We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortune House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fortune House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fortune House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #92 of 129 hotels in Miami
ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Welcome Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me and I am still friends with this person.I would consider this my home away from home when in Miami.You have your choice of one or two bedroom suites.Full Kitchen along with washer and dryer.There is an outdoor pool(which I did not get to use) but I did get you use the gym and the washer and dryer.The girls at the front desk were amazing.From checking me in to getting me Miami Heat tickets the whole experience was fantastic.Now it is not directly downtown Miami it is in Bicknell.A wonderful little community with tons of shopping and places to eat all within walking distance.There is also a trolley car that will take you all the way to Biscayne Blvd.If your going on a cruise the cost of a cab is $13.00 from the hotel to the port.There is a resort fee of $10.00 but with all there is I feel it was well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    88
    46
    38
    57
See reviews for
113
50
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Massapequa, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you're like me, you wonder when reading hotel reviews how there could be such a great disparity of experience at the same property. Well, I found a perfect example of how this happens at the Fortune House. Personally, my husband and I loved our stay there. We paid for a one bedroom, but were upgraded to a two, bedroom, two bath unit with a fantastic view of Biscayne Bridge and Biscayne Bay - to die for. Our friends paid the same price (which was most reasonable, given we were in high season) and got just a run of the mill one bedroom unit which was not as well maintained as ours, plus it had no view from the balcony. So if my friends reviewed this hotel, their review would be quite different.

I figured out from speaking to some of the people in the lobby that this building was indeed both a hotel and condos - some people own their units. Our experience with breakfast was much better than what I read on some other reviews. Hopefully management read some of them and improved their service. The food was very good and help was there if you needed it. A very pleasant surprise was the part of Miami the "hotel" was located in. It was very close to the bay, but in a very upscale commercial area. Zero fears about safety and easy walking distance to some restaurants and shops. Plus we had a great view of the pool and entertainment area of one of the Four Seasons - one of the most expensive hotels in the area. Bottom line? I'm not sure, but if you can arrange to rent a two-bedroom, two-bath on Floor 15 or higher (we were on 22) for a reasonable price, I don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bridge and bay on Floor 15 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

THis is a great choice for a family who needs space, no frills and is looking to pay far less than the average price of 2 hotel rooms. But, we had a few very minor maintenance problems, breakfast hours are short and service is poor. Front desk personal are not very professional, although the valet parking service is quite good. For a night or two this is a good option, but not a destination/vacation hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Americas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good location. Understaffed and unprofessional. We rented directly from an owner and could not tell if this is an apartment hotel, a hotel or an apartment. The staff can't either. The apartments are practical but not well maintained. The staff is disconnected. We were entitled to a self parking space and it took some time for them to give us access. Even after that they tried to charge us for valet parking which we did not use. It is not bad if you need to take your family because the apartments fit 5 people comfortably. Our kitchen was lacking amenities and the appliances were dated. The price was just right for what we got, We expected more.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This people are completely unprofessional no type of customer service skills. The food was awful the rooms were nice but make sure not to make any noise they will kick you out for any disturbance. Not a good place to stay unless your 60 and going to sleep. The pool is closed and under construction. There is no management on duties the staff will blame management for everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We will definitely stay here again. Good prices. Really nice rooms. Free breakfast that was hot and tasty. Right near the free monorail. If only the Miam hotels provided shuttles to and from the airports. Fortune house says they are actually working on this. IF they really do, I always stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed there for two nights. The crew is terrible. They've made confusions with my reservations, they wanted to have my mother out of her room before the check-out! The bellmen are a bunch of lazy fellows and are not willing to help at all.

The only good thing is that the rooms are huge and that we were close enough to Miami Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fortune House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune House Hotel

Address: 185 SE 14 Terrace, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 129 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fortune House Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fortune House Hotel is located on Brickell Ave in downtown Miami at the center of the financial district and offers fully furnished apartments to our guests available on a daily, weekly and monthly basis. Designed as an executive retreat as well as a family-friendly property, Fortune House Hotel provides its residents all the comforts of a home-away-from-home. Each apartment has a full-size kitchen, living area, bathroom, bedroom, walk-in closet, balcony, and washer and dryer in the unit, thus making it extremely comfortable for short or long term guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Fortune House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Hotel Miami
Fortune House Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortune House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.