfortable beds. The hotel location is very good because it's only 10 minutes from South Beach and also has easy access to the Miami International Airport (mia). A tip for anyone staying in this hotel is booking a room overlooking the bay. Waking up in the morning and look at the Biscayne Bay is an amazing feeling!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

First, the good things. The location is superb. Brickell is a very nice part of town, very "urban walk-able" and if you get a room with a view of the Biscayne Bay, it is great. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance and just nice area to stay

The towels are nice and clean. The kitchen was adequately furnished and the supplies in good condition. Furniture was adequate. There are no dvd players but nice big tvs.


Now the not so great:

This is a part hotel part owner stay, I call it timeshare wannabe. I own Marriott timeshares so I know the drill with timeshares. There was no information in the room to indicate things such as where the trash room is and what the policy for trash pickup was. Our room was serviced daily but the maids did not take the trash out. Noticed several days later the bad smell. If they had told me I had to, I would have done it. We asked for the room to be cleaned early in the day. We managed to get our room serviced at best around 4 pm!

Unfortunately, the day we arrived they had a power outage and wiped out the wireless system for days. I can understand disasters like this but what I cannot tolerate is the lack of adequate information. Every day was a different story about the status of the wireless restoring, sometimes even denial that anyone else had a problem. They only had wireless internet in the lobby for about 5 days. I got very tired of their excuses and answers

I had the surprising encounter with a VERY large dog in the hallway of my room one day. This was a dog that belonged to an owner apparently and they would let him loose or the dog would leave the apartment and be in the hallway. I got the scare of my life when this dog face was on my face. The next day the same thing happened with the same dog and me having my 88 year old mother with me....not good! I reviewed their pet policy and they only allow long term guests or owners pets that weigh under 25 pounds. This animal was definitely not in that category. I didn't get much of an apology as if that was relatively acceptable. They should have given me at least a free night for that!!

The restaurant is cramped at best for the breakfast. The only thing that would make me return to this place is location. If you can afford it, stay across the street at the Four Seasons.

Of course, this was in late March, one of the busiest times in Miami so everything is overpriced and overbooked and under serviced.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Biscayne Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It was very comfortable, having one LCD in each room. The swimming pool is great as the jacuzzi. The apartments had a very beautiful view of the sea and downtown. The location is great, near the bridge that goes to Miami beach and near the main HighWay, nice accommodations, great health club, friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

One hassel after the next is the best way to describe the place- that is the staff and rooms. I booked through Expedia for two nights with 2 - two bed room suites. I did not get the rooms that I requested and confirmed. Rooms were in poor condition. Verticle blinds in disrepair unable to close. Mattress on bed sunken in the center. Booked for two nights but could only bear one. Will never stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. I made my reservation on January for late March and they call three hours before check in to say that they didn't have a room available for me and they would try to relocate us which they never did. First they wouldn't answer the phone, when they finally did they had the worse attitude ever, said they were too busy and hung up. The agency through which me had made our reservation was the one that actually solved our problem and they spent hours trying to contact the hotel as well. It was an awful experience, just ruined the whole day. If there was a rating worse than "terrible" I would have selected it.

Room Tip: Just don't choose the hotel period.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times and each time I say that I will be coming back. Everyone there is nice and friendly. I love the condo's layout and the view of the water is WONDERFUL! The location is great since your 10 minutes away from Bayside Marketplace, the American Airlines Arena and about 30 min from the beach. The Metro Mover is right across the street and for anyone that does not know it's FREE to ride. I will be back next year :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortune House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune House Hotel

Address: 185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fortune House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fortune House Hotel is located on Brickell Ave in downtown Miami at the center of the financial district and offers fully furnished apartments to our guests available on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. Designed as an executive retreat as well as a family-friendly property, Fortune House Hotel provides its residents all the comforts of a home-away-from-home. Each apartment has a full-size kitchen, living area, bathroom, bedroom, walk-in closet, balcony, and washer and dryer in the unit, thus making it extremely comfortable for short or long term guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fortune House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Miami
Fortune House Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.